We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hiking, biking....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cave Creek Canyon

Cave Creek Canyon
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Portal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to unique plants, animals and birds.
AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hiking, biking....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

the colors are magnificant, the rock formation amazing, the hiking is ideal for all levels, biking also !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yosemite of Arizona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great views, wildlife, no crowds, hiking, birding. Many areas severely burned at high elevations, but still pockets of slightly burned forest can be found.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1074j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beauty in an Isolated Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you ever have a chance to get down to this part of Arizona, I recommend visiting Cave Creek Canyon and the hamlet of Portal. There's not a lot down on the southern end of the Chiricahuas. It's way off the beaten track, a good hour south of I-10. This place does attract a lot of birders interested in spotting some of the tropical species that migrate up from the south during the fall and winter. At the time of my visit, there was practically no one around, encountering only one group of birders in the canyon. There are some hikes in the area that look promising, but since I was here in June at mid-day, I decided not to exert myself too much. On the drive up to the Canyon mouth from Portal, there's a particular pull off that affords an unobstructed view of the canyon. Pull off here and get that photo - it's stunning.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
301 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great for Easy Hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We wanted a nice and easy hike near Portal, AZ. This was it. It is a National Forest, so senior passes work. There is a stream which we crossed several times (easy and no problems). The trees provided nice shade. The trail leaves from the parking lot and goes 1.5 miles back. Good marking. You can do more strenuous trails if you want.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BEC308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Should be a National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My favorite place in the world. Magical with Elegant Trogons and Montezuma Quail calling and the water running.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank birdwatcher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave Creek Canyon also viewed

Been to Cave Creek Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing