We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2014 Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Ranked #45 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hard to believe this is right in the middle of a big city with all big city amenities! Felt the staff was glad we came, very personable. Our pre-teens had enough to do at the pools and on a return trip will sign them up for the tennis program as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,701 - 1,707 of 3,494 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed at this resort during the 4th of July weekend. And here is my report:
Room condition: new remodeled suites, comfortable and clean beds. 2 TVs. Spacious room.
Bathroom is a bit small - bathtub and toilet are together and sink is outside.
Refrigerator available : yes
Microwave available: no
Coffee machine: yes
Toiletry products: brand PeterThomasRoth excellent!!
Breakfast: No hotel breakfast
available - you need to go to Rico's or Hole in the Wall. Both expensive choices so prepare your wallet!
Swimming pool: Water park is Free for guests. Fantastic for kids!! They provide nice towels at the park.
General: old resort but well maintained. Very large facility so prepare for a lot of walking between buildings!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MILENADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Good place for a family vacation. Staff was always willing to help you and work with you. We ordered room service for breakfast, and it wasn't that good, on top of that our toast was burnt, eggs tasted like plastic. I called to complained about toast, they sent me a new order. Besides the breakfast incident, everything else was great. Kids enjoyed the River Ranch, while I relaxed under the sun. The restaurants have great food. Take advantage of the spa and if you can afford it, treat yourself to a massage. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are good but if you don't like your room, they can change it as long as they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rom1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a unique experience of staying for three days during the week, then leaving and returning for three days over the weekend. During the week, the crowd was manageable, the property quiet and a great experience for our family. Saturday, apparently when all the "staycationers" arrive, was a nightmare. While the staff was still friendly, suddenly the River Ranch was on lockdown in terms of what could be brought in or out, the slide was closed and the crowd was so crazy, we retreated to the pool near the room (which wasn't much better). There was even a guy chain smoking all day. Thank god for Jillian, the awesome bar tender. While our weeknight sleep was peaceful, again, Saturday was crazy. A bunch of teenagers camped out next door to us we up screaming, laughing and banging on the door between our rooms. We had to call security to come three separate times. The hotel did ultimately comp our room for that night to make up for it.

The kids had a blast at the water park and I would definitely recommend it - during the week.

Room Tip: While we didn't stay in one, they apparently have little "casitas" which we might try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Our $200 room package included 1/4" dust on the headboards and tables (which I was told was due to the dust storm that just hit), a driving range that doesn't exist in person but is touted online, and rude customer service agent who told me I should just check out and go home. Waterpark has murky water. Don't waste your money!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZMedicalStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Your review is appreciated, and I have received your email as well. I am truly sorry to know we didn't provide the level of service you deserve. I have left you a message, and look forward to speaking with you personally. It is our hope you will allow us another opportunity in the future.
Regards,
Teri Agosta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is the second year we have done my daughters birthday party at Squaw Peak. We rent a casita because it allows for the most River Ranch passes. She gets to select a few friends (only one's that do NOT bring girl-drama), we head to the resort mid-day, the kids hang out, laze on the river, play volleyball in the pool, miniature golf, we go to the casita, order pizza, eat by the casita pool, head back to the River Ranch for a few hours and then come back to the casita pool and crash.

It is the PERFECT venue for families (excluding some adults and their 1) inability to moderate their alcohol levels in the AZ sun and 2) inability to watch their language around kids (geesh). They have beefed up security and no longer allow outside food and drinks - which is kind of a pill, but understandable- they want to sell their poolside $11 burgers and hot dogs. Because its in the summer, a helpful hint is to bring lidded cups with kids names on them so that they drink enough water. It was 108 the weekend we were there (June) and sunscreen & hydration were the name of the game. Also, last time we were there, we had a flip flop blow out. The "cool decking" can only be so cool, so I brought extra flip flops in case it happened again and sure enough, we had 2 girls forget their flops. Its a $1 investment and better than burnt feet....when we checked last time, the gift shop did not carry flip flops and even if they did, they would be WAY more than I paid at old navy.

Hotel staff rocks - very accommodating. We made special request on the location of the casita and it was honored. Casita was clean and had covered parking (woo hoo!!). Security at the hotel was great - we had some older boys dumping people randomly on the lazy river, we told security (they dumped out a 65 yr old woman, come on....) and security escorted them out of the complex.

All in all, a great stay. Booked it through the Hilton website after I browsed all of the travel sites. Joined Hilton Honors to start earning stays.

Room Tip: If travelling with children, request a room by a pool. There are smaller pools outside of the River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank kmbbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Squaw Peak is terrific place to stay, there was a slight problem with A/C in one of our two rooms. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Resort was fresh and the grounds were well kept. The River Ranch is great and overall it's a terrific resort

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Address: 7677 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020-4434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#42 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#49 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $148 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the slopes of the Phoenix North Mountains with a Spanish-Mediterranean design, the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort offers one of the most unique Southwestern experiences in the country. Located on 27 acres, the property is bordered by 3,000 acres of scenic Sonoran desert in the adjacent mountain preserve and features 563 all-suite accommodations, including nearly 80 large casitas. The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, known for its family-friendly experience, offers several outdoor activities and features the River Ranch with four acres of shimmering pools, cascading waterfalls, tennis and basketball courts and the Coyote Camp, the resort's lively kids' center. Additional highlights include unique dining experiences at Rico's American Grill and Hole-in-the-Wall, and luxurious services at its fitness centre and Tocasierra Spa and Salon. The Resort is also proud to announce the completion of - Rejuvenated Meeting Space and the New Agave Suites at North Pointe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Squaw Peak Resort
Phoenix Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing