We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and elegance are making this place special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 12, 2013

There are many 5 star hotels around the world and also in Phoenix. You probably know many of those. Good but also a bit superficial. A service that is smooth but not personal. Great for business trips, but when you are looking for something to share with your loved one you need something else. Go to the Royal Palms in Phoenix and you will get a 'lesson' in history of this estate and its developments through a century of evolution. The moment you arrive you experience SERVICE and that you are in a non-standard environment. You feel at home as the atmosphere is cosy throughout. The staff has more time for you and the conversations are relaxed instead of that hurry up feel in the chains. The rooms and restaurant are great. You not only have a bed to sleep but your entire body and mind will be relaxed when you leave. We sure will come back when in Phoenix.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

I sincerely thank you for the kind words about your recent stay. We pride ourselves on our personal service, attention to detail, and rich history throughout our historic estate, so it is simply great to hear you experienced all of this during your stay. We hope we are able to be your hosts once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
There are newer reviews for Royal Palms Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

873 - 879 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband & I visited the Royal Palms the end of October for a much needed stress-break. What a lovely, intimate hotel. Our Phoenix stays have been in larger, busier resorts--The Palms was a very nice change. The bell staff are so helpful and cheerful 24/7. The front desk reception was warm, welcoming and efficient. Concierge assistance provided us with fun, new ideas for meals and activities. By the end of just a few days we felt like family. Our amazing room was always promptly and thoroughly cleaned. Linens of good quality. The resort grounds are beautifully groomed and maintained. The pool is small, but we didn't mind. The surrounding gardens give it a cozy, secluded feel. And, the spa...loved it. Again not huge, but very well done and staff are very friendly. Truly a relaxing retreat. We especially enjoyed sharing a few minutes of late afternoon time with the bartenders at T Cooks. The daily drink specials were creative and fun. Had a memorable dinner at T Cooks as well. We appreciated the nudge to try the Royal Palms and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Many different types of rooms. I would definitely want to know specifics and location before choosi...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dentaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

We are so happy you were able to come relax at our landmark estate. We truly pride ourselves on service and attention to detail and are thrilled you were able to enjoy both of these. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Fiirst time staying at the Royal Palms, wife suprised me for my birthday with an overnight stay. Checked in early and hung out by the pool, pool is small and the Saturday we were there was packed, you are literally with the person next to you, had lunch at the pool which was good, the service around the pool was excellent. Stayed in a Valencia Casita, room was clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was a little odd, ped sink and the shower set up, it was also really quiet on that side of the resort. Overall we had a great time, the service was fantastic, it seemed as if the entire resort knew it was my birthday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golftraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

For several years we have been returning to the Royal Palms for a week of R&R in Phoenix. The quality and service are unfailingly excellent. We enjoy staying in the Valencia Casitas which are spacious and have a semi-private patio (or two). While there is really no need to ever leave the property, the nearby Arcadia neighborhood has a great selection of restaurants. Also, there are great running / walking trails nearby (the front desk has maps).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

It’s a pleasure to hear you keep returning here to the Royal Palms for your rest and relaxation! We hope to welcome you back next year, and for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited for a wedding returning after our last visit some 6 years ago. The property could easily be a five star, and still boosts stellar service.

Our room overlooked a fence and a woodpile out the window. Had we had a balcony room overlooking one of the pool areas it would have been much nicer, but given we were staying only two nights, we didn't feel like attempting to move for the one remaining night.

The room hallway in our building was dimly lit and the carpet is in need of replacement. Our room was also a bit dark - especially the shower area which felt like I was taking a shower at dusk and that is being kind.

The pool area is very nice, as are the grounds overall and was not overly crowded given its relatively small size and what appeared to be high occupancy. The service was good all around - this is one place the resort did not fall short.

The food was good, not great. Breakfast was ok, but not what you would expect for the price. The food at the wedding was fair at best. The fish was very dry and the appetizers were very average.

Fixing the hallways, upgrading the room lighting, and reducing the rates for rooms overlooking the walled fence and woodpile would bring this property squarely into the four star realm. For a five star rating it will take more significant room renovation in my view. In another town, I would give them four stars now - but given the price and competition, there are other options that are nicer very nearby.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank tworthyreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Though it always nice to hear the wonderful qualities about the Royal Palms Resort and spa, it is equally if not more important to hear the negative. As this is how we can continue to improve. I thank you for sharing your concerns and want to assure you we take comments like yours seriously. We will be looking into your concerns and look to make improvements in the future. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place is truly special.

The grounds are stunning. The location is perfect and the room we stayed in (one of the modern suites) was to die for. What made the trip though was the service we experienced at the pool and the incredible food we ate. I stay at five star hotels all over the world but the staff at this pool are incredible. I will and have returned since going to the Royal Palms....this place sets the bar for luxury hotels.

Well done.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My Wife and I travelled to Arizona from 12th - 24th October 2013. We spent the first week in Clifton and then 5 days at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa. The resort is set back off of Camelback Road, Scottsdale. The setting is an old style Villa with lots of space to sit back and just relax. There is a nice size pool which never seemed busy and we always had our pick of beds. The staff throughout our stay were very attentive and rarely did we need to ask for drinks etc. On our first nights stay we ate in the restaurant T Cooks. The service was excellent, a very good wine list and great food. I had Antelope and my Wife had Salmon, they were both cooked beautifully with options for extra side orders of vegetables. Our room was very clean and comfortable. A very spacious bed and large bath. What a very relaxing stay we had and I'd recommend this resort to anyone that wants that little extra that you don't get everywhere else. One of the highlights was a glass of red wine at the end of the evening by the fire pits. Top class,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenRadford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Your feedback is very important to our efforts to continuously improve guest satisfaction: we strive to do the best job we can, and comments like yours make it all worthwhile. Thank you for sharing this glowing review of our landmark property and we hope you are able to return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,723 reviews
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $228 - $757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing