We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice condo”
Review of Legacy Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legacy Golf Resort
Ranked #52 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yakima, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice condo”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for a week, using timeshare points. The grounds are well kept. The room was clean and well stocked. Glad we had a ground floor unit, as we could load and unload the car via the sliding glass door. Loved the jacuzzi in the room. We did the "free" breakfast with the timeshare presentation. Not to bad as those go, were done in 90 minutes as they state, but had to be firm about it. Loved the swimming pool and hot tubs. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you, "K"! We were delighted to learn that The Legacy experience was a great fit for your family's enjoyment!

With so many lodging options available to the timeshare community, your choosing to visit our resort -- then, taking time to share your impressions here on TripAdvisor -- is truly appreciated.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back from the chilly Northwest again in 2014!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    211
    89
    43
    22
See reviews for
165
232
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have traveled extensively throughout the US for business and pleasure and have never experienced the poor service we received from this hotel. This is the first time I have ever complained about a hotel’s service. We arrived on Dec 28th and after a long day travelling and wanted to wash off but they did not have any shampoo or conditioner in our room and had to scramble to find some in our bags. The next day we left for the Cardinals game at 10 am only to return late that night around 10 pm to find the door propped open with the swinging clip/door stopper. It had been like this all day, because our bed had been made, whoever cleaned it left the door open. My heart just dropped thinking that someone had broken into our room. We checked for our passports and our computer and everything was still there. My husband went directly to the lobby to report the incident. The staff informed us that they would report it to the cleaning staff and to let them know if anything had been stolen. They did not apologize or anything, just recorded it onto their computer and said they'd mention it to the cleaning staff. We were surprised with the lack of concern to this incident. We attended the timeshare presentation the next day and mentioned it to the front desk while we were with a sales agent and got the same unimpressed response. The sales agent was also surprised with the lack of interest from the staff. So on Dec 31st we requested to speak with Management and the front desk said that someone would call us the next day. We checked out on Jan 2nd around noon with absolutely no call from the Management. When we mentioned this at checkout they offered to get the Manager but we did not have time to discuss it as we had a plane to catch. This complete lack of interest in what we felt to be a serious security issue was unacceptable. The cleaning staff was unimpressive also. The day after the door had been left open a cleaning staff had knocked on the door and we asked that they return in half an hour and no one came back to clean our room that day. Also when they did clean they didn’t clean the washroom or even replace the bag in the garbage. They only left the empty bag draped over the side. And the next day they didn’t even leave a bag. These are all minor issues compared to leaving our door ajar an entire day. To add to this the walls were paper thin and you could hear entire conversations clearly from the room next door. What bothers me the most is how the staff never apologized or showed even the slightest remorse for our door being left open all day until we checked out and complained about it for the fourth time? I do not stay at Wyndham Hotels that often but this was by far the worst experience I have encountered.
Our room was acceptable and we really enjoyed being on the golf course where we enjoyed having coffee on the patio daily. We did play a round of golf and used the driving range and found the pro shop and golf staff to be amazingly helpful and nice. When we return to Phoenix we will definitely golf there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you, Carol, for bringing these matters to my attention. Above all, I want to extend my personal apologies for your experience!

Having been a part of The Legacy’s opening team since 1999, I take an enormous amount of pride in both our product and our associates’ “Count on Me” service standards. I can assure you that the concerns you cite are totally unacceptable and not in keeping with resort standards – and are being addressed!

I would appreciate your contacting me directly (#602.305.5510); or, If you prefer, please send me a private e-mail (Michele.caminidi@wyn.com), letting me know the most opportune day/time for us to call you.

While disappointing, I appreciate do your informing us, so we can ensure these situations do not occur again. I hope you might allow us another opportunity to demonstrate the outstanding level of service for which The Legacy is noted.

Sincerely,
Michele A. Caminidi, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I made a last minute vacay plan for golf in Phoenix before Christmas. We booked a one bedroom condo at the resort. Aside from the timeshare lady trying to get us to join them for a breakfast or lunch the stay was great! Very spacious condo for a great deal! Cheaper then a hotel by far. We love the option of cooking while staying and do not need a maid so best option if that is what you are after. The golf course was right out side our door! We booked a tee time and were off! Amazing deal for golf as we payed $100 each and had unlimited golf for the day, lunch provided and a dozen balls, cart included! Because we played on the shortest day of the year we did get two rounds in barely. The food in the clubhouse was great and service on the course was amazing as well! Can not say enough good about it! The only downside we found was that it was far from any other restaurant and shopping and the hot water takes a while in the shower but overall it was amazing and I would highly recommend if you are looking for a great golf resort! It also has a pool, hot tub and tennis courts.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a golf view room and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra G, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you, Dallas, for sharing your observations from your Legacy vacation!
... We’re genuinely delighted to learn that your golf-side accommodations, unlimited play and on-site dining combined to make yours a great vacation experience!

We appreciate you choosing The Legacy and hope to welcome you back again in 2014!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We exchanged a week at the Legacy, one bedroom on top floor, the rooms are large and well equipped, dark to sleep and very quiet. The bed is comfortable. We asked to be near the pool which they gladly provided (about 60% occupancy). Resort is spotless. The staff at the resort and golf course were very friendly. Beautiful golf course in perfect shape, just overseeded in October. Great golf academy with the latest technology. One casual restaurant at the golf course but not a big selection of restaurants in the surrounding area of the resort, you need a car.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
What a nice review, Louise! We really appreciate your taking a few minutes during this busy season to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Our associates take great pride in providing exceptional service, and we are continually looking for ways in which to improve.

On behalf of all The Legacy team, we wish you Happy Holidays .... and look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

anyone looking for a quiet night in a dark room should look elsewhere. we had two rooms that were not adjoining, and we heard most every word spoken in each of the adjoining rooms. We assume they heard our every word as well. you know the walls are REALLY thin when your college student son who is currently living in a dorm comments on how loud the TV in the next room is. we had two rooms at this 'resort', and there was party going on in the room adjoining our other room. The party woke me up even though I had earplugs in.

we heard a (drunk) couple screaming at each other in the 'resort' parking lot at 12:30am. the windows don't appear to have any soundproofing either. the whole place appears to be 1970s vintage, except the TVs which are probably only 10 years old (smaller low-def plasma or lcd)

There is door length window next to the front door of each room that allows the porch light into your room, so your room will glow all night and it will not be dark. Rooms have some sort of blind on this window, but it is not opaque enough to be effective.

when we checked in, were directed to another desk across the hall to get our parking pass. the lady at that desk hands me a postcard sized form to fill out asking for our name, address, email, household income, and other highly personal information. I told her I declined to fill out this form.... twice.... She continued to plead. Finally I told her under no uncertain terms that I would not provide personal information to get access to a room that I had already paid for. She then tried to make me feel guilty by telling me that her manager was at the end of the desk and that she would get in trouble if she failed to get my personal information. We both looked to the manager, who merely shrugged, then I was finally allowed to get my parking pass without given them my household income and whatever other information they were inappropriately requesting. This entire experience was bizarre and totally inappropriate. Perhaps the bluebloods who normally frequent this place have no problems following orders and handing out their household incomes, but I did and you should.

I stumbled onto this place while trying for a priceline deal in 'north tempe'. while this spot is on pricelines map for 'north tempe', it most certainly is not in 'north tempe' and is in the middle of nowhere south phoenix.

Room Tip: book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank HeywoodJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your observations, Heywood. We take the comfort of each of our guests very seriously, and were disappointed to learn we did not meet your expectations.

We are sorry for your experience, but do appreciate your candor.

If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, please feel free to call me directly at #602.305.5510.

Sincerely,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had a bachelor room that had a half kitchen in it. Freezer in half size fridge did not keep things frozen even turned high however froze everything in fridge when turned high. We had room on main floor and it was very noisy from guests in room above. Would not stay in ground floor room again. Some rooms are very far from pool area. Bed was comfortable and nice linens. Decor very dated . This is a vacation club so only had housekeeping once in the week. Only restaurant on site is casual at golf course otherwise you need vehicle to go out to eat.

Room Tip: Would not choose ground floor as sound really carries from guests above. If those are children, it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you, Kimberly, for your feedback following your stay at The Legacy last month.

While we appreciate hearing that the bedding and pool facilities were to your liking, we were greatly disappointed to learn of the malfunctioning refrigerator and noisy neighbors! Oftentimes, the best part of one's vacation is relaxing, and we regret that your enjoyment may have been compromised. In the future, if such an unfortunate issue were to arise, please report any excessive noise to the front desk so our 24-hour Security team might follow-up.

As always, we appreciate your feedback, and wish you Happy Holidays!

Regards,

Michele A. Caminidi, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Love this resort! We are vacation ownership travellers and this is our 3rd time back! Excellent Phoenix location close to everything! The resort is beautifully cared for and spotless! Golfing, walking, tennis, swimming and fitness all on site.
The rooms are large, well furnished and equipped as you would have at home!
Love it and recommend to fellow vacation ownership exchangers or nightly rentals!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager C, General Manager at Legacy Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your impressions and recommendation, CaboHeather!

Our commitment to being responsive, respectful and deliver a great experience is central to our success. We enjoy contributing to your great vacation memories, and sincerely appreciate your continued loyalty.

Thank you again for your nice review. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in 2014!

Warm regards,

Michele A. Caminidi
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#17 of 174 in Phoenix
772 reviews
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
Orange Tree Golf Resort
Orange Tree Golf Resort
#51 of 75 in Scottsdale
582 reviews
Scottsdale Links Resort
#54 of 75 in Scottsdale
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Golf Resort

Property: Legacy Golf Resort
Address: 6808 S 32nd St, Phoenix, AZ 85042-6004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#52 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy Resort is an oasis of green at the base of Phoenix’s scenic and well known South Mountain. Featuring spacious suites decorated in Spanish mission-style with rich wood cabinetry and earth-toned fabrics and a full kitchen or kitchenette. An on-site 18-hole championship golf course that was named a top 10 Golf Courses to play in Phoenix by Golf Digest. Also a sparkling pool and a deluxe health club, coupled with an endless variety of recreational activities amidst an inviting resort community. Make The Legacy Golf Resort your destination for a romantic getaway, family vacation, reunion or golf outing. We are ready to help you create your legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Legacy Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Golf Hotel Phoenix
Legacy Resort Phoenix
Legacy Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing