We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream spot for the best romantic escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We stayed at this fabulous boutique hotel and it was the best service I have ever experienced. Our room was upgraded to a Casita on arrival for a minimal amount. We had our own little bungalow with a front and back patio area. The back one had the utmost privacy 10 feet walls...The grounds were beautiful with flowers and fountains. Jose at the pool was always there to fill your water glas or get you whatever was needed.

Breakfast pool side or at TJ cook was beyond great, we never really needed to eat away from the hotel! it is our intent to go back for our 10 year anniversary and I am so excited a year and a half to go and we will be back in paradise!

The spa had outdoor hot tubs and doors which were opened to the outside during the treatments what a beautiful place....

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2travelwith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,487 - 1,493 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2009

Stayed at the Royal Palms for 2 days on a business trip in Scottsdale and this place is the cats meow. The surroundings can only be described as peaceful, luxurious, and nothing but the best.

Professional staff, T-Cooks has GREAT food , and all around a excellent place spend your time while in the Phoenix area.

If you want the best, look no further.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willicarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

A belated review of our amazing stay at the Royal Palms. The property is spectacular; architecture and flora make it picture perfect. We booked the Alvadora Spa suite - and it was absolutely perfect. Very atmospheric design, very romantic, and we loved the patio with large padded rocker to sit outside and watch the foutains and fire pits (or the view of Camelback) while having breakfast al fresco. T Cook's prepared a great dinner and breakfast for us - the ingredients were all top notch. The pool, although small, has a ton of atmosphere and is in a beautiful setting. Spa treatment was great. The only negative was an expectation based on heavy research that the Alvadora Spa Suites had several special amenities, including a personal in-room mini-massage every evening. The staff explained that it didn't work for most guests (hard to schedule) and they made amends for our disappointment with a few extras thrown in.

You will love the Royal Palms.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elitefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

I took 8 business owners and their spouses here for a retreat. I spent 3 nights, most of them were at the Royal Palms for two nights.

I have been taking this group to hotels in CA, AZ and NV since 2001 and this is the best one yet.

The rooms were excellent, spacious, clean.

The meeting rooms were nice, opening up to patios with gardens and fountains.

The restaurant and bar accomodated us with outstanding service.

The catered food was wonderful.

The valet staff knew us by name!

The staff helped out out for golf, getting extras into the guest rooms, and the service was the best.

Would I come here again? Yes.

Would I recommend this venue for adults? Yes.

Am I sorry my wife could not attend with me to experience the service, food, room and the atmosphere? Yes.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CSBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We chose Royal Palms because we were looking for something centrally located in Phoenix, yet we still wanted a place with some historical significance and charm. We were very pleased with our stay, however I would recommend asking to stay in one of the newer rooms as ours could have used a bit of a touch up (old bathroom, stains on the carpet, old windows which made the room somewhat dim). The highlight of our stay was T. Cooks, the signature restaurant on the property. The food and service was outstanding. Unfortunately we left on a sour note as we were overcharged on our bill at checkout. We would come back again, but would be sure to upgrade our room and double check our bill upon departure!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank A36traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

I recently returned from a weekend stay at RP. Overall, the resort is a beautiful, superbly run property that I highly recommend for couples or business travelers.

First of all, the location couldn't be better. It is relatively close to the airport (15-20 mins), centrally located near Phx and Scottsdale, and has beautiful views of adjacent Camelback Mountain.

The property structures are very attractive, hacienda style (see website) and the grounds are perfectly maintained. It has a nice, serviceable pool, although its not the strong point. I stayed in a Montivista room, which was huge, well appointed and had a bed worthy of hiberating in.

All of these great qualities aside, I was most impressed by the service, across the board. Everyone I encountered did an excellent job - valet parkers, desk clerks, TCooks servers/bartenders, housekeeping, etc. The service was on par, maybe surpassing, service I've had at Ritz's and Four Seasons. When there are many fine places to stay, as there are in Phx/Scottsdale, excellent service really makes a property stand out. They're doing a great job at RP.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RSBJGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

This is a great hotel for a short getaway. Although the evenings were cold the days were sunny so sitting by the pool was very realxing. Great rooms, excellent staff and beautiful surroundings. But it was the food at T Cooks that made it perfect.

We also got a great rate.

Planned to stay three nights but extended to four. That says it all.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Buiness Class
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $271 - $761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing