We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older, beautiful property, awesome location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Ranked #44 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Older, beautiful property, awesome location.”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The Squaw Peak property itself and location is wonderful; I've lived in Phoenix most of my life but when 14 family members call you up and tell you they are "coming to visit" you pull your hair out trying to find the right place to stay to keep everyone from senior citizens to 8 year olds happy.

Fortunately Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak fit the bill perfectly.

First, the location. You are 20 mins from the airport (take the 24th street exit instead of the 44th street exit when you leave), you are tucked back against the beautiful Squaw Peak which provides some awesome views and hiking for any visitors wanting to experience Arizona. You are also in a nice part of town; along the bottom side of Squaw Peak and right side is Paradise Valley and you are only 20-25 mins from Scottsdale / Old-Scottsdale if you want to do a day of window shopping and eating at great places (or head to Fashion Square mall).

I can't express the convenience of this location enough; you will need a car, but you have access to everything you came to see (Have kids? Want to go to the Zoo? 20 mins!) within 20-30mins away.

Ok, now about the property...

The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak has been at that location for a *long* time, 20+ years. It was built as an oasis into the side of the mountain with a big sprawling property, a giant meandering pool. A lazy river. A mini golf course. Tennis courts. Basketball. A small mock "Old West" town for kids to play in... it is just a huge/fun property that sprawls out in every direction. You have rooms in the main lobby then you have Casitas and larger living arrangements on the outskirts of the property. Everything is easily walkable.

While some aspects of the hotel rooms have been upgraded (like the bathrooms and bedding) other aspects of the rooms definitely still feel the same as they were in the 80s. We had a really nice big suite with a huge living/sitting/social area and the table was straight out of an 80s movie with all the wear and tear you would expect for 20 years of sitting in a hotel room.

I think Hilton made the decision to incrementally upgrade the property by redoing all the bathrooms (the most important) then the bedding areas and then slowly doing touch-ups on the lesser details in the rooms like the older couches or tables. Honestly though, everything was clean and comfortable so it didn't bother any of us (and I tend to like nicer things).

A few of the families got one of the big 2-story casitas on the property so we got to spend time inside those as well; they were comfortable and clean (Again the bathrooms and bedrooms were new; flat screen TVs, new beds, new counters, etc.) and the living room felt a *hair* older but again, not a big deal at all. Everything was clean, there were no issues with feeling the couches were "Gross" or anything like that.

The kitchenette was a small/typical kitchenette which worked perfectly for those families; full fridge was a boon for left-overs and microwave was great for the kids for late night popcorn parties.

The weather in December (if you haven't been in AZ before) is a gift from the heavens and is why people winter here; warm sun on your face with a nice dry 60-70 degree breeze is heaven; we ate outdoors at the restaurant on the property and were very happy with our food and the ambiance out on the patio was beautiful.

TIP: Visiting this property in the off season (December) is awesome. It is like having a small-town theme park to yourself. The help told us that in the summer (the on-season) it gets SO PACKED that you are shoulder-to-shoulder outside at the pool/mini-golf/lazy-river area which honestly sounded so horrible to me I would have checked out and left had we been there in the summer.

Keep that in mind; one of the reasons we all had such an awesome time is because we went in the dead of December (2nd week of Dec) and had most of the place to ourselves and our huge family.

Room Tip: Go during the off-season and you will have the place to yourself. If you go during the busy season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    1,143
    632
    276
    138
See reviews for
1,661
546
81
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Perú
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Is a big and nice hotel with beauty desert and mountain landscape. Water park is nice.
Front desk and houskeping service is nice, but they could do better with food at Riccos restaurant ( breakfast is good though) If you stay in this área dont miss Enchiladas restaurant which is two blcks away from the hotel, nice mexican food.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The 2-bedroom casitas are great! Plenty of room for the six of us (myself, my husband, our 21-month-old son, his grandparents and his aunt) including necessary privacy. Really enjoyed the spacious deck overlooking the nicely-manicured grounds, the beautiful backdrop of the mountains and the clear, starry Arizona nights.

Sure, the casita furnishings are not 5-star... but the beds are super-comfy and everything was clean and new enough. No stove or oven in the kitchen, but to be honest, all we needed was the fridge and sink anyway. The hotel could have provided a bit bigger of a garbage can in the kitchen, though. It was about the size of a small bucket.

My compliments to the housekeeping staff, who cleaned our room promptly each day and unnecessarily changed the sheets each day. Wish the hotel would offer the means for guests to indicate to housekeeping that there is no need to change sheets each day. I felt bad.

There is lots of fun to be had at the multiple pools. Our little one went back-and-forth from the "Tad Pool" (baby pool), main pool and slide entry pool -- he was fearless! But I think he had the nicest time the day we camped out at one of the more serene, less crowded casita pools. The other pools are pretty boisterous and busy with other, bigger kids.

Food is so-so. Not a lot of variety at Hole in the Wall or Slim Pickens. Should have frequented the coffee stand in the hotel gift shop more often for more "simple" food choices for breakfast and lunch.

My husband and I had a nice "date night" at El Chorro in Paradise Valley. It is only a 10-15 minute drive from the hotel property and well worth it.

All in all, we had a nice little family vacation at the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak. We have every intention of returning!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prazakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I chose to stay at this Hilton property due to my first and second choices for accommodations in the Phoenix area being sold out at the time of my visit. However, this ended up being for the better, as the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort exceeded my expectations in many areas.

First off, this resort is designed with the "old-school" layout in mind - a sprawling property requiring the use of many a golf cart by hotel staff members. There isn't necessarily anything wrong with this, but if you're expecting to walk in the lobby, hop on an elevator, and walk 50' to your room, you may be slightly disappointed. My suite was located in the "North Pointe" area, which was a considerable distance from the lobby, restaurant, and fitness center. However, this wasn't an issue for me. The suite itself included a living room area in front (with a sofa, chairs, desk, and flatscreen HD TV) and a bedroom area in the rear (with two queen-sized beds, nightstand, walk-in closet with ample space, yet another flatscreen HD TV). The living room and bedroom were separated by the bathroom in the middle. The bathroom was 'split,' with the toilet and shower located separately from the sink/mirror/counter area. The room was very nice, with plenty of space to spread out. The beds were comfortable and clean, and the bathroom was adequate.

I did not visit the water park area of the resort, but I did make it to the fitness center. By hotel standards it was quite large, with plenty of treadmills, free weights, and machines.

I would definitely recommend this property, not only to families looking for a kid-friendly resort, but to business travelers alike. With accommodations like this, you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The bed was really comfortable! I got a great night's sleep. The rooms are set up as mini suites with a sitting room in front, closet and restroom in the middle and bedroom in the rear of the room with a small balcony and a great view.
They have several pools (one in each tower) but the main attraction is a fantastic main pool area with a lazy river, water slide, waterfall and great bar and you can get burgers and "pool food." There are cute shops in the pool area too. You can easily spend the whole weekend just there.
We never found the motel restaurant. I'm not sure they even have a restaurant for dinner. Thankfully there are many nearby. Try Aunt Chiladas, just up the street. Fabulous Mexican food and really fun bar with live music every Friday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatever31305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Wow, a secret in Phoenix. I just took a chance and I'm a hard person to please. Great service, rooms, and grounds. They could probably charge double and I would still stay there. Great location and moderately priced. Ask for South Pointe property...it has good views and quite but just a short walk to the main pools. One of the best Hilton properties I've been to.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We got a Casita and it was great for our family and my Dad. Enough space for all of us and be comfortable. I got a massage and she was wonderful and knowledgeable. Mini golf was fun for us all and so was the lazy river to keep the kids happy.
The kitchen was small and not much really in it so bring your own stuff to serve breakfast cereal.
We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passion4people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Property: Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Address: 7677 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020-4434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#42 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#49 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the slopes of the Phoenix North Mountains with a Spanish-Mediterranean design, the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort offers one of the most unique Southwestern experiences in the country. Located on 27 acres, the property is bordered by 3,000 acres of scenic Sonoran desert in the adjacent mountain preserve and features 563 all-suite accommodations, including nearly 80 large casitas. The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, known for its family-friendly experience, offers several outdoor activities and features the River Ranch with four acres of shimmering pools, cascading waterfalls, tennis and basketball courts and the Coyote Camp, the resort's lively kids' center. Additional highlights include unique dining experiences at Rico's American Grill and Hole-in-the-Wall, and luxurious services at its fitness centre and Tocasierra Spa and Salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Squaw Peak Resort
Phoenix Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing