We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
Ranked #23 of 177 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was looking for someplace close to downtown for one overnight to attend a concert. We were leaving in the morning early. We checked in 3 hours late and this was no problem the owner was so accommodating that he originally had us on the second floor and when we asked to be on the main floor he changed us instantly and said this was an upgrade with a king bed.
The room was clean and had nice sheets, and furniture. There was a clean microwave and small refrig. He had juice, coffee, pre-packaged breakfast items and fruit out early in the morning.
The room card key only needed to be swiped and not inserted, which was nice and an upgrade for a budget hotel. The outside seemed freshly painted and there was no litter around. We parked right at our door. Ice cost 25 cents, but this was fine based on the overall low price anyways
We read comments about noise from traffic and yes we heard cars and truck when we were in our room, but this didn't bother us. It was convenient to the highways and downtown, it was clean and safe, the owner was nice and accommodating. We stayed at a nice place for a great price.

Room Tip: We liked the first floor becasue we didn't want to lug or bags up stairs. There isn't an el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaWeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing us, we glad that you enjoy your stay with us, we are proudly offer best quality and price in downtown location with all basic amenities, for our guest safety and security we recently upgrade our room door lock system, also we would like to let you know that we are not charging for ice our office staff will help you to get it without any cost, its free for hotel guests, we are really appreciate your feedback. Hope to serve you again.
Thank you

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    292
    75
    9
    7
See reviews for
85
186
98
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had I not reserved this hotel on line I would have never stayed there. At first I was very unhappy When we first saw the place. I considered leaving. WE got the room and I was very plesently surprised. The rooms had been remodeled and were very, The bed was very nice, sheets were nice and soft. Flat screen TV. I felt the inside, for what it was would rate a 5, however the outside , at best was a 2,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank subman609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear, sir
Thank you for taking time for your feedback, we glad that you enjoy our renovated room, however we are recently upgrade outside as well but your suggestion will be most welcome, so please feel free call (602-257-8331) or email us and let us know what you have best idea to make this place beautiful from outside, your suggestion is help us to make you happy next time, if you take time for us that’s would be really appreciate it!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After booking on line at another hotel, and the disgusting mess we found we were very nervous about finding another hotel in the downtown area, but were attending a concert in 4 hours. We saw positive ratings on this hotel and decided to stop and check things out anyway. I am so very glad we did. After our shock we did ask to view rooms before we decided to stay. Management was very understanding and helpful. Rooms were amazingly clean, and looked like the furniture and bathrooms were recently upgraded (or very well care for). We decided to book 2 nights. Staff was helpful in suggesting restaurants within walking distance and that we were in walking distance of the Comerica Center. Could have been a more perfect location considering the parking available, being within walking distance was a definite plus. Upon arrival we were offered bottled water, every courtesy, and coffee (no coffee maker in room) and even coffee to go upon leaving the day of departure. Breakfast had a small but varied sellection to fit everyone's tastes including fruit, yogurt, muffins, pastries, etc. Housekeeping was fantastic and above what we have found at much more expensive hotels. PJ's were placed behind pillows, bed was made up with our daughters pillow and teddy neatly placed, even my husband's shirt (left across the back of a chair) was neatly hung up. We were just so impressed and we do plan to stay here again, next time one of our favorite artists skip our home state. Thank you for saving the day and enhancing the trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raineymorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for giving us chance to serve you, we glad that you enjoy your stay with us, we are so happy to hear your brief description, it’s very useful for future travelers, your comments make our housekeeper happy, your next visit will be make you more happy we have great upgrade in property and breakfast, waiting to welcoming you again when you are in phoenix area!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Convenient and quiet location which is only 10-15 minutes walk into central Phoenix. McDonald's is just across the road for those who want a cheap breakfast. The bed was very comfy and the room was clean. The only drawback was the noisy airconditioner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandiC930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your short feedback for us, you are right that we are very close to all major downtown location, near our facilities there is a lots of restaurant and bar available, also we provide downtown map and directory from reception at time of registration its make easy for all our guests, sorry to hear about air-condition noisy and thank you for letting us know, we will fix it immediately.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This true classic Americana motel is in walkable location to all of central Phoenix, near main transit plaza for light rail to Phoenix Art Museum, Heard Museum and the gorgeous Library (and buses), conventions, meetings and sports (if that is your thing). The decor is current in 2013 and the hotel is very well maintained by a lovely couple who work way too hard. Some caveats: if you are a prince or princess, then bring your earplugs for traffic or a/c noise (I hate a/c and love open windows) and remember this is a motel from probably the 1970's so the rooms, though updated, are normal size, not today's "on steroid" rooms.

Green Features: The motel could emphasize the tradition of towels on bars do not need to be changed. The lights are energy efficient. I would have liked a ceiling fan but the open window was fine for my stay at the end of October 2013.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear, guest thank you for taking time for your feedback, you make our face smiley, we are happy to hear your comments for our property, and proud of our self that we keep maintain this facilities as of today modern look , that’s how we attracts more downtown visitor to our place, we are only one who offer best price and great value of your money, we proud to having guest like you forever! For your future reservation need please contact us we will taking care of you.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I recently organized a stay at ABVI-Phoenix for a number of students with business at the Convention Center. The walk is about 15 minutes, which is not bad considering the value ABVI-Phoenix gives you over the big box hotels. I got to see a couple of rooms at the Hyatt. The ABVI had cleaner rooms, MUCH bigger beds, and included free wifi. I also received outstanding, personalized service at ABVI. The manager heard from at least 6 different people for various booking changes and airport shuttles, and he even took it in stride when several students arrived early. He never had a qualm with me and handled all of my troubles with the utmost professionalism. A+!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous12341234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear, Sir
we glad that you enjoy your stay with us, we are proudly located in downtown area, it’s convenient for all visitors ,we are happy to hear about staff members professionalism, our facility proudly serve discounted rate for student we understand their budget, in future if you or your friend and family plan to visit phoenix please give us a call directly, We’ll do our best for you as much as we can, thank you for your kind comments for us.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here in preparation for PE Exam at the Convention Center. I did not know of the free Airport shuttle to the hotel but when I later did, the front desk was helpful and accommodated my late night (11:30pm) & early departure shuttle rides (4am). The breakfast is included but is really not much and there is no place to sit down. You can take it back to the room and heat it in the in-room microwave. The rooms were just fine, clean but not terribly well lit. Overall, it was a decent stay and provided good value for money. The place was also reasonably quiet given its location.

Room Tip: Get a double bed to get more space. There is no elevator, so pick ground floor if you are going to h...
See more room tips
Green Features: ABVI has done a good thing by doing away with the travel-size soap/shampoo bottles and installing dispensing machines -- imagine how many little bottles are being saved from going to the landfill.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcp2726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear, Guest
Thank you for give us a chance to serve your, we are proudly serve ASU student and all other students who attending exam in downtown location, mostly student prefer high speed Wi-Fi and shuttle service for transportation that we offer, we are happy to letting you know that we are under construction for new breakfast area with lots of other item, it will be done within three weeks from today, you definitely will enjoy at time of you next stay. Give us a chance to serve you again, we will make you more happy that your last stay. Please give us a call for your reservation need. Good luck for your exam result !!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Encanto
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#26 of 177 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#7 of 177 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
Address: 424 W van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003-1635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#25 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#44 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 37 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field, Phoenix Convention Center, US Airways Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica Theatre, Orpheum Theatre, and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant, and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing