We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A culinary treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fuego Bistro

Fuego Bistro
Ranked #3 of 2,925 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A culinary treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We first found this restaurant from a review in our paper. It's a little difficult to find if you don't know Phoenix well but, fortunately, we'd grown up in the neighborhood where it was located so we found it....and what a find it was! Their food is always extraordinary and I think we've tried everything on their menu at one time or another. Our favorites are their grilled meatloaf, their chili relleno, their pork nachos and their desserts. There's a neighborhood feel to the place and it's quiet and quaint with it's setting and courtyard. The wait staff are friendly and quick and we love to take out of town visitors there to wow them with the food and the experience. You can't go wrong with anything at Fuego Bistro!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank presidio30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    101
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Restaurant- A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Food is always consistently good. The veggie tostadas are amazing as an appetizer. All of the main meal options are very good. Staff is always helpful and friendly. Make sure you make reservations in the evenings, they are always pretty busy. It is a favorite with locals. We prefer locally owned restaurants to big chains. This is one of our regular haunts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BH604000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Becoming one of our favorites.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We've moved to The Phoenix area about 9 months ago and have been exploring the restaurant scene. We found Fuego Bistro through Groupon. It's a bit hidden off of a side street of 7th street in a quaint but hidden courtyard. The courtyard serves as the outside seating area which is very pleasant like Oct-Apr evenings. Otherwise make a reservation for inside which is a kind of small area. We've been back several times since our first visit. The food is very good and the service is friendly & attentive. The one knock I have against them is the prices are a bit more then other places. You do get a decent amount of good food for your money though. If you have a Groupon or Living Social (which are pretty generous) you can compensate for the slightly higher prices. The menu entree choices are limited (8-10) but we've never had a bad meal there. You get to choose 2 side dishes with your meal. We've always gotten the corn bread as one. It is so good I'm often tempted to double up on it as my sides. The desserts are excellent as well. In our visits we've gotten the bread pudding, the key lime pie & the chocolate cake. Each was large enough to satisfy 2-3 people. Over a very satisfying experience that has kept us coming back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scha732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Nothing to say but perfect... Fuegos Pasta and the pork were so delicious. Even the iced tea was the best since a long time.

Very hard to find but don't give up and search, you wont be dissapointed

Helpful?
Thank rockabella79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch on our way to Sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Hubs had the chile relleno and a side salad.

I got the tostado salad w chicken that also came w a side salad.

Both were amazing! Seriously, go here. Park to the left of the restaurant/courtyard. Everyone says it's worth the difficulty in finding the place and we agree.

Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuego Bistro also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Fuego Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing