We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Airport - Phoenix
Ranked #150 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Spring Valley, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Neighborhood”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

Do not trust Days Inn photos and Starburst rating on this one! Bad neighborhood, question whether the room was clean - dark smudges resembling BM on the bathroom wall. Awakened at 3am by a group of men talking loudly and laughing outside our door. Obvious female soliciation happening on property.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoors4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    61
    77
    108
    189
See reviews for
138
102
75
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

The hotel was what I expected it would be for the price and was fine for one night, knowing I was moving on to something nicer the next night. The reviews are right, you don't really want to walk around this neighborhood. Use it just for a place to lay your head. I was in room 212 and it was very spacious. There was a safe and a large vanity area for getting ready that was separate from the shower and toilet. This was convenient as we were 4 girls sharing a room.

Before booking, I called the hotel and spoke with Wes and inquired as to pricing for four people with two double beds. I also asked about pricing for a roll away cot and I was told there was no charge. I told Wes that the room was less if I booked on line so, so he said that I should do that and then call back with my reservation number to book a roll away. This is what I did. When I arrived, Milena, the front desk person told me that there was a $20 charge for the roll away and a $20 charge for each extra person over 2. When I said that this is not what I was told and I gave her the name of Wes who I had spoken to, her response was "I don't know what he told you but this is what you have to pay , I just work here." When I said that I wasn't happy about it, she suggested that perhaps I would like to find another place to go. In the end, for the price of this hotel, I would have been happy to pay a little more and have a nice place to stay. Suddenly a $70 room was $130.

When I unrolled my roll away bed that evening, the bedding was unclean. I sent it back and shared a bed with my friend. The next morning when I checked out Milena said "I see you complained again" When I told her that the reason for my complaint was the dirty sheets, she told me that no one else had ever complained and she was still going to charge me for the bed. I asked to speak with the manager but again, as before, he was not around. I still intend to let the manager know of my disappointment but I think he might already know as Milena told me that it was the managements decision to be charging me. It was unbelievable to me that she would be so rude, her manner was condescending and I found it laughable that she had a tip jar at the front with her name on it. If you do book here, do so with a booking company that will allow you refunds. I had booked for a second night at the end of my trip and wished that I had been able to get a refund. The last night I was there I was put into a smoking room and even though there were other available rooms, the front desk person Anthony would not put me in another room because the computer had booked me into a smoking room. Anthony was friendly but he didn't know he was doing. Getting a room switched has never been a problem anywhere else, not sure why it was a problem here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleansegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, WI
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

First impressions were that this place was not going to be great. The location was near to Sky Harbor Airport, interstates and Papago Park. The area was industrial. The motel looked shabby from the outside.

The staff I met were all very nice and really helpful. Absolutely no complaints there. I stayed in room 202, which was a lot bigger than I expected. Well maintained and clean too.

Security was lacking with several sketchy guys hanging around at night. I locked up and jammed a chair under the door knob, but never had an incident to warrant it. Just my solo female traveler flags going off.

The free breakfast was quite basic. Cereal, instant oatmeal, coffee, tea, milk, muffins, doughnuts. Nothing flashy, but it was good and filling. I wasn't looking for an elaborate meal, but fresh fruit would've been appreciated.

There was an outdoor pool, but was closed for the season.

PROS: Staff, room size, near to things to do.
CONS: Badly hung outside door that left a 2 inch gap at the bottom (glad it was too cold for bugs), didn't feel very secure.

I spent 2 nights and would go back. Not good for those who want Super 8 or higher quality. Very good for those on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank between_lives12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, TX/AR (USA)
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

The room was clean. The bed was hard as a rock. The breakfast wasn't all that great. But I guess for the cheap price, it was OK I guess.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txshebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Once arriving back into phoenix from a long drive from the Grand Canyon, we decided to stay somewhere less expensive because we were leaving to airport the next day. What a horrible place this hotel was at. As we got closer and closer, we felt the area became more degenerate. No lie or exaggeration, but as we were going to the hotel, we saw crack wh0res on the the corner, stares from people standing outside in the streets with their shirts off, and loud music blasting from old beat up cars. Upon arrival the hotel is directly across from a run down strip joint, as seen from the outside.

Checkin was fine, the room was ok for what I expected for $35 a night. With the exception of the bathroom. The window would not shut and remained open but its ok because there were metal bars on the window, so no one could enter/escape.

The bathroom was dirty but the icing on the cake was the stale sitting water that was underneath the plastic form material on the floor of the tub. It felt like you were standing on a water bed. The WORST part of that was the awful smell of that sitting water mixed with god know what else that's been sitting there for who knows how long. It was so bad that I tried to hold my breath as often as I could. If you don't shower you would have never know because the smell starts as you step into the tub and the water moves around. When the water is turned on, it only adds to the sitting water beneath the tub. I feel sorry for the person the day it busts and horrible smelling and bacteria infested water spills out onto the person bathing.

Other than that and being in a run down ghetto area in Phoenix, the staff was nice and shuttled us to and from the airport by the live in driver. The gentleman at night was nice but the Russian lady at checkout was just whatever, no personality, no smile, nothing at all from her, no having a nice day, thanks for staying, NOTHING.

If I was to stay again, I would bring a gun for security, not shower, and wear a bio-hazard suit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iflyeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Econo Lodge Airport
#83 of 175 in Phoenix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Sleep Inn Airport
#113 of 175 in Phoenix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Airport - Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Airport - Phoenix

Property: Days Inn Airport - Phoenix
Address: 2900 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Airport - Phoenix 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Airport / Phoenix hotel welcomes your visit to the Phoenix area. Located off Interstate 10 close to downtown, our hotel near Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport puts the best of the city at your fingertips. Sports venues, arts and culture centers, museums, family-friendly attractions and more are all nearby. We offer free airport shuttle for our guests as well as a park and fly package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Airport - Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Phoenix Airport Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Travel Lodge
Phoenix Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing