We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Apple Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Smelly Room!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and when I entered the room the smell of cigarette smoke knocked me over. I called the front desk immediately and told them of the smell. I asked if they gave me a smoking room in error. I was informed the entire hotel is non-smoking. I requested another room and was told the Hotel was pretty booked & they didn't have another room to offer me. I then had to ask for some sort of air freshener. The front desk person acted a little confused but then asked if it would be ok if the "Shuttle Driver" could bring some up to me. The driver came up right away and handed me a big bottle of room freshener. It didn't work but we were stuck as it was the weekend of the BWW Bowl Game. Our friends stayed in the room next to ours and their room did not smell. Beds are comfortable here, it's in close proximity to ASU & the Airport. They offer a Shuttle to & from the Airport 24 hrs a day. So not a bad place to stay. Just very disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cruzanrumgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFI-PHX-GM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear AngieandJoe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay using TripAdvisor. I am very sorry to hear you experienced an issue with your guest room. I understand your concern regarding room odor, and we go to great lengths to ensure our rooms are neutral in odor without using pungent air fresheners. It appears, however, as though there may have been an undetected residual odor from a previous guest and I sincerely apologize for this issue.

I would greatly appreciate any additional information you would be willing to provide regarding your stay, particularly the room in which you stayed, so we can follow up on this issue and ensure it is resolved. Please contact me at ffi.phxfa.gm@marriott.com at your earliest convenience and I will be more than happy to follow up with you regarding this issue.

Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you at our hotel again soon.

Warm Regards,
Timothy O'Regan
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    130
    37
    26
    8
See reviews for
117
93
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean, check in smooth, and the staff was courteous & helpful. Breakfast was simple, with kid friendly options. The shuttle service worked perfectly, & runs on the 15 & 45 of the hour. Overall, a great value with the park & fly option.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFI-PHX-GM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for choosing our hotel. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee WI
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night after arriving to phoenix from Chicago. The hotel is OK but very worn out. We had to be moved to another room after our key wouldn't open the door of our original room. It took 3 times if going back to the lobby before they gave us another room,kind of irritating. The room was OK but everything was old and needed updating. The breakfast wasn't very good and the coffee was swill. I think there has to be a better choice of hotels near the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beadsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFI-PHX-GM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share details about your experience on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my apologies for the difficulties you experienced with your room key upon arrival. I understand how frustrating it can be when you have to go back to the front desk due to key difficulties and we strive to keep our hotel locks in working order. I am very sorry your particular lock was experiencing some problems during your stay.

Fairfield Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport has recently undergone an extensive $1.3 million renovation. We replaced all of our guest room furniture, bedding, lighting, lobby furniture, breakfast room fixtures, carpet, wall vinyl, doors, bathtubs, and just about anything else we could think of! I am concerned you feel the property looks old and needs updating and would love to speak to you personally about specific examples so we can further evaluate the need to improve our property.

I welcome your comments and invite you to contact me directly at ffi.phxfa.gm@marriott.com to share any additional information. We truly care about what our guests have to say and hope to use your comments to further improve our hotel.

Thanks for your business and we hope to have you as our guest again soon!

Tim O'Regan
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed for only one night. When we arrived the bathroom had hair all over the floor and shower and no toilet paper. We called the front desk, who called housekeeping. Housekeeping arrived and basically I was told that she was blind, she didn't really speak English, so she couldn't see the hair in the bathroom. I can appreciate hiring people with disabilities but to clean a guests room seems like the wrong place for a person with bad vision. I had to call 3 or 4 times to the front desk to get a crib. We accidentally left our child's blanket there, and it has still not been found. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFI-PHX-GM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Terri K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at our hotel.

I am terribly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced as a result of your guest room not being cleaned according to our high standards. While we do pride ourselves in hiring people with disabilities, we also employ a housekeeping supervisor to inspect rooms after they have been cleaned to ensure issues like the one you experienced do not occur. Unfortunately, in this instance it appears as though the inspector did not inspect your room before it was released to the front desk to be assigned to a new guest. Please accept my apologies for our failure to provide a room that's clean, fresh, and reflects the highest quality standards for which Marriott is known.

Please contact me directly at ffi.phxfa.gm@marriott.com regarding your child's blanket. Regretfully this forum does not provide me with enough information to research a missing item, as it does not provide your full name or the dates on which you stayed. At first glance of our lost and found log, I do not see a blanket listed as found, but I would be more than happy to research the item in greater detail once I receive your information.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel. I look forward to hearing from you soon and hope to welcome you as our guest again in the future.

Tim O'Regan
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Overall, it's a Fairfield near a major airport. The hotel was clean and the staff was attentive. I stayed when it was a windy night in Phoenix so the Direct TV was have considerable difficulty picking up a signal. Breakfast included the typical item including sausage, scrambled eggs, waffles, cereal, muffins, bagels, and toast. It is near a major highway, and I heard a good amount of traffic during the middle of the night. Overall, I'd consider staying again, but not for more than a night. There didn't look to be a lot of eating options in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the interstate as possible to reduce the amount of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gozags2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The staff at this hotel were amazing. I cannot say enough great things about them. They were polite, courteous, and just made me feel appreciated. The shuttle to the airport runs every 30 minutes and when it was not running to the airport, drove me to a local restaurant. They are all very professional. ...Also the room was great, very clean. The breakfast is good (pretty much the same at all Fairfield Inns) and the internet was easy to connect to and fast. All around a fantastic experience. I will definitely stay here again when my plans include an early flight from PHX.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhart687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFI-PHX-GM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your kind words with us! Our staff loves to make our guests feel at home, and comments such as yours let us know our efforts are doing the job.

We appreciate you choosing our hotel and hope to see you as our guest again soon!

Tim O'Regan
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Its a Fairfield so that should be a good indicator also its considered an airport hotel so that is the other indicator. I must say though that the customer service was friendly and inviting. Bri was working the front desk and went out of her way to accommodate. The room was clean except the shower (but Marriott seems to have a continuous issue with this). It was quite not a lot of people though a group of kids did go running through the halls screaming once. It is very close to the airport and the hotels shuttle service runs 24 hours a day on the 15 and 45. The drive to the airport was only 10 minutes or so. All in all it was one of my better experience with a Marriott hotel and if I travel to Phoenix again for business I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakes419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
South Mountain
GreenTree Inn & Suites Phoenix Sky Harbor
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#14 of 174 in Phoenix
1,401 reviews
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport
Address: 4702 E University Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85034-7400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson(R), Phoenix, AZ provides stress-free commutes to and from the airport with a complimentary, 24-hour shuttle. The hotel's business center and meeting room make it an especially convenient accommodation for corporate travelers, and the patio, outdoor pool and whirlpool tub offer an inviting setting to soak up the sun and relax. When you're ready to explore, you don't have to travel far from the hotel to see popular local attractions like Tempe Center for the Arts, Gammage Memorial Auditorium, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Phoenix Airport Hotel Phoenix
Fairfield Phoenix
Phoenix Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing