We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attended a family wedding, great resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Attended a family wedding, great resort!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great location, we had lots of rain, but didn't spoil our stay. Great staff, MixUp lounge is fun, and fabulous cocktails....Near to Old Scottsdale, and shopping!
Staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliwalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how much you enjoyed yourself at the Mix Up Bar! We hope you can return soon and hopefully without the rain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    242
    93
    46
    20
See reviews for
211
764
71
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LOmndon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A superb hotel, close to the centre of Scottsdale. Quiet and lovely. Secluded courtyards and gardens. The rooms are clean with a large comfortable bed. The views from the terrace looking up to Camelback mountain are breath-taking. There is a no tipping policy which makes the stay less strenuous. The concierge staff of Mona and Loni are excellent. All of the staff knew our names and knew our requirements almost before we did! We stayed for 18 nights and it flew by. We would stay again without hesitation. There were many weddings and meetings at the hotel but because of the separated design nature of the property we did not know of on event happening unless we stood next to it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Montecrista courtyard on the ground floor. Because most visitors to the hotel only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Peter R—
What a remarkable review to read! I can’t thank you enough for taking the time to share your experiences. It’s great to hear Mona and Lonni were able to exceed your expectations; I will make sure we pass your kind words along to them as I know they will love to hear them. Thank you once again and we are eager to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed two nights for a wedding. There is a "service fee" that covers tipping, unless you wish to tip extra, which is nice, but it does not include the restaurant. The rooms were clean and very nice, although not huge. The grounds are beautiful and you'd never know you were right next to a busy street in Phoenix. But - hairdryer was broken, had to call twice to get one. Waited 45 minutes (glad I wasn't in a rush.) The second call I offered to come down and pick one up, and they finally got the hint that I wasn't too happy. Bed was very comfortable. We had a ground floor room - great for the patio but not so great with someone above you...Wedding reception room was WAY too cold! I don't think we would go back here - better places with better pricing.

Room Tip: upper floor - absolutely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
It is concerning to hear the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us, as this is not the level of service we expect from our staff. I want to assure you the issues regarding the hairdryer and the temperature of the reception room have been discussed with our team. I or the Guest Relations Manager, Jenna Goss, would love to discuss the issues at hand to ensure they do not happen again. Please feel free to call directly at 602-808-316. Thank you so much and I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This resort is quite the experience from when you get in. The complimentary valet takes care of your car, bags and escorts you to the registration and ultimately, your room. Very clean, large, comfortable bed. Property is large with numerous little rooms/villas/abodes....no neighbors and we had a nice sitting area outside. It is like a mansion with gardens. There were 3 weddings there when we arrived.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Warning: You will probably get lost... haha. well we did. The hotel is just lovely. Very tropical, full of trees, a maze of hallways, and pools. Just beautiful! Loved the place. The pool could have been a bit larger but it was fine for a 2 day trip. It really felt like we were in Bora Bora or somewhere very mysterious.

We went for a wedding 2 weeks ago. They had both the ceremony & reception at the hotel. The ceremony was decorated so pretty with large white flower arrangements. Upon exiting the ceremony they had champs ready and waiting for all the guests as we filed into the reception space. Cocktail hour was lovely. Drinks flowing & great appts. Reception was pretty tho the room was too small for the amount of guests. But the room was very nice. Service was great the whole time.

Our hotel room was hard to get to but it was very large. There was a sitting room with a couch along with a king size bed and huge bathroom with a sitting tub. It was a bit pricey... but the room was so nice and worth it.

Def would return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlsacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We hope you enjoyed getting lost among our many gardens here at the Royal Palms! It a pleasure to know you enjoyed not only your stay but also a very special occasion with your friends and family. Thank you for sharing your kind words and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

There are many 5 star hotels around the world and also in Phoenix. You probably know many of those. Good but also a bit superficial. A service that is smooth but not personal. Great for business trips, but when you are looking for something to share with your loved one you need something else. Go to the Royal Palms in Phoenix and you will get a 'lesson' in history of this estate and its developments through a century of evolution. The moment you arrive you experience SERVICE and that you are in a non-standard environment. You feel at home as the atmosphere is cosy throughout. The staff has more time for you and the conversations are relaxed instead of that hurry up feel in the chains. The rooms and restaurant are great. You not only have a bed to sleep but your entire body and mind will be relaxed when you leave. We sure will come back when in Phoenix.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
I sincerely thank you for the kind words about your recent stay. We pride ourselves on our personal service, attention to detail, and rich history throughout our historic estate, so it is simply great to hear you experienced all of this during your stay. We hope we are able to be your hosts once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband & I visited the Royal Palms the end of October for a much needed stress-break. What a lovely, intimate hotel. Our Phoenix stays have been in larger, busier resorts--The Palms was a very nice change. The bell staff are so helpful and cheerful 24/7. The front desk reception was warm, welcoming and efficient. Concierge assistance provided us with fun, new ideas for meals and activities. By the end of just a few days we felt like family. Our amazing room was always promptly and thoroughly cleaned. Linens of good quality. The resort grounds are beautifully groomed and maintained. The pool is small, but we didn't mind. The surrounding gardens give it a cozy, secluded feel. And, the spa...loved it. Again not huge, but very well done and staff are very friendly. Truly a relaxing retreat. We especially enjoyed sharing a few minutes of late afternoon time with the bartenders at T Cooks. The daily drink specials were creative and fun. Had a memorable dinner at T Cooks as well. We appreciated the nudge to try the Royal Palms and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Many different types of rooms. I would definitely want to know specifics and location before choosi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dentaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We are so happy you were able to come relax at our landmark estate. We truly pride ourselves on service and attention to detail and are thrilled you were able to enjoy both of these. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I hope we are able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
1.0 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
3.3 mi away
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
9.0 mi away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,670 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,158 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing