We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Oasis”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a delightful change from the large, cold, stark, modern boutique hotels that I've frequented lately. Wonderful staff and a very peaceful environment. Throughout the property, there was a relaxed, spa-like tranquility. I wouldn't recommend it for a guys golf weekend nor a crazy girls weekend, but for a romantic get away, it was perfect! The furnishings and decor are very eclectic but perfectly suited to a Spanish casita. The happy hour prices were a delightful surprise for such a high end resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Warmth and romance is definitely a feel we are striving for throughout our property, so it was a pleasure to read your review! Thank you for your kind words, they are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    241
    92
    46
    19
See reviews for
208
752
71
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I do love this resort. You will, too, if you visit. It captures the best of the Arizona.
The staff and amenities easily achieve a 5-Star rating, but without the pretense. You're in perfectly refined luxury, while still feeling completely comfortable. The resort has a certain sense of authenticity that leads to a feeling of easiness and comfort. Dining is fine. Amenities are appropriate. Rooms and exterior spaces are exceptional.

Room Tip: You MUST stay in the separate units. (Not sure what they're called.) They have their own porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and gave us such a wonderful review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a helpful tip for those guests looking for a patio, our casitas are truly special to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have been coming here for hubby's birthday weekend for 6 years and every time we think maybe we should try some place new we fall in love again with Royal Palms. This year we had the perfect casita in the Valencia section back behind the pool. What I liked most was that we had a very private patio location so that no one would be walking by unless they were coming to our room. The rooms as always are very comfortable and relaxing.

We enjoyed our time by the pool and although our favorite pool attendant, Jose, who had waited on us for years was no longer there, the current staff took very good care of us. Also, our dinner at T-Cook's was fabulous. The head chef who had been there for years had just left the day before for another venture so we were a little concerned but the meal was outstanding as always. Hubby always enjoys his special request of chicken liver appetizers and I loved the slow roasted lamb.

Room Tip: I prefer the Valencia section which is closer to the pool but not closer to the street like the Mont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trmwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are so pleased you chose to spend your husband’s birthday with us again this year and we hope this is a continued tradition! I’m glad you found our pool to still be what you had remembered even though Jose had embarked on a new adventure. Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This property makes you feel as if you're in Spain. It is one of a kind, unique, clean and EXCELLENT staff! T. Cook's Restaurant is one of the best restaurants I've ever dined. I absolutely love how it is different from your typical 5 star property. The Royal Palms Resort & Spa is where you will stay if you want 5 star luxuries with a welcoming appeal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leogirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
It’s wonderful to hear that you felt transported to Spain and had such a great dining experience at our beautiful restaurant T. Cook’s. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to the Royal Palms and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Scottsdale is a wonderful destination ... & staying at the Royal Palms Resort & Spa is the icing on the cake!... The service Level ... the facilities ... the Staff... it is all 5 Stars ***** .... Overall when you stay at the Royal Palms Resort & Spa you are treated like royalty from the moment you drive on to the property.

Room Tip: Make sure you eat at T J Cooks ... the restaurant on site ... it is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdgtemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It is so wonderful to hear such an amazing review! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and the Trip Advisor community know about your stay with us. We hope you are able to return in the furture!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We checked in for four night around 8pm. After asking about a room with a view, we were told that a "very special suite" had been reserved for us. The room was all the way in the back, and hardly any natural light. It was like living in a cave. Because it was so late, we stayed in it that night but had to jump through hoops the next day to get a decent room. Just like at a restaurant when the hostess first tries to seat you at the worst table in the room unless you ask to be reseated. Absolutely ask to see the room first. Room quality varies alot. Its rather expensive and we feel like we were really taken advantage of the first night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank napolicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I am so sorry this was your experience with us here at the Royal Palms. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations, and this was clearly not the case. I sincerely hope you are able to come stay with us again, so we are able to leave you with the impression we work towards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Please note that the lack of a 5th star is not a negative reflection on the Royal Palms as much as my belief that 5 stars represents the pinnacle of luxury accommodations. If I could I would have given the resort a 4.25 or 4.5 star review.

To me a 5 star resort needs to combine amazing and elegant accommodations (maintained that the highest level), service that anticipates needs and surprises me with thoughtfulness, amenities that are above and beyond the typical Hyatt or W and has food that is consistently outstanding. In other words, there are few 5 star resorts that are not charging more than $500 per night.

The Royal Palms is a lovely, small boutique hotel with very good service and amenities and we enjoyed our stay there.

I will start with the few small negatives, none of which would stop me from visiting again.

1. Room Size: We stayed in a Montavista Room. It was on the small size. There was almost no furniture with drawers to put your clothes and no room between the furniture and the bed to move around. The room was nicely furnished and in good repair. The bathroom, however, was very nice, with a 2 person jacuzzi, separate shower and separate water closet, so some of the space from the room was allocated to the bathroom.

2. No Scald Free Showerheads: They have been putting scald free showerheads in homes for the last 20 years. It is surprising that in a hotel which clearly has been renovated in the last 10 years that there is no anti-scald valve. The shower itself was lovely with a large rain type shower head, however, I was forced to move out of the water flow literally every 45 seconds to avoid being scalded when someone in the hotel would flush their toilet or turn on the cold water thereby reducing the cold water pressure in my shower. Ouch! Such a small (and inexpensive) item but one that had an outsize effect.

3. Occasional Staff Shortages: First let me note that with rare exception, every employee I dealt with was pleasant and helpful. There just may not be enough of them. We were there the week of October 29 to November 3. Given the cooler weather (and that that I was given the indication the property was full when I asked if we could get a room with a view of Camelback Mountain and told they were unavailable) I would expect that they would have additional staff to handle the people. On numerous occasions when I contacted room service the call got transferred to the front desk. I was always contacted back within 10 minutes or less so it was not a major hassle but again, it is the small things that matter and those that elevate a property to true 5 star category.

4. Concierge Hours: I was not sure if there was a concierge working in the evenings. Occasionally we went to ask a question and got someone at the front desk in the evenings. Most of the top hotels have concierges until late in the evening.

5. The modest size of the rooms (at least those near the courtyard) can be a problem if you hate smoke. Although there is no smoking in the rooms, people will often smoke on their patios or in the courtyard. Their smoke wafts into your space. Since the patios are so nice to have a meal on (as are the areas near the fire pits at night) this can be a downer. They really need to make it a non-smoking property, although I know that is difficult.

6. Wifi is poor. I have no problem with the resort fee but if you are going to charge me for wifi, it should be consistently strong everywhere on the property. It was poor almost everywhere and the signal went in and out even when you stayed in the same place. And please do not get me started on why hotels charging over $300/night charge for wifi when Hampton Inns do not for $100 per night.

A note more than a criticism. This hotel seeks conventions and weddings. While we were there there was at least one business meeting and one wedding. The business meeting was quiet and they were professionals. Just be advised that the pool changed dramatically from Monday to Friday. All of the people were nice enough but it is a small pool. While we felt like kings on Monday with maybe 10-15 people at the pool, the pool staff was stretched thin with a full hotel on Friday with chairs being at a premium.

Now the good:

1. This is a very nice, peaceful smaller hotel (although be aware that it is on a main road when choosing your room and some rooms are noisier than others). Be advised that the Phoenician is a large, Las Vegas style hotel not far by. We had dinner there one night and it is impressive. Its pool area is about the size of the Royal Palm. I have no doubt that it is a nice place but I prefer a more intimate place that does not require a bus pass to go to the pool. At the Royal Palms everything is close by.

2. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Lonnie the concierge was very pleasant and helpful and the young lady at the pool (as well as the other pool personnel were very nice).

3. The spa is pleasant and you can use the sauna and jacuzzi without charge.

4. The pool staff is great constantly keep you hydrated with lemon scented water (free), moving the umbrellas as necessary (free) and bringing you very good food when requested (typical hotel cost). Although the cafe and room service adds a standard 20% tip (which may irk some) I had no problem because I would have given them that size tip anyway. Always service with a smile.

5. T. Cooks is a wonderful restaurant and room service was of high quality. Everything is made in house and the food really stands out as one high points of the hotel.

6. Valets were helpful and could give directions to almost anywhere.

7. Housekeeping staff kept the room clean and well stocked and they have nice smelling toiletries.

8. The room was pretty quiet. There was a little noise (not a ton) from people above us so if you are sensitive, ask for 2nd floor room.

9. The hotel was aware we were there for an anniversary trip and gave us a lovely bottle of champagne and a fruit and desert tray our first night. Nice touch.

So this is a nice property and I would not hesitate to recommend it. Just consider when you will be coming, pick the right room (mountain views are wonderful but hard to come by) and watch out for the shower. Also, make the time for a day to go to Sedona. It was a very picturesque trip with wonderful scenery.

Room Tip: Get the Spa Rooms for the view and ask for a second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roblaw_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Royal Palms Resort and Spa. As you, we too feel it is the small details that truly make your stay. So we greatly appreciate the feedback you were able to give us. We hope next time you are in the area you are able to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
1.0 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
3.3 mi away
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
9.0 mi away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,651 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
1.1 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#18 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing