We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet hotel on Phoenix/Scottsdale border.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our vacation at the Royal Palms. We were very impressed with the concierge, who offered excellent recommendations for horseback riding, restaurants, and tourist attractions. The staff was extremely friendly and willing to assist us in any way possible.
The grounds are gorgeous. There were lots of flowers and trees. It was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The fire pits and fire places added nice ambiance to the hotel. Additionally, the pool and jacuzzi area is clean and relaxing.
The spa is intimate. I was often able to relax by the fireplace or jacuzzi without distractions. The steam room is nice, but doesn't smell of eucalyptus.
We highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a quiet, quaint hotel without the hustle and bustle of a chain hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to be by the pool or spa, try to stay in the Alvadora building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redhart23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to Royal Palms on your next visit to Phoenix!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chose to stay one night at the Royal Palms to hold a romantic, intimate elopement ceremony (just us, the pastor, and our two witnesses). We knew it would be a nice place to get married, but oh my! We were expecting "very nice" but found sheer perfection in both the venue and resort services. I had booked a Designer Casita for one night (it was the nicest room we could reasonably afford), and we were planning to get married on the casita patio at sunset. We were surprised and pleased when the reservation agent upgraded us to one of the most private casitas for the occasion. But it got even better. I talked with Jenna (guest services coordinator) a few days prior to our stay.The hotel was not very occupied the week before Christmas, and Jenna surprised--shocked--us by booking us into the Camelback Villa, a $1700 per night, 900+ square foot, very private residence-type villa. We had no idea she'd done so until the valet opened the door to our "room" and we found ourselves in the lap of true luxury! I could not imagine a more perfect place to say our vows than in front of the huge outdoor kiva fireplace on the Villa patio at sunset. The hotel provided complimentary champagne and chocolates, and thanks to a current promotion we received a complimentary breakfast at T. Cook's (I highly recommend the Mediterranean Eggs Benedict) PLUS a $25 toward a purchase at Alvadora Spa. Thanks so much to Jenna and the wonderful staff at Royal Palms for making this a truly romantic experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Congratulations and thanks for allowing Royal Palms to be part of your big day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Royal Palms Resort for three nights in December 2012, and we had a lovely visit. The resort property is absolutely gorgeous - small enough to feel like a boutique-style hotel, yet large enough to offer a variety of amenities to its guests. We stayed in a Valencia King Suite. The room had three separate areas - a living room complete with a table and couch, a large bathroom with two sinks and a tub, and a bedroom area. Wi-fi was free and the connection was spotless in our room. The beds were incredibly comfy.

From a room standpoint, the only reasons we could not give our rating five stars were a few housekeeping issues and the bathroom. We found quite a few food crumbs in our room, which is not something we would expect from a five-star hotel. Also, the door to the toilet would not close properly. We really had to tug on the handle to close the door. These are just small complaints, as our stay was enjoyable overall.

T. Cooks provides guests with a wonderful happy hour - don't miss out on the wine and food. The gym is also spotless with two treadmills and an elliptical trainer. Additionally, the one thing that really stood out to me most was the valet drivers. They were incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our stay. From a personal preference standpoint, I like to visit hotels that are within walking distance to attractions (i.e., hiking, shopping, restaurants, etc.). Although the Royal Palms has a great restaurant, there is really nothing else within walking distance from the hotel (aside from a quick walk up some side streets if you want a little exercise). The main shopping area for Scottsdale is about a 5-10 minute drive, and a great hike up the Cholla Trail is a five-minute drive away as well. I don't think this should deter anyone from staying at the hotel, but it's worth a mention.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B.G._Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Royal Palms. We greatly appreciate your insights and will use them to improve our service. We hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to Phoenix!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at the Royal Palm before Christmas, it was magical with Christmas decorations. I called and requested a certain area in the resort that we wanted to stay and received the perfect quiet location I asked for with reservations. My only complaint for the 5 days we stayed here would have been with the lady who took our reservations on the Saturday 14th for evening meal at T Cooks. She told me there was nothing left except for at 5:30 pm, asked me what my address was(duh, we were staying with them) . When we got to the restaurant we were put in a very dark room near the kitchen, and ate in a totally empty dark room for the next hour. Several couples asked to be changed to a different room when they came in. We didn't complain but I think it would have been nice to be seated in a nice area with a view. Needless to say, we ate elsewhere for the rest of our stay there. Need to place paying hotel guests in the best seating area, that's my opinion

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and concerns with us. We appreciate that you have many choices when it comes to resorts in Scottsdale and we will use your constructive criticism to refine our services, especially in the restaurant as you noted. We hope that you will revisit us on your next vacation to Phoenix and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I recently proposed to my girlfriend at the Royal Palms and could not have had a better experience. Everyone there is so friendly and inviting, you can't help but have a great stay. They went above and beyond to make sure that my proposal was perfectly set up and were always there to help. Thank you so much for making this an amazing day!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Congratulations on your upcoming nuptials and thank you for making Royal Palms part of your love story! We'd be thrilled to be considered as a reception location for your wedding and we look forward to helping you celebrate many momentous occasions for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I am not sure I can add much to the reviews here. We stayed in a Valencia Casita, quiet private room at the back of the pool area in lovely gardens, with a private patio. Our room had a shower, 4 poster bed, fireplace with gas fire, seating area, desk, dressing area. The room was kept spotless with service twice a day. The resort is probably better for couples than families with children. The grounds are beautiful and there are plenty of places to sit and enjoy a drink or relax. The pool area though small is spacious enough and there were always sunbeds. The hot tub is very warm!. There is a small gym at the pool area. We ate at T Cooks one evening which felt like a special occasion, There are some very good restaurants in Phoenix, but the location makes this special, we sat outside at the back kept warm with a fire and patio heaters. The best thing about the resort is the customer service. The car valets, reception, pool staff are all first class.
The spa was very good, comparable to anything I have had in other 5 star hotels, and the facilities were good. The bar was nice for a drink or snack, and had live music some evenings.
There were some private and corporate events on but nothing detracted from our stay.
Location to the south side of Camelback mountain and accessed off Camelback road was very convenient for golf, shopping (the hotel is mid way between the Biltmore Mall and the Fashion Mall) and easily accessed from the airport. Tip if you are shopping try the new Tanger Mall at Glendale by the football stadium. If you are there for golf and want somewhere relaxed and friendly try the Silverado Municipal course at Scottsdale, clubs can be hired.
Put it this way, I am sure we will be visiting Phoenix again and I cant see us staying anywhere other than the Royal Palms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequenttraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you very much for the kind words and excellent feedback on your recent stay! We can't wait to welcome you back to Phoenix on your next trip. Until we meet again, be safe and enjoy a Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a charming hotel, and the restaurant and bar just ooze style. This being said, I have eaten at many top restaurants internationally, and the food in the restaurant wasn't as good as I had hoped for.
The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was comfortable. I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Royal Palms for your recent Phoenix vacation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed along your comments to our managers so that we may continue to improve our offerings throughout the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,753 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $292 - $814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing