We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Luxury & Comfort Combined” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 178 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Luxury & Comfort Combined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Luxury, serenity, great service, beautifully lush setting, and lovely accommodations make this a wonderful place to stay in the Scottsdale/Phoenix area. Our son and family had a spacious, well designed room near the pool that comfortably accommodated the three of them. My husband and I had a casita but were upgraded to a gorgeous villa (#121) after a plumbing problem in the casita's bathroom. It is important to note that the plumbing problem appeared to be due to some cables being laid on the public road and that we were graciously moved within minutes of reporting the problem. The villa had two large patios, one with a completely private outdoor shower. The bathroom had two sinks, claw foot tub, double rain shower, plenty of towels, full length mirror, digital scale, robes, slippers, and lovely bath products. The toilet and bidet were in a separate room. The large living room easily seated 5 and had a flatscreen TV, iPod doc, and CD player. The bedroom with king size bed had a round fireplace and flatscreen TV as well as charging stations on the nightstands. The wood and slate floors were comfortable and contributed to the open, clean feeling of the villa. Shutters on all of the windows and doors could be fully opened or closed to let in or block the light. For those who travel with a lot of baggage, there was a walk-in closet with safe. We had only one meal at Cervantes Bistro, the stand-in during the remodel of T. Cookes. The brunch was good with everything well prepared and beautifully served on an outdoor patio. Like most resorts, the brunch was expensive. We used the pool everyday. It was quiet (not really a children's pool) and well tended with options for shade, sun, or sun with mist. A small cafe serves drinks and light meals. In addition to the beautiful property and setting, every staff member was thoughtful, friendly, and helpful. The valets, bellmen, and reception staff went out of their way to see that our stay was a real vacation.

Room Tip: The villa (#121) was perfect. The casitas on the Arcadia side are about to undergo renovation, so re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
That was wonderful to read. Thank you so much for the detailed, thoughtful feedback from your recent stay with us, and taking the time to relay your experience. We will absolutely share your comments with our entire team and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon - to Royal Palms, as well as the soon-to-be "brand new" T. Cook's which debuts next month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    191
    65
    26
    13
See reviews for
177
646
57
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harvel, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got home today and couldn't wait to write a review of the Royal Palms! This is, hands down, the most enjoyable, relaxing and beautiful place you will ever visit. I am usually cautious of overly "glowing" reviews and have been burned a couple of times by exaggerated reviews. Honestly, this resort couldn't have been better. The staff were helpful but not clingy - they helped when you needed it and disappeared when you wanted time alone. The Phoenix-Scottsdale area wasn't much from a tourist perspective, but, you should visit and just spend your time at the Royal Palms - you can't go wrong. We plan on making this an annual trip - just to enjoy their establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MustLuvD0gs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We appreciate the positive feedback and are thrilled you couldn't wait to share everything with the world. Royal Palms strives to consistently provide top-tier and memorable service, comfort and experiences to all of our guests and are always happy to hear such great comments. We can't wait to welcome you back again very, very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Charming old world hotel, unique for Arizona, relaxing and charming. Very romantic, great for special occasions. We have stayed here 5 different times over a 10 year period. T. Cookes restaurant has great atmosphere. Location in Phoenix /Scottsdale is great, many nice restaurants in the area(car ride).
Our favorite hotel in Arizona

Room Tip: Villas and Casitas are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unbelievable76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your continued support over these many years, including your most recent stay with us - and, in our Presidential Villa! We love to roll out the red carpet for all of our guests - new and loyal - and are happy to learn you once again you enjoyed your experience. We cannot wait for your next visit to Royal Palms, and look forward to delivering those distinctive, memorable experiences that you've come to expect from us all these years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We flew in to Phoenix and stayed one night here before heading to the Grand Canyon. It was everything we expected after reading on here.
Pros: excellent location fairly close to airport and very close to Scottsdale. The rooms are very nice and the beds comfy. My family enjoyed the pool and we ate an excellent lunch poolside. It's a smaller boutique hotel, so don't expect the hustle and bustle of a larger hotel. Quiet and romantic. The service was impeccable.
Cons: can't think of any.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fischman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We love that you chose to stay with us on your recent voyage to the Grand Canyon! We know travelers have countless wonderful options when looking for memorable accommodations in the area and are always appreciative when Royal Palms is chosen. We will absolutely relay your comments to our team - they will once again be thrilled to learn we made such an impact, this time on your big Arizona adventure! Next time you're in the area, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Royal Palms - and this time, maybe even for a bit longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Royal Palms is our local intimate boutique hotel getaway for a quick night or two away. The highly personalized service and uniquely designed rooms are a part of the charm of this old world Phoenix style.

Our recent stay in a designer casita was a great early summer escape from the heat of AZ. The staff was attentive. Pool staff, food, and drinks were outstanding. We love the attention to detail at Royal Palms. The grounds are immaculate. The rooms are impeccable down to the last detail. The service prompt and professional. The Spa was quiet and staff was very attentive. Love having access to spa amenities even on the days when spa services are not purchased.

We'll continue our annual visits to Royal Palms and the one-of-a-kind gem it represents to the Valley of the Sun.

Room Tip: Get one of the designer casitas. They are all uniquely designed and reflect a flavor and style of th...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly and conscious of the impact on environment.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate the support - and kind words. We love that you continue to choose Royal Palms as your top staycation destination when you need to getaway and recharge - and yes, escape the warm Phoenix summers! We all cannot wait to welcome you back again, whether next summer or any other season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary on this last minute trip on a whim. The best whim ever! We stayed in a King Estate Room (Montevista).

This resort was a private hacienda/mansion in the 1920s.. Historical and gorgeous.

Service, service, and more service. EVERY staff member (front desk, valets, housekeeping, etc.) greets every guests any time they pass by.

Location perfect. Down the street from Scottsdale's Fashion Square, or can visit downtown Phoenix easily.

Rooms-the most comfortable beds, plenty of room, layout great, and colors/design/fabrics make a rich character-filled space. Five star.

The restaurant food and service for breakfast, dinners, and poolside was definitely 5 star. Two specifics: 1) An anniversary dinner we'd reserved was made extra special by the manager/hostess (?) who ON HER OWN bought rose petals to sprinkle all over our table before we arrived. (Who does that?!) 2) In response to our general questions about the area, our breakfast waiter shared an interesting history about the area, quickly came up with a couple of day itinerary options (off the top of his head), and then to find out about mesquite pod use (I know it sounds strange, but we'd experienced an amazing mixed drink at Kai restaurant with mesquite seeds in it), he brought over the head manager who came with printed computer pages of information and then added to it with his own knowledge. Are you kidding. (No.)

I could go on and on, but instead I will say this..we will be back for our next romantic getaway. This became an instant favorite. Can't wait to try the spa..ran out of time.

PS
Probably not a place for kids as there is one pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whoknewheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Happy Anniversary, once again! Royal Palms clearly "loves" romance and all of us here strive to provide those unparalleled, timeless memories guests will come to remember always. We are always excited to hear how people continue to choose Royal Palms for their romantic getaways, and your great feedback is another wonderful moment shared. Thank you for your detailed and thoughtful comments - hopefully we will see you again on your next anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I cannot think of a better word than exquisite! The attention to detail is what really impressed me, coupled with an absolutely beautiful garden, driveway, buildings, room, etc! I cannot find one single fault with this place, other than there are not similar hotels elsewhere!

The staff were extremely helpful and polite, there was free valet parking, I could go on all day. The pool area was beautiful, the bath in the room was huge, beds comfortable, food in the cafe was lovely. But what impressed me the most was the beautiful art works scattered around. Everywhere you looked was another really special nook.

We absolutely loved this place, and while we have no reason to go back to Phoenix, we would go back just to stay here. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with all of us at Royal Palms and love that you chose to share the feedback with the world! Your thoughtful comments will be shared with our entire staff, and we absolutely look forward to welcoming you back next time your on this side of the Pacific!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 4 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing