We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican Food is Great”

Rito's Market & Mexican Take Out
Ranked #553 of 3,103 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mexican Food is Great”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This "dive" has wonderful food and their clients are regulars. I went there because I heard about it and now I'm a regular also. Try their green chili burrito and you'll agree. It is fabulous! You'll be a regular before you know it. No seating inside and limited seating outside. It's more of a take-out place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mexican Food Done Right”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Most people describe this as a “hole in the wall” place, and that aptly describes it, I think. Formerly a house in an older district of Phoenix, opposite a school, it doesn’t stand out at all and there is no signage. There were photographs of the exterior on the web sites we looked at for reviews and there is also an outside seating area to the south of the building, so we knew we were in the right place.

Rito’s has been there for about 35 years, family owned and operated. They keep the menu simple: Mexican food done right. We tried the green chili chimichanga. The pork was very tender and the green chili was not too hot (I’m a wimp when it comes to spicy foods). Portions were large. There is also a red chili version with beef machaca meat, which I understand is a bit hotter. I’m not big on refried beans, but since theirs get rave reviews, I ordered a side of beans. They appeared quite runny when they were served up hot, but as they cooled they firmed up a bit. Might be the cheese, might be the lard; whatever it was, they tasted excellent.

This is a popular place, with long lines at lunch times. You can avoid a long wait by phoning in your order and then just going to the pick up window to collect it. They have a web site now, ritosmexicanfood14st.com, which shows their menu. Be aware they accept cash only but their menu states they have an ATM.

The outside seating area is small, so it gets very crowded, and there is no shade, so in warm weather it can get uncomfortably hot. If you can, plan to take your food somewhere else to eat it. If you’d still like to eat outside, Coronado Park is not far away, on 12th Street just north of McDowell Road (about ¾ of a mile north) which has picnic tables and shade.

This place is a gem and I hope to go back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babaloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Still thinking about the guac”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on my way to Flagstaff from Phoenix. I'm still thinking about the guacamole 5 days later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linfin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“BEST GREEN CHILE EVER!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Ritos is only a take out establishment (oh, there are a few tables outside). If you want absolutely the best green chile burrito in Phoenix, this is the place. If you want a bean burro---it it's excellent also. I'd love to have the recipe for their green chile as this beats all places we've tried from Page, AZ to Tucson, AZ for a green chile burro. Way to go, Rito's keep up the great food :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great Hatch chili taste”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hard to find as there is NO signage. It's on the corner of 14th Street and Garfield, south of Roosevelt. The green chili burrito, enchilada style is delicious. There isn't much pork in the tortilla, mostly green chili and a wonderful sauce. They use Hatch chilis and the heat is perfect. The bean burrito was good, but like others said, a little runny. There are a few picnic tables outside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sadie01111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rito's Market & Mexican Take Out also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rito's Market & Mexican Take Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing