We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampering in Phoenix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at the Royal Palms Resort and Spa for three nights while attending a business conference held at the hotel. I had a large room with a patio set in the beatifully landscaped grounds of the hotel. Appointments in the room well all of high quality and the bathroom included a soaking tub as well as a shower. All of the staff from the porters to the front desk and all of the service people were friendly and efficient. Our meals at the conference were catered by the hotel and all were quite good. The spa on the grounds was a delightful interlude that included a professional massage. The hotel is less than a half-hour from the airport but its setting at the base of Camelback mountain is worlds away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarpeNox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps on a vacation or leisure trip. Scottsdale offers many wonderful opportunities to experience the beautiful Sonoran Desert!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
There are newer reviews for Royal Palms Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

I just returned from 4 days at Royal Palms. We were there to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Royal Palms was the perfect location. When we arrived our room was ready. I had also preordered champagne, fruit and chocolates for our arrival. We were taken to a room that someone was already in. No one is perfect but the sign of a great resort is how they handle mistakes. Within 5 minutes we were in our Valencia Casita, with Champagne, fruit, and chocolates. I received a call apologizing for the inconvenience and the champagne etc, will be taken care of.

The grounds are incredible. The staff is ready to help with everything.

The resort has a $30 charge per day. This includes gratuities (you can still tip). Great idea!

I booked a private dinner in the bell tower. This was a surprise for my wife. The stairs up to the tower were covered in rose petals. There were candles along the way. At the top the was a beautiful table covered with rose petals, and candles. There was beautiful music as well. It was the perfect evening.

The pool area is small but perfect for the size of the resort.

Here are some tips on things to see. Drive the Apache Trail to Tortilla Flat. Beautiful drive. Have lunch at the Superstition Saloon. Great atmosphere, great chili.

Take a day (leave by 7am) and drive to Grand Canyon. It is unbelievable. It is an incredible sight.

On the return head to Sedona. Take the 89AZ instead of 17. What a spectacular drive. Sedona is a very nice place.

Royal Palms is more for couples.

Thank you to all the staff for making our 20th anniversary special.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Valencia Casita. View a map online and pick your room location. Avoid rooms near the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for honoring us with the choice of the Royal Palms for your special celebration. We'd also like to thank you for allowing us to recover from our initial misstep with your amenity pre-order. The goal is to get things right the first time, but as you correctly note, mistakes do happen from time to time and it is all in how one gracefully recovers and moves forward to improvement. Your tips on the Grand Canyon day trip (truly a must-see) and especially the little known drive up Highway 89A through Oak Creek Canyon on the way to Flagstaff are invaluable. This route is especially beautiful in Fall!

Our sincere thanks and congratulations again on your 20th wedding anniversary. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A beautiful hotel, that accommodated our needs. We arrived quite early, and the staff allowed us to use and enjoy the spa and pool before checking into the hotel. The valet car service was friendly and very prompt. The room was lovely and comfortable. The location was perfect not to far from airport and a short drive to hike Camelback. Overall, I felt there wasn't one thing I would change on my trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate it! We are fortunate to have such a beautiful location in the heart of Phoenix/Scottsdale but we are only as good as our staff and the service they provide. We have shared your comments with them and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

To be greeted "Welcome home" by both Bell Capt and Front Office Manager Hilary makes every difference to our year on year return to the Royal Palms.
There have been significant staffing changes to key posts within the resort since our last visit; we were a little apprehensive as to what we should expect. Pool side, our trepidations were allayed by Matt and Christine and Brian who have carried on, and to some extent exceed the poolside excellence once offered by Jose.The Bell boys are all well mannered "characters"; nothing is too much for them - Hard working lads!
Our suite had been tastefully refurbished; was comfortable, well serviced and had delightful views of the Camelback Mountain. Loved the hammock swing between two royal palms outside our patio.
We have on this, and other occasions had to remind house keeping to ensure that after servicing the room to, close ALL doors. Although this is a very safe property; it is in a desert location and unwanted insect/reptilian visitors may gain access!
Sadly the restaurant and bar have lost key characters: Jason the Bar chef and Chef Lee. This sort of reflected in the lack lustre atmosphere of both the bar and T. Cooks restaurant. The menu appeared to be paired down and lacked originality. The bar on the three occasions we drank there was a little lifeless and on a Monday, depended on a theme night to make it happen — not. Week ends were busier and the entertainment provided brought back some of the old atmosphere.
As this is a historic hotel property - A refurb programme is often in progress; the gym/fitness suite is bigger and much improved.The patio cloister have been re tiled. More work is planned for 2013. Best to check with the hotel for updates prior to booking, therefore minimising any disruption to what we still feel is our Scottsdale home
Thank you Hilary - If you go so do we!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book a casita suite
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANDI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the insights from your recent stay at Royal Palms Resort and Spa with the Tripadvisor community. We have shared your feedback with our staff and will use it to improve our service and offerings. We have some big shoes to fill with the recent departure of Chef Hillson but we are confident that we will earn your approval on your next visit to T. Cook's!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Arizona. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we may be of assistance with travel for your friends or family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed one night after a hiking trip in Sedona. We wanted to end the trip with a relaxing, comfortable stay near the airport. This fit the bill. We stayed in a designer casita and there were private outdoor spaces at the front and back of the room. We loved the layout of the room and bathroom and took pictures so we could remember it when we design our next home. We got in a few hours early and lucked into an early check in. Enjoyed lunch in the restaurant, spent the afternoon having cocktails and enjoying the pool, then had appetizers and drinks at the bar. I did find the bed a little soft but for one night it was not an issue. The resort fee includes all tips except the spa and restaurant, service everywhere was exceptional. I'm looking forward to a return visit some day.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Champagneandcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Wonderful news! We love receiving feedback like yours. Rest assured that we will be delighted to welcome you back to the Royal Palms Resort and Spa on your next visit to Phoenix!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Excellent staff, personal touches (ice water with lemon within seconds of taking a chaise at the pool), gorgeous grounds, fountains, flowers, hummingbirds, property was originally an estate built in the 20's and retains the style and feel. The pool isn't large but its lovely and the service throughout the hotel is personal but not intrusive. I had a smiple double room which was roomy with a large bathroom, huge separate tub, nice tiled shower (although the water temperature was erratic), internet was reliable, decor in keeping with style of hotel, slightly old world quaint, with modern amenities, although TV and game consoles could use upgrades according to my college student son. One of the outlets in my room didn't work so I had to work around charging my phone and computers a bit, but the postives about this place well override these small invconveniences. Once I was seated outdoors in a smoking area (bar I guess) when I visited the restaurant for dessert--this was not a pleasant experience although the setting was gorgeous. I am sure I would have been accommodated had I asked to move, which I didn't bother to do. The place has a personal feel to it that you do not get in a mega hotel and I would definitely stay again. Coffee at breakfast is $5, but you get a potful and cloth napkins in a garden setting, and the waiters are attentive and pleasant. The croissants are exemplary, the egg white frittata very good, and the fresh berries on the oatmeal are generous.

Room Tip: 201 overlooks parking lot, but is very close to pool--no complaints.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the insights from your recent stay at Royal Palms Resort and Spa with the Tripadvisor community. We have shared your feedback with our staff and will use it to improve our service and offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Arizona. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we may be of assistance with travel for your friends or family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in Alvadora Spa room. Beautiful hotel and accommodations, spectacular staff, very personal experience. All staff greeted us by name, wished us happy anniversary, attended to every detail - from iced lemon water poolside, to quick valet service. Surprised us with champagne and fruit/chocolate plate wishing us Happy Anniversary. Excellent view of camelback mountain, beautiful grounds within resort (flowers, fountains, seating areas). Pool area great - plush lounge chairs with views of Mtn. Completely happy with our experience and would highly recommend it. Great location on Camelback only a couple miles from Scottsdale Fashion Square shopping/dining area. Central location to travel to many different hiking locations.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor for better views of Camelback Mtn.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJH1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Director of Sales at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for selecting the Royal Palms for your anniversary vacation and for the excellent feedback on your recent stay with us. We look forward to being your home away from home in Phoenix for many more years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,721 reviews
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#22 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $228 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing