We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis in fiercely hot Phoenix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maricopa Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Phoenix B&B and Inns
Sunderland, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“an oasis in fiercely hot Phoenix”
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Very comfortable and stylish accommodation, lovely to have breakfast served (at the time the guest specifies) to the bedroom where it can be enjoyed on the patio or inside - it was especially nice, after a long flight, to be able to take a moonlight dip in the outdoor pool - the temperature was just right and such a welcome respite from the fierce Phoenix sun. The accommodation was very well equipped with its own seating area, kitchenette and bathroom, with a thoughtful array of extras such as fresh fruit and cookies - everything was spotlessly clean and the host was so nice. We stayed in the Victorian Suite but there is a range of other themed rooms to choose from and all at a reasonable cost.

  • Liked — the comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
36
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Jeff is personable and gave us a great recommendation for Aiello’s, a nearby Italian place with real personality, great food and reasonable prices. Our quarters were clean and comfortable, with interesting memorabilia. We had the Victorian Garden suite, which was nicely appointed with a sitting room and bathroom and deck outside.

There was a problem with noise though. While we were there, Jeff had guests in his quarters adjacent to our room #2. We could hear every word of their conversations through the heating vent in our bathroom. We wondered if they could also hear us.

Hard water was also a problem we didn’t expect, as we hadn’t encountered it at the Gaslight Inn, the other place we stayed in Phoenix.

On a positive note, Breakfast was good with hot quiche, fruit, coffee & juice in a basket delivered punctually outside our door at the appointed time.

Overall though, we felt the stay was overpriced for what it was. We understand that Jeff had guests and his attention was on them, but that something special one usually finds in places like this was missing. Still, Phoenix has a dearth of places to stay that are out of the ordinary and the experience was probably better than that of a hotel. If someone were to do a B&B in Phoenix like Desert Riviera does in Palm Springs, they’d clean up.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ScoutOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariManor, Owner at Maricopa Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2008
The Victorian Suite is the one suite in the inn whose bath is adjacent to my kitchen where I prepare the breakfasts and greet guests. I had been aware of occasional muffled sounds coming through the shared heat duct but not distinct conversation. I'm a widower and live alone so conversations carried out in my kitchen are usually chatting with guests checking in as they tend to stand at the breakfast bar where the heat duct is. I have closed that duct off now and blocked it with insulation to ensure complete privacy in the Victorian. I wrote the guests a note of apology.

We do have a whole house water softener system but if the guests felt the water was hard, it may have been on the last day of its cycle before regenerating. March is our busiest month with high volume of water use. Also we are 89% booked in March and sold out on the weekends for which we keep a wait list for cancellations. The Victorian is priced $50 below our larger king suites with jetted tubs and fireplaces which I feel is a reasonable seasonal price spread. Ordinary Phoenix motel rooms go for $159-199 in the winter high season and offer no B&B amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Aboslutely loved it. Perfect for a weekend getaway. Spent one night at the Maricopa Manor but we wish we could stay there for weeks at a time. Jeff was an amazing host from the start. Talked on the phone and got our breakfast orders. He let us have our privacy and the only time we saw him was when we stopped by for a bucket of ice. Loved the room, loved the very large bed, loved how quiet the grounds were. Swam in the pool, which was cold (understandable, because it was at night), but fun nonetheless. Having our own garage was great, didn't have to worry about finding parking. Lots of great places to eat, in walking distance. My birthday is coming up next month and we are definitely getting a room here again!!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittDegamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We booked four of the rooms for our group attending a conference. Jeff and the staff made our stay very enjoyable. The accomadations were first rate and the grounds very comfortable. What a nice break from the commercial world. We arranged several private meetings with our clients and even catered a dinner for a group at the facility.

The breakfast served by Jeff was great. His homemade recipes are good and he strived to ensure each guests preferences were known.

What a place!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank s78jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

During a 17 day stay in Arizona, this was the only location we considered not to be above average or excellent. The general standard of accomodation in Arizona is very good indeed

The very detailed and precise instructions on how to find the B and B from Phoenix airport in the dark was very useful and appreciated. If only this attention to detail was applied to the property. The location of the property is excellent.

Our initial warm welcome by Jeff was excellent and he explained in detail about some of the things that we could see the next day, and where we could go to eat. He spoke to us in his own adjoining house whick is really nice and tasteful. We thought the room would be of the same quality - it is not.

He went on ad nauseum about his tea collection and his English connections but failed to offer us a cup of tea or drink when he knew we had just had an 11 hour flight and a long delay at immigration

He asked us about breakfast the next morning. We indicated we wanted earl grey tea with lemon. He did not have any lemons and suggested we should have indicated in advance. The inn is less than 80 yards from a fantastic supermarket with the best food I have seen in the US called AJs and this inn keeper who charged us $268 ( incl tax) for one night for a superior room in the quiet period between Christmas and New Year could not be bothered to walk 80 yards and buy a lemon for the next morning - extraordinary.

The room and garden had character and was quirky which I liked but unfortunately was badly maintained. The tiled sink unit in the room was falling off the wall, grout was missing in the floor tiles and thick sealant had been put round the bath and vanity unit in a most amateur fashion. The spout of the bath sent water behind the bath.

The bathroom was freezing. It had no heating. The next morning we were told Americans keep the bathroom open at night to heat them from the bedroom!

The breakfast delivered to your room was from fridge to microvwave and was not freshly made. It was not very substantial, My wife wanted something without eggs but this was too muchy for this amateur inn keeper. The last straw was an envelope with the breakfast politely requesting a tip on top of the $288 we paid.

The next night we paid less money for a fantastic room in a fantastic resort hotel with fantastic service namely the Arizona Inn in Tuscon

The Maricopa was average at best but at $288 I expect something far far better

Had we not been very tired after a very long flight and if we had known our way round Phoenix we would not have stayed and gone to a better hotel or b and b.
max

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank max4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariManor, Owner at Maricopa Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2008
This couple was polite and charming when they arrived even though they stated in their review they were tired from their ordeal. Had I realized that fact, I would not have taken time to chat with them about my maternal British background, which I always like to do with my English guests. They spent little time here, about 8 PM to 9 AM, just overnight on their way to Tucson, and did not avail themselves of any of the amenities of the property.

Their bathroom was cold because they had chosen to turn the heating system totally off on a cold December night (36º) plus closed the bathroom door so it was isolated from the initially warmer bedroom...totally understandable that it was cold by morning. They did not ask my advice about doing this. Europeans in general are used to silent radiant heating systems and the fan in our forced air gas systems in the US can bother them at night, which was the case with them.

Our breakfast is a warm five item continental breakfast as described on our website delivered freshly prepared and warmed to your suite at your desired time. It is precisely the menu that our county health department allows an inspected and licensed B&B to serve in Phoenix. Items made from raw ingredients at the time of serving are prohibited. The couple waited a half hour after their chosen time to eat it, returning to my door for more tea water as the freshly made, properly boiled water had cooled down some by then and ruined their tea. I made them fresh water and poured it for them personally at their tableside with fresh tea. I also serve up to 15 other people warm breakfast baskets alone during the service hours of 7 to 9. I can accommodate special dietary requests with advance notice. I did offer to get the requested lemon from the store, but as I recall the wife asked me not to bother, however I would typically do this upon request.

The shower area of the suite they occupied needs some tile and grout repair as it's in a house constructed in 1972 and there was some ground settling under the bath last year. The sink is not falling off of the wall as it is seated in a Mexican tiled vanity base, the surface of which is typically irregular and seems unusual if you're not used to that style of tilework. The shower head had become a little unscrewed from the flexible supply line due to guests twisting it during use. A quick turn of the wrist made it tight again. The tile joint between a tub and a tiled shower wall requires a silicone sealant whether it's brand new or 35 years old. It has to be replaced when it cracks or dries out. The Siesta Suite is one of my more poplular suites with its Mexican décor and private patio but will be taken out of service in July or August 2008 to complete this repair during our off season.

The gardens were in a typically winter dormant state, yet still green as was our whole lawn when they were here, but are bursting forth with colorful flowers now.

This couple paid $239 plus tax for their stay which is lower than average for Phoenix hotels in our winter high season. Contrary to the guest's allegation, the week between Christmas and New Years is very busy here due to holiday travellers and the various football bowl games hosted here, and I'm typically sold out plus keep a waiting list.

My guest book is included in the basket for guests' comments and a preprinted maid's tip envelope is offered if they want to leave the housekeeper something; it is not for me. Curiously, the wife left a nice note in the guest book. It was totally up to them to leave nothing for the maid if they desired. The majority of guests leave her a couple of dollars even if they stay only one night as she does do a tremendous job in the suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Loved the room! Loved the HUGE bathroom, huge bathrobes,
wonderful breakfast! Maricopa was close to downtown, restaurants, the DiamondBacks stadium. We were pleasantly surprised to have a carport with a locked garage door. Jeff is a
truly awesome host. The only downside is that we only had one day to spend at Maricopa.

  • Liked — The Room & Jeff as our Host
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob3337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We would definitely stay at the Maricopa Manor again. We had the Pasadena Suite. It was quiet, clean and well-kept. Southwestern decor and terrfic ambience. Breakfast in the picnic basket was excellent too!

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hotel 502
#100 of 174 in Phoenix
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#2 of 174 in Phoenix
404 reviews
Encanto
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown
ZenYard Uptown Inn
#1 of 15 in Phoenix
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maricopa Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maricopa Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Maricopa Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 15 W Pasadena Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maricopa Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Maricopa Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maricopa Manor Hotel Phoenix
Maricopa Manor b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing