We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Run Run Run as fast as you can, even if you're not the gingerbread man” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crossland Phoenix - Metro - Black Canyon Highway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crossland Phoenix - Metro - Black Canyon Highway
Ranked #141 of 177 Hotels in Phoenix
pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Run Run Run as fast as you can, even if you're not the gingerbread man”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

First of all, the location really lacks any creativity. It's in the middle of a business complex. What is there to do but drive in the nightmare traffic, right next to the hotel. It's dirtiness, smelliness is just the beginning. Apparently previous guests urinated in the heating system so when you needed air...look OUT! Sheets, towels, pillows straight from dollar general so don't look for any comforts here. When I asked why we were given rooms with one bed instead of two, they said very clearly and bluntly... YOU BOOKED WITH PRICELINE, THAT'S WHAT YOU GET! so
buyer... BEWARE... run run run from here.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank betz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    11
    16
    44
See reviews for
28
18
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Phoenix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

The place as expected, king bed with full kitchen, everything is fine, we booked a room for 2 nites thru priceline for $25 per night so no complaining on my part. Room is clean/neat even tho close the I17 but no car noise as we can hear from the room.

  • Liked — Full kitchen, close to highway/major metro area
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nguyen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City Of The Angels
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

When I stayed at this hotel six months ago I was absolutely disgusted at how dirty and smelly it was. I am a moderate smoker and so had requested a smoking room, but even as a smoker I was totally TURNED OFF by the reek and stench of the room, it was as if the carpets and drapes had not been cleaned for YEARS! Secondly there was tomato sauce ( I hope ) on the kitchen wall, dirty bathroom with burn marks, dirty outside with filth stuck to the air conditioner and building, just unbelieveably unclean, and I am not a clean freak. Even the front desk person was dressed in a shirt which looked as if it had not been laundered in weeks. Maybe this hotel has pulled it together in the months since my stay, but if not RUN AWAY from this dump.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Filthy inside and out
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away, STAY FAR FAR AWAY!
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JazzCruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2005

My husband and I planned to stay here several nights while work was being done on our house. This hotel is close to where we live. I reserved a non-smoking room. After all the great reviews on tripadvisor.com and at only $50 a night, I though I had a smokin' deal. Non-smoking to me means - no smoking in the room. The room smelled somewhat smoky when we first got in there, but I rationalized that sometimes rooms get converted from smoking to non, or housekeepers smoke while they clean, etc. so while the room is not truly a "smoking room" there could be remnants. However, that night, invisible cigarette smoke poured in through the bathroom. The next day, all of our clothes and our suitcase reeked as if we'd been in a seedy bar with no circulation all night. I have asthma, so non-smoking is not a finicky preference, it is truly a health issue. If that had been the only problem we would have just asked for another room. But combined with the following, we just wanted out: The young woman who checked us in was sullen and had charged us a different amount than we'd been quoted on the phone and acted put out that we made her change it; there was a large rip in the blanket on the bed; an olive pit was on the floor under the air conditioner; sticky candy was embedded in the carpet; there was mold in the shower; a cigarette burn on the couch; the bed was very uncomfortable - all in all, not the kind of place geared to customer service. The kitchenette was a nice size and did seem clean. Everything else made me wish I'd brought hand sanitizer. We had checked in at 3:00 PM, but then had to leave our things at the hotel and didn't get back until late. If we'd noticed how bad it was when we first got there, we wouldn't have stayed even one night. Maybe the place has gone downhill since the other reviews were posted. Or maybe the things I've noted didn't bother other people. But I found -- I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2004

The excellent rating is based on the cost. The hotel came packaged with airfare. We were looking for an extended weekend getaway to Phoenix and found a terrific value on site59.com. We did not intend to spend much time in the hotel so value at an inexpensive price was perfect. That is what we got. The location was good, easy on and off from one of the main expressways in Phoenix. It was an easy 10-15 minute drive from the airport. The room was very good, had everything we needed with a full kitchen we did not take advantage of. The staff was helpful but not especially knowledgeable of some of the local tourist places. The continental breakfast was fine for getting a quick bite in the morning and get out on the road for our planned activities. Parking was fine, the pool looked nice. Plenty of chain restaurants nearby, many in walking distance. I would recommend Pappadeaux's restaurant next door. Wonderful New Orlean's style and menu.

Helpful?
7 Thank maxima0359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2003

I stayed at this hotel for only $28 a night through Priceline. I think I got a great deal. The hotel was easy to find for someone who had never been to Phoenix before. The room came with a fully equipped kitchen, sofa, tv with remote, two beds, and all the other usual ammenities. The carpet and sofa showed their age, but were acceptable nonetheless. You can get a pass to use a fitness center, but we didn't have the time. We went in the winter time, so we didn't use the pool.
The staff was friendly. The free breakfast wasn't as good as it could have been. There was plenty of parking and if there aren't enough spots, there's more parking right next door at the restaurant. The seafood restaurant next door was great. Overall, I was satisifed and would stay there again if I were on a budget.

Helpful?
7 Thank marc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2003

We stayed here last weekend for two nights. I booked on Expedia and paid 44.00 per night. What a great deal. I was a little worried what we would get for the price, but I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean and comfortable. It was nothing fancy but it was perfect for a family who was going to be spending most of their time visiting friends. Breakfast was included which was great for the kids. It was your typical continental type breakfast, but everything was fresh and was replenished constantly. My only complaint was that there wasn't a lot of parking. We arrived late both nights and had to park on the opposite side of where our room was. It is close to the freeway so if freeway noise bothers you, you might want to request a room towards the back of the property. The noise was not bad though.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Candlewood Suites Phoenix
#70 of 177 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
North Mountain
Comfort Suites Phoenix North
North Mountain
TownePlace Suites Phoenix North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn North
#73 of 177 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Courtyard Phoenix North
#66 of 177 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossland Phoenix - Metro - Black Canyon Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Phoenix - Metro - Black Canyon Highway

Property: Crossland Phoenix - Metro - Black Canyon Highway
Address: 11211 N Black Canyon Hwy, Phoenix, AZ 85029-4759 (Formerly Extended Stay America)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 177 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Phoenix - Metro - Black Canyon Highway 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crossland Studios Phoenix - Metro - Black Canyon Highway. We are located right off of the Black Canyon Freeway and located within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Our property is 13 miles away from the Phoenix Convention Center and the Arizona State University-Downtown Campus. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring kitchens or kitchenettes and plenty of work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crossland Phoenix - Metro - Black Canyon Highway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Phoenix
Extended Stay Phoenix
Phoenix Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing