We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful resort that completely exceeded my expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Payson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A beautiful resort that completely exceeded my expectations!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This resort is beautiful. One of the best I have ever stayed at and the best I have stayed at in the greater Phoenix area. The staff are friendly and helpful and the room was very generously accommodated! Our particular room was on the 3rd floor and had easy access to the pool. The cabana staff were always ready with a pitcher of water even when you didn't realize you were empty.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Valencia Suite and it was perfect. Extremely close to the pool and restaurant. Beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    242
    93
    46
    20
See reviews for
211
765
71
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Thank you Tripadvisor, everything we read was correct. We were very pleased with the service during the stay. The room was very clean and quite. We loved the awesome coffee maker and the selection of tea and coffee. The mini bar is expensive, so stay away at all costs. After a short walk down Arcadia we found a supermarket where we were able to buy a bottle of wine, some cheese and a few other things to enjoy poolside without breaking the bank. There is also a $30 charge per day to cover tips, it's worth it if you decide to eat at the pool. We had a great time and would recommend staying here to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk_KC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Sadly just had one night in Phoenix at the Royal Palms, but it exceeded all expectations. Top notch, attentive staff, beautiful environment and fabulous place to unwind. The history of the property is evident throughout, but with every modern convenience you could imagine.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Jack, thank you for the kind words! Whether for just one night, or many nights, we sincerely enjoy hearing such feedback. Next time you're in the Phoenix area, we all cannot wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Paid $46.00 for two bowls of oatmeal and two cups of coffee. Be very clear about what you are ordering and what you are not ordering. Otherwise our stay was very pleasant. Quiet location. The staff were very pleasant. There is a $50 daily service fee that covers tips and Internet access.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solalogos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I chose this resort as it was the highest rated resort on TripAdvisor. My wife & I stayed 2 nights (using their 2nd night free promotion). We enjoyed this resort more than any other we have stayed in, in the world. The room was great, the grounds beautiful and the service fantastic. The pool was quiet and relaxing through the week and the temperature of the water was just right for a cold blooded Scotsman. We ate at the restaurant and the pool-side - great both times - great fish tacos! We decided to go out for breakfast one day - one of the valets suggested La Grande Orange on 40th St. - very good breakfast and eclectic atmosphere.
We moved to the Four Seasons in Scottsdale and my wife was mad that we moved (it was great too but in a different way).
Leave the kids at home .....................

Room Tip: 2nd floor balconies give good views of Camelback.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wandering_Wilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words, we are absolutely going to share your comments with our entire team. There are many great options for accommodations in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area when making your travel arrangements, and we are always humbled to know you chose Royal Palms - and, not to mention, enjoyed your experience so much! We also appreciate you taking a moment to share your thoughts with TripAdvisor - and the world. As you can now vouch, the value of such feedback is priceless and we thank you very much for your business. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon on your next visit to the United States and Arizona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

As other people have pointed out, this is a beautiful resort. We think it is a very quiet romantic getaway. It was excellent and the suite we had was very comfortable with a great patio. I would definitely agree that it is a 'boutique' style, and if you are looking for that it fits the bill. The grounds and all the facilities including the fitness room are all superior. I agree with several reviewers I would not recommend it for kids. The pool is indeed pretty small for a '5 star resort' which personally we liked except for the noisey kids that were present. We found the pool service excellent. We were very disappointed that the T Cooks restaurant was closed for remodeling. Nothing in our advance reservation through a 3rd party informed us of this. The Cervantez lounge back-up was good, but frankly not great, and certainly not a five star rating. It had the definite feel of a 'fill-in' replacement. Not even any draft beer. There are also some 'quirky' things about the hotel, maybe it was just our room but the sitting room had a futon type sofa that was really not very comfortable. While we like valet parking when we need it, we really like a 'self park' option, which was not available. The valet parking was included at no extra fee, and the valets were outstanding, so this helped. All in all we will be back, but only after T Cook's is re-opened.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BongoColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a romantic old world hotel. Very much a Mexican and Spanish architecture with beautiful gardens and water features through out. Very friendly team who try very hard to make every ones stay enjoyable. Only a few miles out of downtown Scottsdale where there are plenty of good restaurants and The Fashion Square mall. To go anywhere you must have a car.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a beautiful and quiet casita.
See more room tips
Green Features: They weren't really very obvious to me.there were bins marked for recycling .
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozziecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
1.0 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
3.3 mi away
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
9.0 mi away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,671 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#19 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,158 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing