We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Legacy Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legacy Golf Resort
Ranked #62 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We selected this location just a few weeks prior to our visit. We used Groupon--our favorite way to get a one bedroom condo for the price of a mid-range hotel!!
We had not heard of the resort, which is a Shell property.

Complex is small--relative to some we've stayed at. There are 12 clusters of units. There is a pool (we did not use--but looked pretty busy), golf course (we don't golf), golf shop, and restaurant (we had lunch with the 20% off coupon we got as a welcome gift at check in).

Our unit was great! A little worn but very nice. And it was clean!!! Washer & dryer in the unit--nice touch. We were in one bedroom--it was great size. There is also a studio next to each one bedroom and a connecting door to one and make the whole thing a 2 bedroom. That would be a fabulous 2 bedroom as it would really provide enough privacy since the studio has a full kitchenette , sitting area and bathroom of its own. 8 could sleep in that with the pull out sofa in each.That would be a bit tight, but do-able. 6 could easily stay and not feel overwhelmed.

Beds comfy, 6 pillows (love lots of pillows), great shower and whirlpool tub. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had lunch in the restaurant. Great service. We ordered two appetizers (as our meals). We shared them both and took 1/2 with us and had lunch the next day! PLENTY of food. And it was excellent.

Shell is timeshare so they will invite you to a presentation. But you have options--you can say no, you can go and get your free gifts and not buy or you can go and get your free gifts and buy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Barb, we’re so pleased you had an opportunity to experience The Legacy! Your nice ‘first-person’ narrative is sincerely appreciated.

Our associates pride themselves on exceeding our owners’ and guests’ expectations, and it’s gratifying when I’m able to share reviews such as yours with the team.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again someday!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 645 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

We traded into the Legacy Golf Resort from Interval. Very spacious for a studio The room not only had a couch and a separate bed (not a couch with hide-a-bed as many studios) but also a stove, dish washer, microwave and.... a washer and dryer in the room. Unheard of for a studio. Air conditioning worked very well..clicked on immediately when dropping temperature one degree...important for Phoenix in the summer. The grounds were attractive and very well maintained. The workout facility was large and better than most and included Olympic weights. If I had any complaint it would be with the internet. We had a very strong signal but it seems like sometime you had to sign in and sometimes you didn't. It could also get slow at times. Tried to download the NBC evening news one night and it took close to an hour to download. Most nights the download would keep up with the news playing but other nights it would play then stop while the download caught up, play a couple of minutes then stop again to load. Legacy uses AT&T internet and I've had trouble with them at other resorts.

Don't let the internet keep you away. I think you will find a very enjoyable stay at The Legacy Golf Resort.

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook parking lots. I would avoid this if possible. I also like second floor better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for your nice comments, Diamondjag.

While the studio suite is the smaller of our accommodations, it sounds as if its 419 sq. ft. layout was a great fit for your enjoyment!

We also appreciate your mention of our Fitness area. I’m pleased to share, that facility is being relocated very soon – to an even larger room in our Guest Registration building.

We hope you’ll come visit again and check out what’s new and improved at The Legacy!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have stayed at the Legacy Golf twice, and have had great experiences both times. The first time was for a week, the second time was for only 2 days as we were extending our Scottsdale timeshare vacation.

We have had both a studio and a 2 bedroom suite (which they gave us as a free upgrade). It is great to have a kitchenette even in the studio, so we were able to bring great leftovers home to munch on for lunch the next day! The big suites are awesome!!! All rooms are beautifully decorated, great services. Everything you need is included! Washers and dryers in the suites are a real plus, especially since they provide detergent.

The patios are very nice, especially if you are lucky enough to have a view of the golf course. Lots of birds, and bunnies to watch! Best way to spend the morning with a cup of coffee! Pool is wonderful, nice workout room. We haven't eaten there, since there are so many great restaurants in the east valley. Parking is a bit of an issue if you come back late at night, and may end up parking some distance from your suite. Great access to Sky Harbor. We have never had a hard sales pitch, but maybe because we book through a hotel site, and are not using it as a time share. We do get asked, but with just saying "no thanks" we were not bothered again. This is our favorite place to stay in the Phoenix area, and it is our first choice, always.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Hello Snowbow,

Thank you for taking time to share your observations, both with The Legacy family and the TripAdvisor community!

Enjoying a cup of coffee on your private patio, overlooking our beautiful golf course and desert wildlife preserve is certainly pleasurable … I’m delighted to hear you think so, too!

We strive to remain your “first choice”, and will do whatever it takes to showcase how important hospitality is to us!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Legacy on 3 occasions, Each time, the service and facilities have been great. There can be a bit of a sales pitch at check in (timeshare) but you can just make it clear that you will not be buying. If you need room - like a one or two bedroom suite, this is the place. Nice pool too.

Room Tip: If you'll be using the pool, ask for a suite near it. It's a big property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for your review, Tim!
I’m so pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed another great experience at The Legacy.

We sincerely appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This resort is only 10-15 minutes from the Phoenix airport. It is located on a quite street yet is close to shopping. We stayed for 6 nights from June 04/2014. Our Studio Suite was spacious with a full kitchen including washer & dryer. Our ground floor suite also has a patio. A variety of birds will wake you up with their songs.
The pool area was great for cooling off in the 100 degree heat. We had a couple of meals in the clubhouse restaurant and the food was very good.
The front desk staff was outstanding. We had a couple of minor issues and they were resolved quickly. They also followed up to make sure everything is okay.
We enjoyed our stay and hope to be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vintagedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for your insightful commentary, Vintagedude! You made my day!

It’s true, our secluded locale and surrounding fairways belie the fact we’re but a few miles from Sky Harbor International Airport and major thoroughfares. I’m so pleased to learn that your studio accommodations were a great fit for your needs; also, that our Guest Services associates demonstrated their commitment to exceed expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is one beautiful resort. Was there for a Shriners Golf Tournment. Stayed two nights. The entire staff are professional, and go out of their way to making your visit memorable. The golf course is very nice. The golf staff really know how to put on well run event. The restaurant serves good food for good value. I would certainly recomment this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noble-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words, Noble!

I’m delighted you and your friends enjoyed a wonderful experience at The Legacy, and was happy to share your sentiments with our golf and restaurant associates.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again!

Warm regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We've stayed here twice & arranged for our son and his wife to stay here also. As Shell Vacations Club owners this is one of our favorites. The units are beautifully decorated & comfortable. The pool & hot tubs (one for just adults) are beautiful as well. We have eaten in the restaurant twice & had outstanding meals both times.

Highly recommend! We don't play golf so cannot comment on that aspect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us, Kjh!

I’m so pleased you had an opportunity to fully enjoy our pool and spa facilities, as well as our on-site dining facilities. I was delighted to be able to share your compliments with our Executive Chef, Derek.

We sincerely appreciate your family’s continued loyalty, and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Camelback East
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Golf Resort

Address: 6808 S 32nd St, Phoenix, AZ 85042-6004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#52 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $132 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy Resort is an oasis of green at the base of Phoenix’s scenic and well known South Mountain. Featuring spacious suites decorated in Spanish mission-style with rich wood cabinetry and earth-toned fabrics and a full kitchen or kitchenette. An on-site 18-hole championship golf course that was named a top 10 Golf Courses to play in Phoenix by Golf Digest. Also a sparkling pool and a deluxe health club, coupled with an endless variety of recreational activities amidst an inviting resort community. Make The Legacy Golf Resort your destination for a romantic getaway, family vacation, reunion or golf outing. We are ready to help you create your legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Legacy Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Golf Hotel Phoenix
Legacy Resort Phoenix
Legacy Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing