We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Ranked #45 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fairly Nice Resort”
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We recently stayed at the Pointe Hilton, and have stayed there, quite a few times. We enjoy going to the water park. They could use some help there, because the service is slow. If you want to get some decent chairs, you need to get out there early. People do reserve their chairs with towels, although there is a sign, saying not to do that.
We ate breakfast at the Hole in the Wall twice, and the food is not the best. Being gold members, we get 2 free continental breakfasts and we upgraded to bacon and eggs. You can upgrade to the buffet for $5. Make a reservation if you want to eat there.
We got upgraded to a king casita, which is nice, although the 2 queen casita is nicer. It has a door upstairs into the room, where as the king casita does not. So you can hear the TV going downstairs. And the sleeper sofa has a thin mattress and it is very uncomfortable. My 8 year son didn't mind it though.
We will go back to this hotel, but I would like to see a few improvements.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank okirk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    1,139
    624
    273
    135
See reviews for
1,640
543
80
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We -- two adults and a near-teen -- visited Squaw Peak at the height of the spring break/spring training season, so it was packed. For the most part, we had a great time, but there were some annoying gaps in service/quality.

The hotel is all suites (although small with no fridge), most seem to have been done over very nicely, with very comfortable beds and solid quiet construction. But if you have a bad back, get three people to help you unfold the fold-out couch!

The "River Ranch" water complex was great, with mulitple pools, tennis, fairly boring miniature golf, and faux "lazy river" and waterslide (with great smoothies at the pool bar). However, at opening time, there was a long line of people waiting to get in, and the gate was understaffed.

Concierge staff was incredibly knowledgable and helpful (thank you, Dave, Joan and Carol), with good advice on trips to Sedona and local sites and restaurant choices.

The biggest disappointment was the on-property dining, which was mediocre and overpriced. We had opted for the "bounce-back" breakfast. The vouchers covered only a couple of menu items. The staff at both the family oriented "Hole in the Wall" and the fancier "Lantana Grill" kept trying to direct us to the pricey breakfast buffet. At the Hole in the Wall it was awful -- soggy french toast, cold eggs, a few pastries -- more like school cafeteria than good resort. (We DID love the Joshua Stone Band, local bluegrass group that plays Friday nights... worth seeing)

The Lantana buffet was better, but more expensive... we would strongly recommend not buying the breakfast plan, and visiting some good local spots, like the "5 & Diner" nearby.

It was annoying that while there was free wi-fi in the lobby, internet access everywhere else was an add-on.

All in all, we had a great time... this is NOT a luxury resort, despite the pix, but a middle of the road family resort with nice rooms and a laid back atmosphere... just fix the restaurants!!!!

  • Liked — Pool and location
  • Disliked — On-site dining, nickel and diming pricing plan
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nyctraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

This is the 8th year in a row we have stayed at the Squaw Peak. It is an annual favorite for my boys and me. The rooms are comfortable, the beds comfortable, and the grounds are great. For kids, the pools, lazy river and the water slide are tops. Hours and hours of fun. I do agree with one of the other reviewers, the Squaw Peak is beginning to look a little tired around the edges. The service is still great. I will say, the food prices on campus are a little steep, and the overall price for the room was steep. However, we will be back, again and again......

  • Liked — pools, spa, location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank InSearchofQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We stayed two nights in a "casita" at the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort. Other reviewers have mentioned that the property is upgrading the casitas. They definitely had not made it to this one yet. The unit had a bedroom and bathroom upstairs and a good sized common area downstairs. The spaces were okay but everything was really tired. The carpeting was dated and worn as was the furniture. It may take several visits to the chiropractor to recover from the fold out couch experience.

The resort itself is actually pretty nice for a family with kids. The water park, mini-golf and sports courts are nothing fancy but just fine for young kids. We ate one meal at the Hole-in-the-Wall restaurant and it was better than average.

The whole resort is a very large facility and if you're in one of the casitas, be prepared for a long walk to get back to the main areas. Also, many of the casitas border a residential street so you don't have the feel that your in a vacation location.

All in all, you get about what your pay for which is a decent resort at a decent price.

  • Liked — Pool facilities
  • Disliked — the tired casita
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kajomi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

This was the last place we stayed on our trip through Arizona. We payed $206/night and stayed for 2 nights. It's quite a large property and we had a bit of a hike before we found the registration desk. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. Our room was on the third floor of the North building. It was clean and quiet and the beds in this place are AMAZING! Best sleep I had all trip. Our kids loved the waterpark, in fact they never even tried the pool in the buildings courtyard. There is a mini-golf, basketball and tennis courts and several pools on the resort. The mini-golf and tennis courts are available if you pay a fee of $2.95/day, which was reasonable, but we weren't informed untill we checked in.

The things we didn't like:

We never got a complimentary paper the first morning, and the gift shop was always out. The business centre cost $0.49/min for internet access, something that every other place we stayed at provided for free. The roads around the resort were solid cars at Phoenix rush hour every day. Food was very expensive but hey, it's a resort. We ate off the resort, many restaurants only a short drive away. Also, there was no fridge in our suite (unless there was one in the mini-bar that we didn't open!)

Apart from these minor annoyances, we did enjoy the resort. We will probably try another place the next time we are in Phoenix.

  • Liked — Waterpark and the matresses!
  • Disliked — Nickel and diming resort fees
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank offpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

When we arrived at the Squaw Peak peak we were greeted by a very friendly staff and during check-in I asked for a free upgrade (rent a ton of Hilton rooms throughout the year) and the desk manager gave us a WONDERFUL Casita (Town home). Ours had a pool and Hot tub attached to it that could be used by the public, but it was very quiet and felt like it was just ours to use. Unit # 3243. Our unit had a kitchen, 2 bathrooms, and a nice dresing area. The bedroom had a king sized COMFY bed and it seemed clean. A little outdated and one of the windows was too high to reach the blind leaving a direct view into our bathroom at night (wouldn't want to be spotted naked). It also had a water fountain outside by the pool and we slept perfectly to the sound of the water.

This is a great place for Kids and families, but still quiet enough for just the two of us. We strolled around the property and it has a very cool water park, mini golf, and fun stuff for the kids. You can't bring food or bevs from the outside into the pool area so a few drinks in the sun can get a little pricey. It was to chilly to use the waterpark for a couple of adults, but the kids were having a blast.

We did eat at the Hole in the wall rest and the food was very good. I just didn't get the feeling that it was very clean in there.

Walgreens is just down the street and they have a liquor store attached so you can find all your needs there.

We ate at a fun rest called "The Fish Market" just a few exits down on 51S and it was VERY good! The chef changed a few things for us and didn't mind. (I like Pasta instead of rice). Although, they had security and so that made me a little uneasy about the area.

  • Liked — It was just a nice place to relax and spend a couple of days in the sun.
  • Disliked — Needed to be updated, but it is a huge property and I am sure hard to maintain.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
275 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

Over the past couple of years, aging parent issues have taken me to Phoenix frequently, so I've had the opportunity to try several hotels in the metro area. After my most recent two-night stay, the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort is my new favorite. It’s an “all-suite” property with lots to recommend it.

Our plane landed just before noon and, after a couple of grueling flights, my wife and I wanted to freshen up and eat a decent meal before seeing my folks. When I called the hotel, the front desk clerk was very helpful and confirmed that the suite they'd set aside for us was indeed ready, so we headed straight for the resort.

Upon check-in, which was handled very smoothly, we were informed of the "resort option package," which provides a number of amenities (including fitness center access, spa discounts, and local phone calls) for $2.25 a day. As Hilton HHonors members, we were also given two complimentary bottles of water.

After freshening up, we headed to the Hole in the Wall Restaurant for lunch. This was a bit nostalgic for me, as I grew up in Phoenix and friends and I had frequented the Hole in the Wall at its original location in its early days. The food was (and still is) basic burgers, sandwiches, and quesadillas, but well prepared and reasonably-priced (especially considering it’s in a resort). The service was also excellent.

Thus fortified, we set off to see The Parents.

Over the next several days, our two-room suite became our sanctuary. It included a separate living room and bed room, robes (without having to ask), a very comfy bed, the fluffiest towels I have used in a long time (at home or away), a balcony, a well-stocked mini-bar, and some of the best in-room coffee I've in a long time. While our room was in one of two multi-story buildings, the resort also offers "casitas" - single story structures away from the larger buildings and adjacent conference center.

While the property has four restaurants, we only ate at the Hole in the Wall. However, we did use room service, which was also prompt, polite, and provided well-prepared fare.

There are several pools available, including a small water park adjacent to the Hole in the Wall. And even though a fair number of kids were present at the hotel, it was overall very quiet.

Plenty of free parking and easy access to the rest of Phoenix make this a winner in my book. Without a doubt, we will be back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelPro_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Property: Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Address: 7677 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020-4434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#15 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#42 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#49 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the slopes of the Phoenix North Mountains with a Spanish-Mediterranean design, the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort offers one of the most unique Southwestern experiences in the country. Located on 27 acres, the property is bordered by 3,000 acres of scenic Sonoran desert in the adjacent mountain preserve and features 563 all-suite accommodations, including nearly 80 large casitas. The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, known for its family-friendly experience, offers several outdoor activities and features the River Ranch with four acres of shimmering pools, cascading waterfalls, tennis and basketball courts and the Coyote Camp, the resort's lively kids' center. Additional highlights include unique dining experiences at Rico's American Grill and Hole-in-the-Wall, and luxurious services at its fitness centre and Tocasierra Spa and Salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Squaw Peak Resort
Phoenix Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing