We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most amazing place...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most amazing place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I have been visiting the Royal Palms for the past 5 summers, and we will continue this tradition. The Royal Palms never disappoints on service, accomodations, or the tranquil beauty of this amazing resort. I cannot say enough good things about this place, it is like you are entering another world in AZ. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We love hearing comments like these! We are honored you chose Royal Palms as your romantic getaway, and are even more excited to learn we will see you again! Hopefully sooner rather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    223
    83
    39
    15
See reviews for
197
713
67
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Hard to put into words just how spectacular this property is. My wife and I have been to many "luxury" resorts, both in the US, as well as throughout the world. And this resort simply put, blows them all away!
From the beautifully appointed suites; to the service of all the staff; to the wonderful culinary options. ... this place is top notch! Conveniently located in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area, Sedona, Tuson, and many other points of interest are easily accessible.
We can't wait to plan our next trip to this wonderful resort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Royal Palms. The accommodations were terrific, the pool was relaxing and family friendly, and the location was terrific - very close to Old Town Scottsdale. I'd recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, upgrade to one of the executive suites. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travels_w_family813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
235 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I spotted this place on an ad for a promotional special and jumped on it. The reviews are all excellent so I was pretty confident it would live up to its reputation - and it did. It is an older resort but is well maintained and the feeling is old time Spanish. Rooms are very nice with renovated bathrooms and nice decoration. The valet guys are fantastic,very friendly and very efficient. From the moment you pull up, you are treated well. I ate in the bar area and had a steak sandwich which was excellent. I have just a couple of minor issues and they are with the housekeeping staff. Why is it that no one vacuums under items like an armoire which sits a good 8" off the floor? There was a thick, noticeable layer of dust under both the desk and armoire, which should not happen in a place like this. Also a lovely toenail clipping lying on the carpet right next to the bed. Not cool. That aside, we could not have been happier. The bed was super comfy, internet service without a hitch, and fully stocked mini-bar. Our room was number 327 which was overlooking a reflecting pool area and had a view of Camelback mountain. The whole feeling here is relaxing and the atmosphere is wonderful. We are anxiously counting the days until our next visit.
I think the housekeeping staff should be forced to vacuum under the armoire, bed and desk once a week. A resort of this level should have top notch housekeeping management - I think this one needs a little shake-up. Still though, I would visit this place in a heartbeat.
I would have given it a solid five stars were it not for the dust and the toenail.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTBlount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Everything is true that they say about this hotel. Yeah it is THAT beautiful and the service is THAT good. We have travelled a lot, and never had this little to complain about :) Good value as well with the summer discount. Food a bit pricey, but then again I think that everything is organic nd sourced locally.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to really say anything negative about the 4 days my family and I spent at this resort. The grounds are beautiful with lots of old world charm. We loved the little benches and gardens throughout and these were especially enjoyable in the evening as it cooled off a little. The pool is nice and they have an attendant who brings you cold lemon water, towels, and anything else you may need. They will know you by name. As part of the $30 daily resort fee there is vaket parking. The valet attendants are great with offering directions and recommendations. There are times you would like to just get something out of your car without having to go to the valet. The rooms are very nice, we had the standard estate room. It was extremely spacious and clean. The one thing lacking in the room was a small refrigerator. It would have been nice to have somewhere to keep some cold drinks in the Phoenix heat.
I would highly recommend this resort for couples but lacks some of what you might be looking for if you are traveling with younger kids.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtlmosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay at the Royal Palms as a first stop on our road trip.We have stayed in Scottsdale before but over looked this hotel as it is listed in Phoenix, however it is a stones throw from the PHX /Scottsdale boundary just near the Phoenician( where have stayed before). This hotel is as near to perfect as can be.The rooms are very very comfortable, we had a spa room which we could have lived in it was so nice and spacious. The staff make the resort stand out.From the front reception to the pool staff to the valet lads, all were exceptional. A special mention to Sandy in reception, who made our stay so special. This is without doubt the best hotel we have stayed in, its not flash but very classy.A perfect retreat in the sun. Not suitable for anyone with children in my opinion, due to the calm atmosphere and lack activities. This will be our first stop when we return. Fabulous.

Room Tip: Try for a spa suite located in the inner court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us Anthony! We love that you chose Royal Palms during your road trip through town and hope to see you again, next time you're in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. We will definitely share this with our entire team, including Sandy, who will love hearing your feedback! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing