We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Airport - Phoenix
Ranked #150 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

You'd think a hotel near the airport would be nice. This one should be torn down! Bad part of town, crappy rooms, lousy air conditioner. Everything about this place says who cares? Not the management. Not corporate leadership. Even the manager avoids eye contact and knows better than to ask how you liked your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genius09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    61
    78
    109
    195
See reviews for
143
102
77
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Room was big, we use the pool and relax, then we flow to the airport.. oh free shuttle... we did not had any problems...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cougertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Don't trust that Picture!

The picture of the pool above -- is not accurate. That pool has been filled in with dirt, the fence is gone and the dirt itself was home to various trash and dog feces. This clearly WAS a nice place once.

The family that runs/owns the property are pretty lovely people -- but that doesn't excuse the quality of the room, the messy parking lot and the, sad to say, scary neighborhood.

Granted - there's not much you can do about the location as property owners/management, but you can do a better job of renovating the rooms and keeping them clean. This was the first time in my life that I actually was afraid to sleep in the bed -- while the sheets seemed clean - the entire room just seemed dank and dirty.

The sink area had a constant influx of teeny ants and the ceiling was cracked and the paint/stucco was crumbling. The shower was less than enticing. There were cigarette burns on the ledge of the tub, through the bed-cover and on all the furniture and the sink. The carpeting seemed new-ish.

There was no alarm clock in the room.

The plywood on all the furniture was peeling/peeled off.

The TV had no remote.

As mentioned, the neighborhood is a bit daunting for a woman staying alone (and I'm generally a pretty fearless traveler - having been to many cities on my own) and once the sun went down I had no choice but to lock myself in my room. There are no food options within walking distance and only one decent restaurant from what I could see within a short drive.

The place across the street that appears to be a closed market is now the Blue Moon - a strip club. Which explains why the parking lot is full by 6pm!

There is a pool - it's VERY small and clean. It is right next to the road and closed up shops surrounding the property.

Despite the kindness of the management, I have to say I would NEVER recommend this property to anyone I even remotely cared about. Frankly, I wouldn't recommend it to strangers either.

The shuttle driver is a nice enough fellow. When I first called to be picked up from the airport, I waited 30 minutes before calling a second time. The woman at the desk said, "I paged him, please wait." I told her I needed to know if I should call a cab. She said no. Then 10 minutes later I received a call from the driver, explaining that he also drives for the Travel Inn and had to take care of a large group to the airport. (Why couldn't he have picked me up after dropping them off?)

I signed up for a 5 am departure the next morning. I explained that I had an early flight and was aware that PHX can be a long wait in security. The next morning by 5:05 there was no sign of the driver. When he arrived he said, "What time is your flight?" I told him it didn't matter I was worried about getting through security in time to make it. To which he replied, "In all the years I've been driving the shuttle, no one has missed their plane!"

How does he know? I feel certain that even if they did miss their plane there was no way they'd call the hotel to head back there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank Peggie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Convenient for Sky Harbour Airport and complimentary shuttle arrived within 15 mins of call. Driver and hotel staff pleasant and friendly, room spacious, clean, and comfortable. (No fridge, but drinks vending machine near reception.) Continental style breakfast was adequate and served in the reception area, but could be taken to your room. Shuttle driver was on time next morning to take me to the car rental centre. Basic, but good value for money and ideal for an overnight stay after arriving at the airport. (NB: There do not appear to be any restaurants or fast food outlets in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
751 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 642 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed the night here after a flight that came in in the evening. Got picked up by the shuttle after calling. The place is average, nothing special, but the room was spacey and clean, the guy at front desk very friendly. The room had a decent-sized TV, a safe, but no fridge or coffee maker. Two queens that were comfiable.There is a nice pool.
The breakfast room, the lobby really, has only two tables; choice of fruit, cereal, toast and hot oatmeal sachets. Ideal for a night before or after a flight. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and I consistently find it to be clean, friendly, and convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My mother booked this hotel for us for one night in advance when we knew we would be coming in on a late flight and wanted something close to the airport. The next day we were headed to another destination, and thank goodness for that! The shuttle service to the Days Inn was very touch and go from the airport. Although the driver himself was friendly, the hotel staff did not notify him of our pickup in a timely manner which left us waiting at the airport much longer than expected after a late flight. Once we arrived at the hotel, the service was incredibly cold and upon entering the room we were shocked at its condition. At first it was difficult to tell if the room had even been cleaned as pillows seemed to have just been thrown on the bed. Thankfully, the room at least smelled clean even though the air conditioner didn't work well and there were cracks running from one wall to the other. The next morning while checking out, a woman and her two young children entered the lobby after having just seen their room. The woman said "This place is disgusting- there is no way we are staying in that room." She proceeded to ask reception for a cab to take her to another hotel. That pretty much sums up our experience. As for the cost, I don't consider $90 cheap for a room in this condition, surrounded by what seemed to be a very seedy neighborhood. I have never written a hotel review before, but this experience needed to be shared. Due to this hotel, I will not be staying at another Days Inn again.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere, such as the Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport, for close access to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoylana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Econo Lodge Airport
#82 of 174 in Phoenix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Sleep Inn Airport
#110 of 174 in Phoenix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Airport - Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Airport - Phoenix

Property: Days Inn Airport - Phoenix
Address: 2900 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Airport - Phoenix 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Airport / Phoenix hotel welcomes your visit to the Phoenix area. Located off Interstate 10 close to downtown, our hotel near Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport puts the best of the city at your fingertips. Sports venues, arts and culture centers, museums, family-friendly attractions and more are all nearby. We offer free airport shuttle for our guests as well as a park and fly package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn Airport - Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Phoenix Airport Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Travel Lodge
Phoenix Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing