We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport
Ranked #28 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We only stayed one night here to catch an early flight. Hotel is an older property, with not much nearby in terms of dining etc. We had to take a taxi to another exit to have diner.
We did not experience breakfast. Rooms, halls and general hotel area was clean. Only concern was the black mold all over our ceiling in the bathroom however, we did notice a sign when as we were leaving that the hotel will undergo extensive refurbishment of the rooms (well needed!). Great for one night. Shuttle to airport was very good, driver very friendly and on time. Wish they could shuttle to nearby restaurants as we did nto have a car.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIGtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 399 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel b/c we had a coupon for it. I seen other reviewers said it was outdated however I seen nothing wrong. Everyone was very friendly and had a great breakfast the next morning. Even tho we were close to the air port there was very little noise I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed overnight at the Fairfield Inn - Phoenix Airport on March 9, 2012 while waiting to fly out on March 10. The best feature of this Fairfield Inn: very convenient to the airport. Shuttle runs back and forth every half hour. On the negative side: the hotel could use some updating -- looked a bit "worn"; but overall still appeared to be clean. Room was small with a very noisy fan for heat or air. (We shut it off.) And a very small pool is located in front of the hotel. Breakfast was OK -- the typical fare of hot and cold items, fruit, etc. Nothing close by as far as dining or shopping. Satisfied our need of wanting to stay close to the airport, but a little disappointed for a Fairfield Inn. A one-night stay is about all you'd want here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie R.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The other reviews are accurate in that this is an old hotel and it has a somewhat run-down feel. It seemed a little overpriced for what you get. I would have stayed somewhere else (this hotel rates in the middle of the pack on TripAdvisor) but I waited too long to book and was left with limited options. If you're traveling here in March it's hard to find rooms because MLB spring training is in town (indeed, that's what we were there for). The hotel is close to Tempe Diablo stadium where the Angels play but it's about a 30-45 minute drive from the parks on the west side of PHX.

There was a continental breakfast that was about what you'd expect, things like muffins and cereal. The beds were soft and the rooms were clean. Although the hotel is less than a mile from the airport the noise wasn't very noticeable if the fan was on in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_SLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

just needed a place to stay near the airport so thought this would be fine, however, this was not up to par with the other fairfield inns I have stayed in. I would pass on this one.

Room Tip: Just pass on this one - this is the type of place where you don't walk barefoot on the carpet or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsoxnation949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel is very well located close to airport and freeways. Easy access from all around Phoenix..
I was attending Barrett Jackson in Scottsdale. The ride was only 30min, the Hotel was convenient for me for its pricing and location.

Around the hotel there is not much to see or to dine out, though within 10 min of drive you have a lot of shopping centers.

Basically you need a car to get around.

Rooms have Wifi access, it works perfectly. The breakfast is good but very basic. A couple of microwave sandwiches, canned fruits and so on.: the basic staff. Personally I liked the breakfast but for a "lady" it is not a romantic place to start the morning. The hotel price includes both breakfast and wifi access.

My room 325 was clean, the furniture is aging, the plasma TV runs 10/10, the bathroom is small but clean. The bed was comfortable though I didn't like the pillows.

The hotel staff was professional and friendly.

This hotel is likely the oldest Marriott hotel; however it is very decent if you are on limited budget. I recommend this hotel for 1-3 nights stay if you don't plan to remain long time during the day at the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the street it is a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rew345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

With lots of stress involved in family issues, this was a great place for us to stay as a home base for taking care of details. Friendly staff and wonderful breakfast with numerous choices and no pressure or hurry. Front desk peeps were always friendly and more than willing to help us find our way around the city. Pool was being re-furbished at the time, but never an issue of workers while we were there. Great prices off season.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and there was no noise! Maybe it was the A/C, but it was surprisingly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMarieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
South Mountain
GreenTree Inn & Suites Phoenix Sky Harbor
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#14 of 174 in Phoenix
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport

Address: 4702 E University Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85034-7400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range: $76 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson(R), Phoenix, AZ provides stress-free commutes to and from the airport with a complimentary, 24-hour shuttle. The hotel's business center and meeting room make it an especially convenient accommodation for corporate travelers, and the patio, outdoor pool and whirlpool tub offer an inviting setting to soak up the sun and relax. When you're ready to explore, you don't have to travel far from the hotel to see popular local attractions like Tempe Center for the Arts, Gammage Memorial Auditorium, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Phoenix Airport Hotel Phoenix
Fairfield Phoenix
Phoenix Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing