We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great birding spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cave Creek Canyon

Cave Creek Canyon
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Portal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to unique plants, animals and birds.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great birding spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you're seeking the elegant trogon, this appears to be the best place in North America to see them. But don't go running through the woods chasing them as some folks do. Visit in May (when they're looking for mates), walk the dirt road and listen for their call. They will come out to see you at the roadside, and you'll be rewarded with terrific photos. Warblers, tanagers, flycatchers, owls, hummingbirds and woodpeckers abound. You won't be disappointed!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank horsey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hiking, biking....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

the colors are magnificant, the rock formation amazing, the hiking is ideal for all levels, biking also !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yosemite of Arizona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great views, wildlife, no crowds, hiking, birding. Many areas severely burned at high elevations, but still pockets of slightly burned forest can be found.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1074j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beauty in an Isolated Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you ever have a chance to get down to this part of Arizona, I recommend visiting Cave Creek Canyon and the hamlet of Portal. There's not a lot down on the southern end of the Chiricahuas. It's way off the beaten track, a good hour south of I-10. This place does attract a lot of birders interested in spotting some of the tropical species that migrate up from the south during the fall and winter. At the time of my visit, there was practically no one around, encountering only one group of birders in the canyon. There are some hikes in the area that look promising, but since I was here in June at mid-day, I decided not to exert myself too much. On the drive up to the Canyon mouth from Portal, there's a particular pull off that affords an unobstructed view of the canyon. Pull off here and get that photo - it's stunning.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
302 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great for Easy Hiking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We wanted a nice and easy hike near Portal, AZ. This was it. It is a National Forest, so senior passes work. There is a stream which we crossed several times (easy and no problems). The trees provided nice shade. The trail leaves from the parking lot and goes 1.5 miles back. Good marking. You can do more strenuous trails if you want.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BEC308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave Creek Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Cave Creek Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing