We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport
Ranked #29 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Good location when flying but they do charge extra if you want to leave your car. The staff was very helpful with places to eat Since are car broke down the shuttle to dinner was helpful. Then they jumpstarted our car for us. They even new where where to closest sears was. Breakfast was good. Very clean hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dntgroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 385 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during the week of July 4 and we had a very pleasant stay. All of the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean, our room was clean, the free breakfast was great. The location is great if you want to be by the airport, but is clearly not in walking distance from any attractions. Downtown Tempe is only about 3 miles from the hotel (straight down University Dr.) and is very easy to get to.

There was an incident on our first morning: the boneheads in the room next to us decided to light up their weed at 8am and stink up the whole floor. I called the front desk and the issue was resolved quickly and professionally by the general manager. The idiots next door were removed from the property by the police, and the general manager introduced himself to me and explained the situation. I was very impressed with the way the situation was handled and the professionalism.

The pool is small, but it's good enough. I don't like that you have to walk out the front of the hotel to get there (as opposed to being in the back with easier access). The pool is at the front, so you have to listen to the cars fly by on University while you are trying to enjoy the pool.

My only complaint about this hotel is the "exercise room", which is really more like an "exercise closet". It only has 3 cardio machines and if you are in thee with anyone else, there is no space. I believe the Fairfields around here are being renovated soon, so hopefully this one will get a new exercise room.

Overall, I would strongly recommend is hotel! We really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank HenryBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Recently traveled out west for convention (San Francisco) and vacation. Stayed 4 nights in Downtown Courtyard, 3 night at Paris Hotel in Vegas, 4 night in Hampton Inn (Bakersfield, CA and Flagstaff, AZ) and finally one in Phoenix, Az. By far, this Fairfield in was the nicest. Even though we asked for a non-smoking room, the first one room they gave us was bad (not their fault), they quickly put us in another room. If you're flying out from the airport, it is an easy commute.

Room Tip: Very helpful and polite staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkjkwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed at this location for 2 nights. Very convenient to resturants and only 3 blocks from airport. Staff was very nice and helpful. Beds were very comfortable. Great breakfast! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarvingWoodworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Very close to Sky Harbor, this Fairfield was a decent hotel and served as a handy, centrally located convergence locale for out of town visitors to meet up whether they came by car, plane, train or already lived in the area. The rooms were standard Fairfield quality, clean and well-equipped. All electronic features and the internet worked fine and hassle-free.

Staff was very responsive to needs such as extra towels and pillows. Their airport shuttle was effective and dependable. The morning breakfast was well done, with hot food and cold juices to start your day.

Bottom line: A standard, well-run and not too expensive hotel in a very convenient location for business or as a base for family gatherings and visits to nearby attractions. I would recommend it for everyday travelers not seeking the famous resort atmosphere of other properties.

Room Tip: Take your choice: North side has airport noise and south side has street noise and is hotter in sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeyOnTheWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

wife and I spent one night here prior to a very early flight out of Sky Harbor...not a great location, and the price is okay for a big city airport hotel, but I have to commend the staff - the ENTIRE staff - on superb service and customer care. Knew and used my name, had my reservation down pat, offered the shuttle service including how to turn in the rental car (not an easy thing at Sky Harbor, BTW), and even gave us a shuttle service to a dinner reservation. We appreciate customer service, and have so few opportunities to commend a property...these people were great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night while on our way to Sedona. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was typical Fairfield breakfast. We sat by the pool to have our coffee. The staff were very friendly. This hotel is fine if you need to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decoydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
South Mountain
GreenTree Inn & Suites Phoenix Sky Harbor
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#13 of 174 in Phoenix
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport

Address: 4702 E University Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85034-7400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $75 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson(R), Phoenix, AZ provides stress-free commutes to and from the airport with a complimentary, 24-hour shuttle. The hotel's business center and meeting room make it an especially convenient accommodation for corporate travelers, and the patio, outdoor pool and whirlpool tub offer an inviting setting to soak up the sun and relax. When you're ready to explore, you don't have to travel far from the hotel to see popular local attractions like Tempe Center for the Arts, Gammage Memorial Auditorium, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Phoenix Airport Hotel Phoenix
Fairfield Phoenix
Phoenix Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing