We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going ..under a major renovation - great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport
Ranked #34 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Going ..under a major renovation - great service”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

First floor was just beginning to undergo renovation, second floor was completely closed and nearly finished. There were not a lot of guests when I stayed here because they didnt have a lot of rooms available due to the renovations. I had a newly renovated room on the third floor. Of course the room was very clean, good A/C, nice bed, good TV...The room had a small refrigerator..which I really appreciate. The shower was VERY clean..all white..decent water pressure...bathroom was a little on the small side. What sets this property apart is the service, Philip at the front desk (Borger, TX) is great. I utilized the Van service to get to and from the airport and had them take me to a restaurant..the service was VERY prompt and the driver was very friendly (even at 4:15 in the morning going to the airport!). Didnt eat breakfast, use the pool or exercise room. This property is close to the airport..not much around here within walking distance that I could see and the area gets pretty "Industrial" as you head west down Universtity..not sure I would walk down that way very far. The area immediately around the hotel has lots of office buildings and you see a lot of traffic, but the room was quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texas_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    123
    35
    24
    7
See reviews for
99
84
32
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent stay before our flight from Phoenix.
Phil at the desk was especially helpful in recommending restaurants etc
Pool was heated and towels provided.
Room was newly remodelled and fresh. Spacious and well equipped with power points for charging electrical equip.
Would recommend this and stay again.
Good variety of breakfast was included in price

Room Tip: Some aircraft noise, but the hotel is at an airport !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked this hotel because I needed a hotel with a free airport shuttle at a cheap rate. The hotel fit the bill perfectly.

ROOM: This Fairfield Inn has very tired, dated decor, but it has everything you need so it's hard to complain. We had two queen beds, a desk, a flat-screen TV, single-cup coffeemaker, and dresser. The bathroom was large enough with plenty of hot water, everything I ask for.

REST: The bed was comfortable, had plenty of pillows, and decent bed coverings, so I was looking forward to a great night's sleep. Better yet, the room was dark and quiet, so I slept soundly. I was amazed that we didn't hear airplanes in the room despite being close to an airport that has planes coming and going at all hours.

CLEANLINESS: The room was perfectly clean, no complaints here.

SERVICE: I didn't personally use the shuttle or check in, but my companion had no complaints with the service. The breakfast staff as well as the front desk in the morning were both friendly.

LOCATION: I was a little nervous driving up at night since my GPS took me to the hotel the back way, past a few strip clubs, but the hotel was in a perfectly safe area once I got past that. Interestingly enough, the next morning I realized we were very close to the highway and my GPS just didn't send me to the correct exit. Get directions from the hotel if you are concerned ahead of time. It's a quick drive to the airport, but there isn't much else in the immediate proximity.

PARKING: Plenty of free parking available.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is included, with standard options including cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, canned fruit, microwaveable breakfast sandwiches, make-it-yourself waffles, pastries, yogurt, juices, milk, coffee, tea, and cocoa. It's not fancy, but I was content with the offerings. I can't remember if breakfast started at 6 or 6:30, but it was fairly early.

WI-FI: Wi-fi was fast and free. How can you go wrong?

BOTTOM LINE: We didn't stay here long, basically using it as a place to sleep and nothing else, but it exceeded my expectations for a reasonable rate. I'd return without a second thought.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bqkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Good location when flying but they do charge extra if you want to leave your car. The staff was very helpful with places to eat Since are car broke down the shuttle to dinner was helpful. Then they jumpstarted our car for us. They even new where where to closest sears was. Breakfast was good. Very clean hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dntgroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during the week of July 4 and we had a very pleasant stay. All of the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean, our room was clean, the free breakfast was great. The location is great if you want to be by the airport, but is clearly not in walking distance from any attractions. Downtown Tempe is only about 3 miles from the hotel (straight down University Dr.) and is very easy to get to.

There was an incident on our first morning: the boneheads in the room next to us decided to light up their weed at 8am and stink up the whole floor. I called the front desk and the issue was resolved quickly and professionally by the general manager. The idiots next door were removed from the property by the police, and the general manager introduced himself to me and explained the situation. I was very impressed with the way the situation was handled and the professionalism.

The pool is small, but it's good enough. I don't like that you have to walk out the front of the hotel to get there (as opposed to being in the back with easier access). The pool is at the front, so you have to listen to the cars fly by on University while you are trying to enjoy the pool.

My only complaint about this hotel is the "exercise room", which is really more like an "exercise closet". It only has 3 cardio machines and if you are in thee with anyone else, there is no space. I believe the Fairfields around here are being renovated soon, so hopefully this one will get a new exercise room.

Overall, I would strongly recommend is hotel! We really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HenryBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Recently traveled out west for convention (San Francisco) and vacation. Stayed 4 nights in Downtown Courtyard, 3 night at Paris Hotel in Vegas, 4 night in Hampton Inn (Bakersfield, CA and Flagstaff, AZ) and finally one in Phoenix, Az. By far, this Fairfield in was the nicest. Even though we asked for a non-smoking room, the first one room they gave us was bad (not their fault), they quickly put us in another room. If you're flying out from the airport, it is an easy commute.

Room Tip: Very helpful and polite staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkjkwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston, GA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed at this location for 2 nights. Very convenient to resturants and only 3 blocks from airport. Staff was very nice and helpful. Beds were very comfortable. Great breakfast! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarvingWoodworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
South Mountain
Courtyard Phoenix Airport
Courtyard Phoenix Airport
#61 of 174 in Phoenix
287 reviews
South Mountain
GreenTree Inn & Suites Phoenix Sky Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#15 of 174 in Phoenix
1,361 reviews
Sleep Inn Airport
#113 of 174 in Phoenix
230 reviews
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport
Address: 4702 E University Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85034-7400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson(R), Phoenix, AZ provides stress-free commutes to and from the airport with a complimentary, 24-hour shuttle. The hotel's business center and meeting room make it an especially convenient accommodation for corporate travelers, and the patio, outdoor pool and whirlpool tub offer an inviting setting to soak up the sun and relax. When you're ready to explore, you don't have to travel far from the hotel to see popular local attractions like Tempe Center for the Arts, Gammage Memorial Auditorium, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Phoenix Airport Hotel Phoenix
Fairfield Phoenix
Phoenix Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing