We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Filthy carpet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Ranked #42 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Filthy carpet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The experience was fine except the carpet was so filthy that it made my grey socks black. This is quite a large property with a variety of room types. I like the 2 room suite that I had. Both ends of the suite opened on the outdoors. I was concerned about noise given that it was a connecting room, but since it was a suite, the connecting door was in the living room area, rather than the bedroom area so there were no issues. The pool area was nice, but I was here on business and only had time to use the pool once.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor and the bedroom looked out over the parking, but was still quiet enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pundit705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello Steve T,
Thank you for choosing the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort for your business travels and for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers. I am happy to see that you appreciated your accommodations but will address the condition of the carpet with our housekeeping team. If you would like to provide more detailed information so we can address the proper location, please do not hesitate to contact me. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    1,070
    569
    246
    124
See reviews for
1,515
498
76
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

positive: 2 big pools for adults, small kids pools; long lazy river; nice water slids; good location close to good hiking;
negative: you have to pay extra $$$ for using their fitness club; the hot tub gets broken from time to time; pool chairs are old, had to crop them out from my pictures :) kids activities are scheduled only during the summer;

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraTravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was at the Pointe Hilton for 6 days for a conference. The site was beautiful. Everywhere I went resort staff were exceptionally friendly, and obviously well trained in customer service. The casita I stayed in was well appointed and had a huge porch that I used every day to soak up sun and relax. I would recommend this to others, especially as a lovely conference setting that you could bring your family to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolagirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello Lolagirl92,
Thank you for your considerate review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team. They truly do strive to provide our guests a positive experience, and will do what it takes to make it happen. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here in August with my girlfriend for two nights, and we decided to stop here after finishing our road trip through the Southwest to relax and unwind before heading back to Los Angeles. Needless to say, we were very disappointed with our experience at this hotel.

The largest problem with this hotel is that it is extremely, extremely big. In the Phoenix summer, this can be a huge problem, as walking from certain rooms to the pool area can take over ten minutes. Also, when arriving, it is very hard to figure out where you need to go to check in. We arrived around 8:30 PM, and the first building we walked had a lobby that was completely devoid of ANY workers whatsoever. Confused, we scoured around until we finally found a map that explained where check-in was. Check-in went well, and we were given a room in the North Pointe building.

I have to give credit where credit is due - the rooms are absolutely enormous for the price. For 120$, we got a huge suite with two 40" televisions, balcony, and large bathroom, over 800 square feet of space. Air conditioning worked great, and housecleaning cleaned the room very well.

Now, the worst of our experience occurred on Saturday when we headed over the giant pool area to swim. Not only did the walk take 10 minutes, but it was extremely hot this day (over 115 degrees), and the entire pool area became a searing hot tub. Every single one of the pools was at least 90 degrees, and the lazy river must have exceeded 95. We went into the lazy river, and got out after one circle and felt like we were about to pass out. The entire pool area has one, maybe two places to get drinks, so whenever we needed to get cold water (the water fountains were all hot), we had to walk across the entire pool area to get a cup of water at a time. The main pool was just as awful, and we left the pool area after an hour. The pool in the middle of our building was actually quite comfortable, but it was too little too late. I would imagine that the main pool area would be build to handle heat, but it clearly is not. What an absolute disappointment.

Overall, the hotel is not a bad place, but it is clearly too big for its own good (very few workers visible throughout the grounds), and the pool area is just not built to be comfortable in the summer heat. Possibly it is a much better place in the fall or spring, but I would NOT recommend traveling here in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dfotinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello dfotinich,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and I am happy to know you enjoyed your suite accommodations. However, I am naturally disappointed that your time with us was not more positive. I hope that we will have another opportunity to create a more pleasant experience for you.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort is a friendly and comfortable venue located about 5 miles north of downtown. Its layout is a little confusing, with a number of two story "Casitas" (bungalows) scattered on the property in addition to the main buildings which are more conventional hotel-like rooms. We found navigating around the property was a little confusing at first, but we eventually found our way around.
Our party of 4 was in town for a convention meeting downtown and had no trouble commuting via rental car each day. Downtown Phoenix is a sterile wasteland and we were glad we decided to stay where we did. The rooms were all spacious and clean, and the staff helpful and friendly. There are a number of nice resort features including several pools and a 4 acre water park, making it a great place to stay with the family if you are in town on business.
Rico's, the on-site restaurant, was a disappointment and I'd advise walking to one of the local places nearby. Aunt Chiladas, a tex-mex place across the street, was especially good.

Room Tip: The casitas are worth the price of the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello Hodmeister,
Thank you for sharing your views with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to know you enjoyed your time with us, but disappointed to read that your experience at Rico's was not to your satisfaction. If you would like to further discuss your experience, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Positive: I got a suite for the price of a single room.

Negative: Layout is more like a motel; everything is spread out, and signage is spotty. The only full restaurant is across the parking lot from the hotel, with its entrance seemingly deliberately obscured. Room service doesn't start until 7 AM, and they can't get food to you until 50 minutes after that, making it useless if you have a morning meeting. Also, no room service for lunch or after hours.

Room: Clock time is incorrect, with no way to set it. In tub, hot and cold water are reversed. The in-room coffee is terrible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello BillSJ,
Thank you for your honest feedback and concerns regarding your recent stay at the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. I value your comments, and am greatly disappointed that we did not have the opportunity to speak with you while you were with us to ensure we made every effort to make your experience more positive. Please feel free to contact us to further discuss your experience. It is my hope we will have another opportunity to create a more enjoyable visit.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed one night at the hotel in mid October. We were upgraded to a 2 story villa. Very nice accomodation- bedroom upstairs with 2 queen beds,a bathroom, and large outdoor deck. Downstairs a living room with a sofabed, kitchen and bathroom. The villa was very clean and everything in working order. The property is large - we were very close to the waterpark, but also had a private pool for the villas. The waterark was entertaining for the kids- 12 and 10. They enjoyed the slide, lazy river and sports pool- none were crowded. We played a round of mini golf which was fun- nothing spectacular though. We ate at the restaurant at the waterpark- service was fine and the food good. The hotel is not located near many reataurants or stores so a car is helpful. We are HiltonHonors members so were given breakfast vouchers which can be used at a sit down restaurant or the Starbucks in the hotel lobby. We used them at Starbuck which worked out great. Overall the property is beautiful with great pools and outdoor areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello Cindy M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with fellow travellers. Your feedback and loyalty to Hilton is greatly appreciated. I am happy to know you and your family enjoyed the resort and its facilities. I hope you will consider returning to the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort in the future.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#11 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Property: Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Address: 7677 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020-4434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#43 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#50 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the slopes of the Phoenix North Mountains with a Spanish-Mediterranean design, the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort offers one of the most unique Southwestern experiences in the country. Located on 27 acres, the property is bordered by 3,000 acres of scenic Sonoran desert in the adjacent mountain preserve and features 563 all-suite accommodations, including nearly 80 large casitas. The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, known for its family-friendly experience, offers several outdoor activities and features the River Ranch with four acres of shimmering pools, cascading waterfalls, tennis and basketball courts and the Coyote Camp, the resort's lively kids' center. Additional highlights include unique dining experiences at Rico's American Grill and Hole-in-the-Wall, and luxurious services at its fitness centre and Tocasierra Spa and Salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Squaw Peak Resort
Phoenix Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing