We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Ranked #45 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed at the Hilton Squaw Peak over spring break. Everything about our entire stay was terrific. The pools are large with a lot of diversity of seating. The putt putt course was recently updated and fun for all. There are plenty of tennis courts and they were in fine shape. The work out facilities are first class and the price to use it and all other amenities was very reasonable ($2/day). We stayed in a Casita with 2 levels. The rooms were nicely appointed and reasonably quiet even over spring break. The concierge is the best in Phoenix. They were very helpful and provided excellent recommendations. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xgoldie125x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    1,153
    641
    282
    140
See reviews for
1,688
550
82
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2010

The rooms were wonderful, but what made the stay so memorable was the service. The staff could not have been more attentive and kind. There was both a wedding and a high school prom there and the staff treated everyone, including the high school students, as valued guests. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tloneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

My husband and i stayed here in September 2009 and had a really relaxing time. Hotel rooms are spacious and very clean. Staff at front desk and in restaurants are very friendly and efficient. There are numerous pools which is great as there is a pool area for adults which is nice and quiet away from the kids. Food in restaurant is good and hotel overall is good value for money. Fitness centre is excellent

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2010

A very large resort with many buildings and many types of rooms. The staff was very nice and very helpful. The rooms were clean and well maintained. On the downside where most facilities today offer free Internet they charge $12 a day. What a rip off when you can go to a cheap motel and at least get free Internet. A major problem is that there is no restaurant or bar in the hotel. It is quite a hike to "The Hole In The Wall" just to get a drink or a meal. Hard to believe this is a Hilton. Actually the closest restaurant/bar was not at the hotel but across the street at Gallagher's which was very nice and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryLindstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Was wowed by earlier reviews that this was a great place for families. I guess it all depends what your expectations are. We would have been better off at a more upscale resort in Scottsdale. This was a Hilton, nothing more. Lame water slide, lame lazy river, lame miniature golf. Cannot even imagine how unbearable this place would be if it were crowded. Dark, outdated 2BR casita. $555 was our bill for one night, including breakfast, which happened to be the highlight of our stay - wonderful waitress at Hole in the Wall.
They did allow us to check in early. Tiny bedrooms. Thankful we were just there for one night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPLboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights from April 22nd to April 27th, 2010. The hotel is over 30 years old, but other than a few things it was hard to notice...I am not sure where the $20 million in upgrades were spent, as this is the first time I had stayed there. We decided to not rent a car on this trip, so took a cab from the airport and it was a short 15 minute drive directly north that cost about $34 there and flat fee $30 back. The staff at the Hilton were very accomodating from the moment we arrived, handling all our bags and taking us by electric car to our casita. Our room was two levels and had a kitchen area right in the entrance area, a large dining room and family room. Upstairs were a pair of queen beds and a fairly large tiled patio. On the hottest days, the patio surface was so hot that you must wear shoes or burn your feet. We loved the curtains in the upstairs area as they let us sleep in as late as we wanted, it made our room very dark. The casita that we were in had a terribly uncomfortable pullout queen bed downstairs, but two lush queen beds upstairs. Every time our next door neighbour took a shower the noise downstairs from the piping was loud, and there was not great sound proofing between rooms. The kitchen was not as expected. It contained a coffee maker, microwave and fridge/freezer. There was nothing as far as cutlery, plates, or dishes of any kind...making it very difficult to prepare anything. The fridge was old, the freezer area had a broken plastic door and barely kept the ice cream we purchased frozen. There was no toaster and we had to ask for a bottle opener. My wife decided to go out and purchase some food for lunches/breakfast and the bell hop (Reuben) was fantastic, driving her there in the hotel van (about 5 minutes away was a Fresh and Easy) and picking her up again in 20-30 minutes when she was finished...he drove her back to our casita and even helped her unpack the food. I had to go out to the local Basha's and purchase some mustard and dish washing detergent. It was about a 10 minute walk to both Basha's and Walgreen's. Also a short walk away was a great Italian restaurant (we had dinner there, great service and food), a Chinese restaurant, Gallagher's (a sports bar), Aunt Chilada's (mexican) and a pizza place.
The main purpose for our stay was to entertain two boys, 7 and 4, that is why we selected this property. The hotel had lots of smaller pools in quiet areas, and an amazing water complex. This water complex kept our boys busy from early in the day until 5pm every day. They played basketball, mini golf, floated around the lazy river and played in lots of pools. There were lots of other children there of all ages and on the weekend there was quite a contingent of teenagers as well. We met a couple from Phoenix who had come there for a relaxing/romantic weekend to celebrate an anniversary, but that is not the way I would spend my anniversary. I think this hotel caters to kids and teenagers perfectly, but after 8pm when the pool area shuts down, the hotel becomes a bit of a ghost town. The hotel has started to charge for mini gold by instituting a $2.25 daily per room fee for using the mini golf, fitness center and a few other things. The lazy river is very lazy and it was hot, so it was a good way to stay cool.
The hotel was totally packed on Saturday and Sunday and fairly quiet the other days, but at no time did we have any lineups. We also found chairs and loungers at all times of the day in contrast to some other reviews saying that people lined up at 8am and that there were never any chairs to sit on. The waterslide was good, but our 4 yr old missed being able to ride on it by about one inch in height.
We did not bring a laptop, but the hotel did charge for high-speed internet (what a ripoff) and the business centre was well equipped but charged a steep fee for use.
We dined at the Hole in the Wall restaurant for our first lunch and it was good but not outstanding. We dined at Lantana Grill for dinner twice and breakfast once. The breakfast was excellent, and the dinners were good....both dinners the place was almost deserted, one night because they had a free hoe-down (food included with your hotel stay). We also had dinner at Aunt Chiladas one night, it was busy and food was plentiful and affordable.
We had a blown fuse incident one night, but the maintenance staff showed up very quickly and had it fixed just as fast. Every time we came across the staff they were always smiling and saying hello.
We ordered a slush drink for the boys at Slim Pickins (poolside cafe), and were a little shocked to pay $6.50 ($7.50 after tip).

Overall we loved the place and would go back again. It is great for families, and we saw many families there with parents and grandparents and groups of families too. Teens would love it there too, many of them in the lazy river, and sunning and chatting with friends and checking out the bikinis/bathing suits. We look forward to Hilton upgrading their kitchens from containing a fridge to a full on place with stove and dishes/cutlery - ot would be so much better with that one change.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVRfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfield
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Brad and Taylor at the front desk were both very nice. Taylor was in training, however was already acting like a pro. As a Hilton honor Memeber they did not have an upgrade for me, however promised i would receive on on the third night in of my 7 night stay. Which they delivered. I received an upgrade to a Casita, also received additional breakfast coupons, which worked wonders at the Lantana Grill. My full Buffet breakfast average aprox $24 for 6 people each morning. (4 adults, 2 kids). Plenty of activities for everyone. The Kids loved the Lazy River, Waterslide, basketball, Tennis, Golf. I even found time to visit the Gym. I was concern it would be too crowded due to it being Spring Week vacation, however it was not, just enough crowd for the kids to enjoy playing with others and the others dont feel overwhelmed. Planning on making the Trip next year.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mk2006_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Property: Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Address: 7677 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020-4434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#42 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#49 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the slopes of the Phoenix North Mountains with a Spanish-Mediterranean design, the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort offers one of the most unique Southwestern experiences in the country. Located on 27 acres, the property is bordered by 3,000 acres of scenic Sonoran desert in the adjacent mountain preserve and features 563 all-suite accommodations, including nearly 80 large casitas. The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, known for its family-friendly experience, offers several outdoor activities and features the River Ranch with four acres of shimmering pools, cascading waterfalls, tennis and basketball courts and the Coyote Camp, the resort's lively kids' center. Additional highlights include unique dining experiences at Rico's American Grill and Hole-in-the-Wall, and luxurious services at its fitness centre and Tocasierra Spa and Salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Squaw Peak Resort
Phoenix Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing