We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I loved every minute of our stay here. The resort is situated in a fabulous location, the buildings and gardens are just magnificent and very well maintained, my room was gorgeous with a balcony overlooking a pool and the bed was so comfortable I felt I was floating on a cloud! I did not want to go anywhere else for the three days we were here because it was such a delightful place to be. So relaxing and so beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisP06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a lovely property. Rooms are a little on the sterile side, but spacious. Good location. The restaurant is EXCELLENT and worth a stop. The public areas are better than the rooms. Historical, charming, you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SafariSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at our historic estate as well as your meals in T.Cook's. We are constantly updating our rooms as we strive to create a luxurious yet relaxed atmosphere so we truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Had a wonderful birthday weekend here! We live 5 minutes away, but being at The Royal Palms makes us feel like we are on a romantic vacation. The rooms are great, the property is gorgeous and the customer service is amazing. Definitely our favorite place to stay in AZ!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a very beautiful destination resort. You will not want to ever leave. Staff are all wonderful and the landscape is off the chart beautiful. Restaurant is exceptional as well with a very good wine list.

Room Tip: Stay more than one night and ask for a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Lovely rooms and friendly staff. The pool seemed very crowded and it's my understanding that the day spa visitors are permitted access to the pool. This very well may persist to be an issue. I'm not one to frequent the pool all that often, but I could see how this could be a deal breaker for those who do.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank StephanieSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed our comfortable guest rooms and gracious staff. During your stay, the resort was very busy as was the pool area. We hear wonderful feedback about Robin and her pool staff from our guests so we hope you were pleased with the service despite being so busy. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just beautiful!!! The entire property is very well taken care of and there is so much attention to detail. The service was great all around. It is a bit pricey, but you get the high end service and ambiance. I loved the Mix Up bar it was a great place to lounge with friends and the pool area was amazing. I highly recommend staying here!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Even with a crop of reviews like Royal Palms on TripAdvisor, entrusting a hotel with your invaluable holiday time is a big decision. Royal Palms delivered on every score.
The hotel is very well designed so that users wanting different things from it are well segregated. For example, you don't want to wander into a group of earnest conference delegates in your swimsuit and flip-flops and you don't; you might want peace and quiet outside during the day and you can find a lovely place to sit around the site away from the pool, even when the hotel is full as it was for most of our stay. The rooms are separate from the pool, many overlooking a separate spa pool complete with open fires in the 'winter'.
The pool is a bit crammed but the staff there are brilliant, keeping everyone topped up with iced water and bringing the margaritas with a great sense of humour. I've reviewed T Cook's, the main restaurant separately. Even for a committed foodie like me, it is great and there are many good alternative places to eat within a short cab ride of the hotel. It's on a major road but apart from the swish of cars audible from the pool and the occasional siren, it is not an issue. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms are very different sizes - check with the excellent reservations people what size you're g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radiocrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $273 - $761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing