We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be my favorite...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Used to be my favorite...”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This gem of the desert has lost its luster. This is the sixth summer in a row my boyfriend and I have spent a long weekend at the Royal Palms, and this year the entire weekend certain things just seemed "off". It started with the check-in process, the desk had mixed up our names so our reservation could not be found, a wedding party was trying to check in behind us, and anyone that has been to this resort knows the reception area is not very large, so it became quite crowded very quickly. It seemed things went downhill from there, we just did not have the same feeling from the resort as we have every year in the past. They have started charging a parking fee on top of the resort fee, the customer service is not as attentive as it once was. I have a feeling it has been taken over by a new management company who seems to be more about profit than customer service. This makes me very sad, as coming here is always something we look forward to every summer. The pool was not the pristine shimmering pool of the past, and the grounds themselves were not as well taken care of either. The twice-daily housekeeping did not happen. I hope the management decides to go back to the Royal Palms of the past otherwise this may be my last visit, unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJ408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We are very sorry to read about your recent visit to the property and would love the opportunity to speak with you in more detail. Please feel free to contact our Manager on Duty if you would like to discuss further. We are committed to turning your experience around so that you can continue to enjoy Royal Palms for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    245
    95
    48
    20
See reviews for
216
776
72
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

What a beautiful little oasis! We loved the tasty mojitos and lunch by the pool! The pool staff were very friendly and attentive, constantly refilling water and providing more delicious drinks. The room was very comfortable, but would have loved to still have the option of using the fireplace at night, for the ambiance it provides. Beautiful grounds and gardens enhance the beautiful setting. Beautiful view of Camelback Mountain. The lemon ricotta pancakes were delicious!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BM8-11-1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the resort, the service and food in T.Cook's! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the states!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2014

If I had the money I would live at this resort year round. It was quiet, romantic, and peaceful.The service is impeccable. I have never felt so welcomed. Everyone from the bell staff to the pool staff was on their "A" game.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Recently I had the opportunity to attend a conference at this property and enjoyed every minute of it, in every way! From the grounds, to the staff, to the historic ambiance and architecture, it was truly delightful experience. If your travels take you to Phoenix, I highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishOne93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This resort is perhaps one of the most beautiful,unique, and enchanting places my wife and I have ever stayed. It was our 31st anniversary and they treated us like royalty. From the warm welcome when we arrived to the total overall experience of exquisite dining, fabulous room, warm staff, and breathtaking gardens and grounds, this was an experience that will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review! We also think Royal Palms is "Heaven on Earth" and truly appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again next year for your 32nd wedding anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I only got to spend 1 night in this hotel, but I wish it was longer. The service is top notch here, from the valet, to the waiters, to the pool attendant. The grounds are beautiful. I spend an hour just walking around taking photos and exploring all the little nooks and beautiful landscaping. I enjoyed lemon ricotta pancakes which the waiter told me was the chef's grandmother's recipe and I believe it. It was a short stay but a relaxing and happy one.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Overall, the Royal Palms Resort and Spa is a nice place to visit; however, there are a couple of things the establishment should look into. First, pay attention to the showers. When I opened the shower door, you can see the mold on the tile. When I stepped into the shower, there was mold in the corners. Also, the place was not built very well as when I put the soap and the shampoo in the box/hole in the wall to place them down, the soap/shampoo would constantly fall out because the box/hole was not leveled appropriately when it was built. That was annoying. Second, be careful when stepping around the large fountain in the courtyard. The floor is not level as I twisted my ankle in one of the many holes in the ground, as well as my colleague! When I twisted my ankle, I almost fell into the fountain. It's actually very dangerous. I'm surprised this hasn't been addressed sooner by other guests because it's a lawsuit waiting to happen. Other than all that, it's an okay establishment that is nice for Phoenix. I would stay there again, but I would request the showers be cleaned before I use it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassiopiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and are very sorry to hear about your shower and that you hurt your ankle. We have already had our maintenance department replace some of the tile in the courtyard to avoid this for the future. Please feel free to contact the Manager on Duty when planning your next trip and we will be happy to assist with the details of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing