We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A definite do over”

Roy's - Desert Ridge
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's - Desert Ridge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 3,073 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Desert Ridge
Cross street: East Pathfinder Drive
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Toms River
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A definite do over”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Diner last night was great. Service was great. Drinks were great. I would absolutely return on my next visit to Phoenix.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    132
    70
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Roys is Wonderful”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Loved the ambiance and food. Staff is great. We parked and walked to the restaurant instead of valet. the grounds are beautiful so it was a nice walk (wouldn't want to do it if the weather was 115)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ladj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fusion dining”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food OK, not a knockout. The wait staff is professional and friendly.
There is both outdoor and indoor dining; unfortunately there was a swarm of bees near our outdoor table that detracted from our dining experience

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best Dinning Experience!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were staying at the Marriott Cayon Villas in Phoenix across from the JWMarriott. My husbands birthday was on May 19th and I made reservations at Roy's located in the Marriott. It was without a doubt one of the best if not thee best dinning experience we have ever had. First of all the greeting at the door with birthday wishes was very nice, the card at the table was a special touch. Then the experience just got more amazing!!!! Our server Amy was by far the best.... very knowledgeable, very experienced in the culinary food art at Roy's, fun and always there for us. The four of us all had different entrees and they were all fabulous, thus we will always make this a regular stop and will always ask for Amy!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 751SandraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest usa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2 meals in 6 days - both excellent”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were staying at the Desert Ridge Marriott in Phoenix and on our first night in town we were tired so we decided to not leave the property for one of the excellent restaurants in the area but were overwhelmed with the quality of the food, menu selection and excellent service that we received. Hubby had surf and turf option of Petit Fillet with butter poached lobster, mashed potatoes and asparagus. He said it was all excellent. Daughter #1 had Seared sea scallops and Dtr #2 had Ahi tuna. They ordered and swapped half way through their entrees because they often do this when they want more than one thing on the menu. Both girls loved both entrees. I had the Roasted macadamia nut encrusted Mahi Mahi with potatoes and lobster cream sauce. All entrees were excellent. For appetizers we and the canoe for 3 and a serving of two crab cakes. Again they were all excellent. We all had salads and shared the upside down pineapple cake with coconut ice cream at the end of our meal. We were so happy with our meal and service that we decided on our 6th and final night at the resort to end our vacation and our celebrate our daughter's birthday at Roys. I had the same thing, Dtr #1 and hubby said they felt badly to ordering one of the excellent seafood options at such a nice restaurant but the Waygu beef meatloaf sounded great, so they ordered that served with mashed potatoes, onion tangles and broccoli. They were both very happy with their meatloaf. Dtr #2 had Spicy Seafood Hot Pot of lobster, black mussels, littleneck clams, shrimp, noodles, variety of veggies and Go Chu Jang broth. Everyone was very excited. They presented my daughter with a signed card by all staff members as well as a small surprise mini cake and written in Hawaiian, "Happy Birthday, Ashley". We once again enjoyed the upside down pineapple cake with coconut ice cream and chocolate cake with ice cream, once again ... Excellent! The Canoe Appetizer for 3 had three of each time: pork belly dim sum, veggie spring rolls, spicy tuna roll sushi, kim chee & shrimp, and Szechuan ribs. All very good, not a morsel was left! They ordered as sides the lobster bacon mac & cheese as well as tempura veggies. Again, not a morsel was left. Both evenings we had excellent food and excellent service. Beautiful restaurant, servers were attentive, kept our glasses full, provided black napkins for us with black slacks on, absolutely no complaints. We eat out often at many nice restaurants across the USA and Europe, so we have many nice restaurants to compare it to. We ate at the Chart House in Scottsdale one night and we said it was a tough choice between the two for quality food and atmosphere. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's - Desert Ridge also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Roy's - Desert Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing