We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms need some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Ranked #45 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Rooms need some updating”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Positives:
- Friendly & service oriented lobby staff (front desk, bellman) - very helpful & quickly offered assistance
- Rooms include coffee maker, large in-room safe, refrigerator
- Two rooms - a bedroom & separate living area - the desk/sofa/chair living area was nice sized.
- Reasonably priced food/drink at hotel restaurant
- Nice chairs at pool

Negatives:
- Rooms needs updating -- lots of stains on furniture, floors & walls
- Rooms in need of maintenance - door stuck/hard to open, dead-bolt wouldn't fit/didn't work, very slow drain in tub (ankle deep water before hot water starts)

While other rooms may be better...my room had 2 double beds & not sized for that - one bed blocked the entry of the room so could not get suitcase through straight-forward (bed blocked about 2/3 of doorway). There is a very small/cramped balcony - however, as it faced a parking lot, not inviting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello SF94547,
Your feedback is incredibly helpful in assisting us with our on-property improvements. Our maintenance team is fixing the sticky doors and dead-bolt locks as well as trouble-shooting the plumbing issues. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to our staff and share your other comments with them. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope you consider visiting again.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    1,139
    624
    273
    135
See reviews for
1,640
543
80
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
222 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here as a business traveler. My best description of this property is "past its prime". The carpet was snagged and dirty. It looked like my 20+ year old carpet at home. The decor was outdated and the courtyards looked old and tired. The lay out was a bit confusing as well. I did find the rate to be reasonable, and that is really the best I can say.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello MNwanderers,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your business travels. I appreciate your honest feedback. We always look for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience. Our décor is a very important part of that, and our guest's comments will be taken into consideration during the planning stages of our next guest suite renovation in the very near future. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.

Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The initial arrival and check in was friendly. Our stay there was not as good as expected. Did middle class have something to do with it ? Is it their practice to overcharge when billing your acct. ? Apparently. What you sign at check out is not what is actually charged. We saved for this trip with our daughter and grandchildren, we are not in the high income bracket. To have a higher amt. charged and our acct. not being able to cover it, cost us money. Money we should have been able to use as part of a planned budget. If it wasn't for the "family time" this trip would not have any good memories. What they did may have been legal, but we felt that we had been stolen from. If your money is important to you, this is not the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidD4576785698756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello DavidD4576785698756,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our resort on TripAdvisor. I was glad to see your visit initially started out well, but then greatly disappointed to learn of the challenges you experienced with billing. Please accept my apologies. Our team makes every effort to ensure all of our guests enjoy their time with us, with the hopes of their return. I would like the opportunity to investigate your concerns. Please call my office at your earliest convenience. We can be reached at 602.997.2626.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed early November 2012. This was my 5th stay at the property over the past 2-3 years. I stayed in a two level casita.

Very small kitchen (fridge, sink, microwave), 2 bathrooms, large family room with sofas, table, and tv. Upstairs large mater bedroom with master bath.

Covered, reserved parking is nice. No charge to park.

Onsite pools are great. Lazy river and multiple pools are great for kids.

Onsite restaurant is good.

Location is nice. Only 10-15 minutes from airport.

Hotel is a bit dated. Walls are pretty thin. But it's a great place to stay if you get a casita. The actual hotel rooms are small and dated. I only stay here if I can book the casita.

Staff is great. No real compliants. I will return on my next trip to Phx.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a two level casita. Much better option than the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed on the north side. I wanted a suite so that we would have a spot to relax after the kids were in bed. The suite was smaller than I anticipated based on the photos (I guess I should have figured that), and the pullout bed was dirty when we opened it out. They quickly brought fresh sheets though. The kids were really focused on the pool area and the water park, and despite cool weather, they did enjoy themselves. The staff was polite, but it was a bit of a hassle to have to tell them every time you wanted to go on the water slide, as they would not keep it on or keep staff there. The lazy river was REALLY lazy as you had to push yourself around without a current. There also seemed to be a lot of charges -- for the fitness room, for wifi, for the water park.
All that said, the common areas were beautiful, the parking was convenient, and the staff was responsive. We also found a lot of restaurants in the area and the resort's recommendations in that regard were good. I probably would try out another place in Phoenix if we return, but the stay was basically enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karenandclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello Karenandclan,
Thank you for the review regarding your recent visit. Please accept my apologies for the condition of your sleeper sofa. I am glad to know our team responded quickly to the challenge. Although we do have a few features at an additional cost, the River Ranch has always been free of charge to our guests (number of passes are based on accommodations) so I do apologize for the misunderstanding. Your feedback is valued and I hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide you a more positive experience.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went for a night alone for just the two of us. If you go be aware there are two sections, the two main buildings, which have a mix of typical travelers and stay a few days couples, and the Casitas. If you are looking for peace and quiet, upgrade to the Casitas, Best Deal I've seen for what it offers. If not, this resort offers a great place to get away for a day, or come spend the week/weekend. The water park and Spa amenities are all charged items, as well as the internet... :-(. But they have package deals available that make it worth the stay. You can't beat the view, Squaw Peak and not downtown high-rises, but you are only minutes from Scottsdale Quarter and Downtown Phoenix. We used the restaurant on-site because we both wanted to drink, a little pricey for what they offer, but very good food. The staff was very professional and helpful.

Room Tip: Most rooms in main building don't have great views, East side is better, highest floor possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jag67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello Jag67,
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay at our resort. As the saying goes... Location. Location. Location. Our location is indeed convenient, with easy access to the freeway, making it simple to navigate through Phoenix or any other destination in our state. I'm glad to know you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed in one of the 2 bedroom casitas. A very spacious and comfortable place to stay. Also had a carport to park in right nest to the back door. The boys loved the water park and putt putt golf. Had a great time and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello nomad1957,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to know you found your unique accommodations enjoyable. Please keep us in mind when your travels bring you back to the Phoenix area.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Property: Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Address: 7677 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020-4434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#15 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#42 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#49 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the slopes of the Phoenix North Mountains with a Spanish-Mediterranean design, the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort offers one of the most unique Southwestern experiences in the country. Located on 27 acres, the property is bordered by 3,000 acres of scenic Sonoran desert in the adjacent mountain preserve and features 563 all-suite accommodations, including nearly 80 large casitas. The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, known for its family-friendly experience, offers several outdoor activities and features the River Ranch with four acres of shimmering pools, cascading waterfalls, tennis and basketball courts and the Coyote Camp, the resort's lively kids' center. Additional highlights include unique dining experiences at Rico's American Grill and Hole-in-the-Wall, and luxurious services at its fitness centre and Tocasierra Spa and Salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Squaw Peak Resort
Phoenix Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing