We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience in first visit to Phoenix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
Ranked #24 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I can't rave more about the young man who attended the front desk and whom, as I found out later, was the manager of this Inn. His demeanor was/is commendable. He went out of his way to help us find our way to restaurants, court houses, airport, etc. It seemed to me that he seldom slept because everytime we had need to go to the office at various times during our short 3 day stay, he was thee. He went way beyond expectations to ensure our comfort. He is exceptional

Room Tip: Request a smooking room if you smoke rather than a non-smooking room where you have to step outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rosemarie0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and take your time to write your feedback, we proud of our staff who provide Excellent customer service to our valuable guest like you. We understand value of our guest and do our best as much as we can. Our staff is waiting to welcoming you again. Hope you have safe trip!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 762 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

It is not in the best neighborhood but we had no problems.
Place was clean and the service was good.
Nice size tv.
The Continental breakfast need improvement.
The lobby was almost non existent (Tiny).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lenny-A-428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time for your short remark about our property, some people think same way that you think about neighborhood but your experience is the best way to say right. Cleanliness and customer service is the important things in hospitality business, we proud of our self about your remark and thank you for your suggestion about breakfast and lobby we are working on it, but this is an existing property so we will try our best to make it possible as much as we can. Hope to see you again in phoenix !!
-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Comfortable bed, good linens-nicely renovated room with updated fixtures, good lighting, clean bathroom with liquid soap and shampoo dispensers. Breakfast was coffee, juice, packaged pastries, banana or apple. We stayed for 3 nights, but coming from rural midwest, the location was on the edge of feeling safe. We found a great selection of quick food restaurants at 7th and McDowell.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor , we glad that you like our renovated room style, it’s done by professional interior designer, yes we served morning starter breakfast for our guest, our location is nearby lots of restaurants in walking distance, also we provide map and dining guide form office if anybody needed that’s how they can find place easy and quicker, we hope your next stay will be more than 3 night with us, we will make it more enjoyable. Thank you for your time, hope you have safe trip to back home.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I attended a company meeting at the nearby Sheraton Hotel. After checkig that hotel's rates, I was shocked and began searching for alternatives. I came upon this hotel (Americas Valuje) and after seeing that it was significantly less money but also only 1/2 mile away from meeting site I quickly booked a room. I couldn't believe how clean the room was, how comfortable the bed was and the cleanliness of the bathroom - the room even has a large flat screen TV. The manager is also very friendly and accommadating. As a bonus, breakfast is served in the office every morning. I will definately stay at this inn on any future trips to Phoenix.

Room Tip: My room faced the busiest street (Van Buren) and I was never bothered by the cars so I cant imagine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ibduvidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us while attending your meeting, we have lots of guest like you who attending conference or convention in downtown big chain hotel and they stay with us, reason is we are nearby, convenient, comfortable, clean and reasonable price, we are so happy that you enjoy your stay and mention everything in your feedback, it’s very helpful to future visitors and help us to improved our service better and better. We glad that you would like to stay with us again, hope that time come soon. thanks again.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I get to check out plenty of budget hotels on frequent work-related trips, and this was maybe the best value I've come across yet. For about $60-70, I got a newly renovated room with a huge bed, nice TV with a ton of channels, and a fridge and microwave. Nothing about it said "cheap" and everything was extremely clean. The hotel next door is about the same price but WOW, what a difference there is between those two...

Some might think this is a rough neighborhood. I've seen a whole lot rougher. Granted I am a dude, but I felt pretty comfortable walking a few blocks to the Crescent Ballroom at night (it's a good place to check out live music or just to have a drink among the young'ens). Definitely check this place out if you're looking for somewhere very pleasant to stay near downtown on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We glad that you enjoy your stay with us, we understand value of your money that’s how we call “best value inn” also cleanliness, comfortable and best price is our priority of service, thank you for mention about neighborhood because some people worried about it but its depend on their angle of view, we proud of our location that have a lots of restaurant nearby and walking distance to downtown phoenix., hope we will serve you again in phoenix!!! thank you again!!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here twice, one night each time.

I used it each way as a place to break my journey between Sedona in Arizona and Singapore.

Pros :
- Value. Compared to other Phoenix hotels, this hotel represents great value. Considerably cheaper than other places I looked at. And no compromise on room quality.
- Room. Clean, modern, comfortable. Not small at all. Plenty of room. OK so the view is out on the car park, but Phoenix isn't going to win any prizes for aesthetics wherever you stay. And it didn't matter to me. I was just interested in a comfortable place to rest and sleep. Comfortable large bed, nice linen. An armchair in the room to relax in. Big flatscreen TV. Quality fixtures and fittings above the level of the price of the room. Great hot shower. A/C.
- Fast and reliable free wifi.
- Free airport shuttle both ways. About 15 minutes to the airport.
- Service. Great service from Sam and Jessica who manage the hotel. Arranged the shuttle, printed my boarding pass, recommended restaurants and generally a helpful can-do customer oriented approach.
- Location. Situated just out of downtown Phoenix. Easy walk to restaurants and cafes.

Cons :
None. If you're not after a hotel with a flash lobby, restaurant etc and just want a good quality, clean, well managed place to stay, then look no further.

Would stay here again definitely. Can't beat the value.

Room Tip: Upper floor room feels more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

As our returning guest we appreciate from bottom of our heart , also as a Senior Contributor of tripadvisor you had a good experience with too many motels and we glad that we got 5stars from you. You did great job to mention everything in your review . we are sure that your feedback is master key for lots of future travelers . we are so proud of our self that we have high personality guest like you . our staff is waiting for your next stay just give us a call we will take care you. Hope you have safe trip to back home!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

To be honest, I was a little worried. The price of this hotel is very deceptive!!! The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The air conditioning was a little loud but besides that it was great. The breakfast was a little unhealthy. the only thing they had were bananas and junk food. But I would still stay there again. The staff was super friendly. CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sdmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear, sir
“now you sure no worried next time” !!! thank you for your kind remark about your stay, feel sorry to hear about your air conditioning issue, but next time if you have any inconvenience inform to our front desk they will happy to take care you, also about breakfast we are working on it, and we are so happy to hear that you like to stay with us again, our proud staff is waiting to serve you again, so happy about your eco sound “CLEAN” that’s our primary goal. Thank you so much.

-Sam
manager
Abviphoenix.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#8 of 174 in Phoenix
836 reviews
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#26 of 174 in Phoenix
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 174 in Phoenix
1,614 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Address: 424 W van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003-1635
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#24 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#43 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $70 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 37 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field, Phoenix Convention Center, US Airways Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica Theatre, Orpheum Theatre, and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant, and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing