We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 16, 2004

Absolutely one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. Originally we planned to stay at the popular "Phoenician" (we've stayed there before) but could not get a reservation. When I asked the Phoenician reservation clerk for an alternate suggestion he told me about Royal Palms which is just down the street.

The Royal Palms was magnificent - Mediteranean Style - sumptuous furniture, beautiful grounds, luxuriously intimate. We had a deluxe casita. I felt like royalty there.

I didn't purchase any of the spa services however every day - usually in the morning - I went to the fitness room (towels, tv, music, juices, ice water, coffee, fresh fruit) to use the exercise machines, then went into the Eucalyptus Steam Room (which was heavenly - one glass wall so you can see outside) then the outdoor jacuzzi then the outdoor lounging area by the fireplace. (All, except for fitness room were separate men & women facilities). No additional charge for any of this - and they give you robe, slippers & a locker.

Attendant in the spa showed me all the treatment rooms - they were unbelievable beautiful. So even if you don't use them ask to see them.

Breakfast & Lunch at T.Cooks or Cabana Grille were superb. Only a little disappointed with Dinner at T.Cooks (service & decor were excellent but portions were very small and plain - also not much selection for vegetarians like us who eat fish, although not shellfish). But that is such a minor comment and will absolutely not deter us from visiting again.

Treat yourself and stay at Royal Palms.

3  Thank 7Vacation7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,659 - 1,665 of 1,699 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2004

Fabulous accomodations, Fabulous Food, Fabulous service, Fabulous spa, Fabulous all the way around. I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

1  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2004

We just returned from spending the past week at the Royal Palms and there simply aren't enough good things to be said about our visit.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by an amazingly friendly, warm and caring staff who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our first contact was with Tony, one of the valet attendants, who opened our doors, introduced himself and thereafter, always knew us by name. (This was a trait of everyone we met on the property...it was as if we were staying with friends who always greeted us this way.) He took care of our luggage while we checked in and then gave us a tour of the property and then showed us to our room.

We splurged on a deluxe casita and it was well worth it. The room was beautiful, but then again, what isn't beautiful at the Royal Palms? The only other place we have seen that was so completely visually appealing was a resort we stayed at in Tahiti. Obviously very different environments but beauty is beauty no matter where it's found. The entire property makes you feel like you are living in a lovely, watercolor painting. The colors of the buildings and flowers and artwork all make for a serene and soothing atmosphere which you find yourself melting into very quickly.

The casita was beautifully decorated and very roomy. We had a private patio in the back with a view of Camelback Mountain. We had our own patio in the front as well (there are curtains you can let down to increase the feeling of privacy) where we sat and enjoyed the lovely evenings. The bathroom is a slice of heaven. The huge, walk-in shower with built-in, tiled seating is a spa treatment in itself. And the selection of soaps and lotions that are provided are wonderfully luxurious.

We can't offer enough praise to everyone, and we mean literally EVERYONE, who works there. Everyone is so happy and I don't mean in a freakish Disney/Stepford way. It's as if everyone there is absolutely thrilled to be doing their jobs and in finding ways to make you feel content and welcome. We never heard a raised voice, saw a scowling face or felt as if we weren't the most important guests there.

The food in the restaurants is wonderful if just a little pricey but then again, you're paying for unsurpassed quality and service. T. Cook's serves marvelous meals and the Cabana Grill has wonderfully casual lunches (and breakfast brunch on Sundays) and poolside drinks. The poolside service is unsurpassed and again, Rick and Jose (I can't say enough good things about the two of you either!!!) make you feel as if you're visiting their home. And by the joy they demonstrate when doing their jobs, it's no wonder you feel that way.

We didn't use the spa but we visited the boutique area and it was beautiful as well and also well stocked with a wide assortment of spa products.

On our last night there, we had the privilege of attending the General Manager's reception in the Presidential Villa (where President Bush had stayed just 2 weeks prior...regardless of your politics, it's pretty cool to know you're standing in the bedroom where a world leader has recently slept!). Our wonderful friend Jose was there and we also had the joy of meeting Greg Miller, the GM, Rick Behr, Delores (I hope I spelled your name correctly!) the Director of Experiences, and Gregory Casale, the head chef. They were all entertaining and charming and we had lovely drinks and hors d'oeuvres which made for a great send-off on our last night. We were truly sad to leave them, in fact when we left to go back to our casita, Jose made a point of stopping us and letting us know what a pleasure it had been to have us stay with them. It felt so much like saying good-bye to a friend that we hugged him before we left.

My husband had seen the resort on Great Hotels on the Travel Channel but could not remember the exact name of the resort. Since we had never been to Phoenix before, that meant we had to search through every other high-end resort property before he recognized the Royal Palms from its pictures. Even after having looked at all those other properties, we just had a feeling about the Royal Palms and we couldn't have been happier to have made the choice we did. There will be no other place for us to stay on any future visits to Phoenix. Why would we? Coming back to the Royal Palms would be like coming home.

And as a testament to the commitment to service and care the Royal Palms offers, look at the negative reviews of any of the other comparable resorts. Do you see any responses from those properties' management? No. And in the scant negative comments I've seen about the Royal Palms (both of which seemed to come from completely unreasonable people in my opinion), they took the time to respond and see if they could make things right. That says it all to me.

This is the finest property in Phoenix, hands down. I don't need to stay anywhere else to know that. Thank you to everyone at the Royal Palms who made our stay with you an absolute joy. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChellePV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Cruz, Ca
513
Reviewed August 23, 2004

I stayed here with my wife and my parents almost a year ago and I still cant stop thinking about it. We stayed in a Casita (well worth the extra cost). This is a small hotel that feels very personal and the staff is very attentive (understatement). Dont go here expecting a huge Hyatt type place. This is a outstanding place for a romantic getaway or to go to relax, eat, enjoy the spa. T. Cooks restaurant was very good. Enjoy a margarita by the Kiva fireplace outside. Heaven. The casita is amazing with evening chocolates delivered to your door! I could go on. The entire staff from the valets to the maids to the pool bar staff is outstanding. Do not hesitiate to make a reservation today. I cant wait to return.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
25
Reviewed June 28, 2004

My husband and I just got back from a trip to Scottsdale and we stayed at one location for the first few night of our trip because it was a time share as was free to us, but it did not cover our whole trip so we stayed at the Royal Palms Resort and had the best time! It was so romantic and they thought of every detail. We had turn down service and had Champaign; Chocolate covered strawberries and rose petals laid on the bed shaped in a heart. The staff was helpful and even got us in our room early! The pool was great we were in a cabana and was so relaxing looking up at the mountain. We would go back in a heartbeat, what a great way to renew your relationship!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
17
Reviewed December 8, 2003

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
19
Reviewed October 20, 2003

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
512 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $343 - $816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing