We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Previously Mentioned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
miami
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Previously Mentioned”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Well I feel famous as I was mentioned in one of the reviews dated June 25, it's a small world. The Resort is absolutely gorgeous. The landscaping and architecture if you're into that is worth the stay. If you can put out the extra cash for the casitas, that is definitely the way to go. I was mentioned in the review because of my three teenagers, it was a family vacation. The reviewer was correct in that the pool was too quiet, and not very large, so I'm afraid my kids may have spoiled the romance a bit. I would not rate this a family place, I would love to return with my husband one day, but definitely don't recommend this to families, this is one you do as a couple. We found the restaurant tasty and the service in Cervantes very good. The pool service as was previously mentioned was lacking a bit. Fitness center was very nice as well. Jacuzzi was enjoyable. The rooms were beautiful, but with three children we had to get two rooms. Both were very nice, but like I said, go for the casitas.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank busybeemiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Great feedback and we also love that you were mentioned in a previous review! We appreciate the kind, honest words and value the time taken to relay them with us. Your comments have definitely been shared with the team. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    229
    89
    40
    16
See reviews for
201
726
68
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

WOW!!! from the minute you arrive the service is exceptional!!! we had a great room that was secluded and private. we started the day with a huge welcome from the reception team and then went off to the spa for a couples massage!!!! I never felt so relaxed!!!! Ok I had alot of tension but the spa releived that for me... the staff is so accomodating and the facility is prestine. The team Glorianna and Tom made sure every detail was takin care of. the massuer (forget their names) were so great and asked the right questions so we got the best massages...
Ok then we get to the pool and christine and the team are just amazing, from water service to some AMAZING margaritas and food !! watching them circle the pool was so great to see because you cant teach people hospitality they have to have it !! and then do!!! they have so much pride!!!
we cannot wait to go back because we are excited to see TCooks!!!
SHH!! dont tell everyone we found our new great hideway!!! Is it fall yet we need to come back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the very kind words Brendan! We are so happy that you chose Royal Palms for your getaway weekend, and even more-so that you enjoyed your experience so much. We will definitely share this feedback with our entire team, but especially with Glorianna and Tom and our spa team. They will each love to hear your feedback! Once again we sincerely value your support and can't wait to see you again at Royal Palms - whether at the resort, just Alvadora Spa or the "new" T. Cook's preparing for its big debut in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful resort, courteous staff, and excellent cuisine & spa. Awesome! Decor of resort is South European/1920s Southwest. Impeccably maintained. Beautifully manicured vegetation. Spa and pool area very relaxing. Staff were so nice to us and ready to please.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comtedegicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We appreciate the wonderful note, and you taking a moment to share the feedback of your experience. We all hope to welcome you back to Royal Palms again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are looking for a charming resort with excellent service, this is it! Perfection is in the details, and Royal Palms didn't disappoint. From the valet, to the concierge/reception desk, Christine out at the pool, and even housekeeping...everyone we met went out of their way to make sure our visit was relaxing and memorable. It is hard to find this level of service elsewhere, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay with us so much AJ! We will definitely share your feedback with our team - especially Christine at the pool! We can't wait to welcome you back to Royal Palms again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited this hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It exceeded our every expectation. Our room was large and secluded at the back of the property. We never heard or saw another guest while we were in our courtyard or room. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly; the valets, front desk, concierge, people working at the pool. So much attention to detail. The grounds are beautiful and kept immaculately clean. We also went to the spa for a couples massage and it was wonderfully relaxing. Would highly recommend staying at this property. We chose it because it was small and charming in the pictures. It did not disappoint.

Room Tip: We had a casita at the back of the property with a king size bed. Well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellovers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I flew from Boston to visit our youngest daughter, who is working in Tucson for part of the summer. We drove down to Phoenix for the weekend and chose the Royal Palms after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. The grounds are beautiful - tranquil and serene. The staff is magnificent - helpful, courteous, and "customer-service" oriented (I echo another reviewer's special "kudos" to Sandy at the front desk - she's great!). The room we were in was lovely. I would definitely stay here again - what a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I have been visiting the Royal Palms for the past 5 summers, and we will continue this tradition. The Royal Palms never disappoints on service, accomodations, or the tranquil beauty of this amazing resort. I cannot say enough good things about this place, it is like you are entering another world in AZ. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We love hearing comments like these! We are honored you chose Royal Palms as your romantic getaway, and are even more excited to learn we will see you again! Hopefully sooner rather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing