We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Makes the Difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Ranked #45 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Staff Makes the Difference”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The resort is getting a bit long in the tooth. While some updating has occurred, you can tell this is still an older property. The room (2 queen mini suite) was great, though we weren't in it much, as we were there for a conference and stayed 4 nights. Not much view though it was quiet which we appreciated. The staff was excellent in terms of being responsive, professional and courteous. The restaurant Rico's was fine for breakfast, but on the one night we tried the Happy Hour in the bar, it seemed like all but one staff member went home at 7pm (or a long break), and the bartender also had duties as cashier, wait person, order taker, etc. Although the bar was only about 25% full, he was overwhelmed. Not good planning on someone's part.
A bit far from the airport and the core downtown, which is OK, if you are spending the whole time here. Shopping (Walgreen's and other stores), is about 1 mile away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huskie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    1,154
    641
    282
    141
See reviews for
1,690
550
82
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have stayed here once before and this time choose weekdays so as to miss the busy weekends and lots of children.
We had to look at three suites as we had asked for a quiet room . The first was next to the stair passage, The second looked over the hotel air conditioning unit and rooftops. The third was ok looking over the River Ranch. The suites are a good size with separate living room bedrooms , toilet and separate washbasin which was good.The pool area is lovely and plenty of comfy seats and not really a children's area.
The staff were efficient and courteous .
The downside was the restaurant. We had breakfast included but it was only continental we had to pay another $8.39 each to upgrade for eggs bacon, sausage and potatoes. None of which was appealing. There was a coach party in one morning who had emptied the food, and even though the staff were not busy when we when in we had to ask for supplies to be replenished. Very slow with coffee top-ups.
For our evening meal service was a little slow and meals were not as hot as they could be even though staff were not around the eating area.My husband had to send his back as it was so cold. The manager did replace it and offered us a desert but we are not desert eaters. It did spoil the hotel. We like an onsite restaurant as we do not like to go out driving at night in unknown areas.
I would not stay there again unless the restaurant service was greatly improved.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the back not near pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 918teresah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello 918teresah,

Thank you so much for the review of our resort. Although I'm happy to know our front desk staff were able to find you more suitable accommodations, I would like to extend my for the service you received in our restaurant. I assure you that your comments have been shared with the team to ensure more awareness to our guests needs. Without feedback such as yours, improvements are not possible. Thank you again for the review. I hope you will allow us another opportunity in the future to provide you a more positive experience.

Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We usually stay at Hilton resorts and hotels when we travel. We were very pleased with this particular location and price of the hotel. The suites were spacious in size and the facilities of the hotel were wonderful. We enjoyed using the spa to exercise and the pool to relax. We did have an issue with our refrigerator the second day where it stopped working and all of our food spoiled (milk, turkey, cheese, yogurt, etc). We had no problem communicating with management and had the refrigerator exchanged out for a new one within 15 minutes. We were also able to go to the gift shop/food pantry and obtain whatever we needed (milk, sandwiches, yogurt, fruit) to replenish the food we lost and Hilton took care of the bill. Great customer service!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pikakeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOISE
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. Originally we had booked a studio king, but the room was very small, with no real sitting place and the TV was on the side of the bed. We upgraded to the Suite for $25 more per night, and were so glad we did. Thank you Dawood for being so patient! Both rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The suites extra living room was perfect for the two of us with a desk and wet bar area. The complex was definatley sprawled out. The main restaurant was not attached to the hotel, but on one corner of the property and was not open for lunch. Their are two main buildings, each with one pool and courtyard inside that have a bar and restaurant, but these were fully closed. The other restaurant on the opposite corner of the property was fully closed. The River Ranch had a bar and "grill", but this means you have to go into the water park area. When we went and sat in the seating area, we were ignored, with backs to us even, for along time. We got up and got menus, and decided we'd just order at the bar, but about then a scavenger hunt started. This mean that a staff person was on a microphone blaring out directions to kids, who were, being kids. This wasn't the atmosphere we wanted, so we just left. The River Ranch area is great for kids, not for couples. We did try the lazy river before our lunch attempt, and it barely moves as others have said. We had to push with our feet to make it around. After we left the property for some lunch, we returned to the pool inside the courtyard. It was awesome. The fountains, the slight shade from the buildings, the quiet more adult atmosphere, and very comfy loungers. Loved this area. All said, we enjoyed our stay, though we weren't expecting to have to drive so often for restaurants. It was still fun to see the area, and Dave at the Concierge desk was great!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ended up stopping here on the spur of the moment, and are very glad we did. Our kids were very cranky due to earlier problems, but the facilities here (mainly the River Ranch water play area) cheered them up immensely. The suite was very nice and very nicely priced. We'd been here before, but the previous time our room was upgraded after a booking error, so we weren't sure what the standard room was like for the price--now we know, and it's great!

River Ranch includes something like 4 or 5 separate pools, of varying temperature, a water slide, and the "lazy river," a long circuit for slow tubing around. Our kids loved it, and only wished they could spend more time there. We didn't indulge, but there are a variety of bars and restaurants around the waterside.

Room Tip: Ground floor on the River Ranch side minimizes walking distance, but even the farthest rooms don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deuce444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The property is sprawling and your room could be quite far from the lobby. Staff will be happy to transport you by golf cart to your room, though it wasn't offered to us upon check-in.

The room had a bit of a musty smell that we noticed when we first walked in but was clean and comfortable otherwise. The bed and bedding were very comfy.

Very nice pool area for guests and a nice, separate pool fun zone with slides for kids.

The spa amenities were very expensive, which is expected on a resort property and it is a bit isolated if you don't have a car. You will pay $40 for an express 20 minute pedicure on property, or go across the street to another salon off property and pay about $20 for an hour pedicure with hot rocks.

I found the staff around the grounds to be very friendly and helpful at all times. They were indeed a pleasure. The concierge was great for getting us a car and the ride from the resort back to the airport was a luxury SUV with formal driver for a flat fee of $30 which is about the same as a taxi. The SUV was available right away and you usually have to wait for a taxi up to 30 minutes.

Food served during the conference was pretty good and varied each day.

Bring a sweater to the conference rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello Kim T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit. I appreciate the thorough critique, and am happy to know that, overall, you found our resort and team members pleasant. It is my hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, should your travels bring you back to the Phoenix area.

Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very nice Hilton with everything you want.

Pros: suite style with living room and 2 flat screens. Clean and staff were very polite. Gift and snack shop open late. Best of all...it's very close to hiking trails overlooking Phoenix, fantastic views with easy paved trails and challenging ascending trails meant for goats and me. Met a coyote 10 feet from the road.

Cons: finding the room was difficult with confusing directions and no map through the maze of floors and rooms. Worse, though we purchased the "resort package" which is supposed to include the 10 dollar a day internet charge, they tried to bill our room each day. Tried to straighten this out during the stay, but impossible. Hopefully, we can fix this on checkout.

Conclusion: Whether you're on vacation or business, Pointe Hilton is worth checking out and I would say worth the money.

Room Tip: Why is it the more you pay for a room--the less is included??? Internet and breakfast should be incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rco1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello rco1234,

Thank you very much for this review. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the hiking trails within walking distance of our resort. The weather at this time of year is ideal for many outdoor activities! I do, however, apologize for the miscommunication regarding the Resort Charge. Although internet use is an "auto-post", the fee is removed upon departure. I am truly sorry if this wasn't explained. Thank you again for your feedback and recommendation. I hope you'll consider our resort for a return visit.

Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Property: Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Address: 7677 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020-4434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#42 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#49 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the slopes of the Phoenix North Mountains with a Spanish-Mediterranean design, the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort offers one of the most unique Southwestern experiences in the country. Located on 27 acres, the property is bordered by 3,000 acres of scenic Sonoran desert in the adjacent mountain preserve and features 563 all-suite accommodations, including nearly 80 large casitas. The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, known for its family-friendly experience, offers several outdoor activities and features the River Ranch with four acres of shimmering pools, cascading waterfalls, tennis and basketball courts and the Coyote Camp, the resort's lively kids' center. Additional highlights include unique dining experiences at Rico's American Grill and Hole-in-the-Wall, and luxurious services at its fitness centre and Tocasierra Spa and Salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Squaw Peak Resort
Phoenix Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing