We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area
Ranked #126 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is okay is some aspects but not very good in others ... it's noisy during the night and also the recepcionist that stays in the night is just terrible and treats you as trash, he got better though after I asked for the e-mail to send feedback of the hotel (kind of weird). The other recepcionists are fine and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CristianeCristiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Sorry for the inconvenience of the night receptionist's behavior and the noise that was due to a family with small children. Our goal is to make you happy. Go Happy Go HoJo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 462 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank RUTUL S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are on a budget this Motel would be serviceable, however it is certainly not a hotel. Staff is friendly and the room is clean however building is terribly outdated. The safe did not work and the sink barely drains. The heater cooler unit is quite loud even on low. However if I had left it running all night I might not have heard as much of the exterior noise. The problem with a motel is that you can hear the cars in the parking lot, the cars on the street, the train at 5am, and the helicopters at 6am. Do not expect cable or a fitness room.
But like I said if you are on a budget and this is what you can afford it is perfectly clean and very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBPAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had great experience at this motel. The airport shuttle comes to this motel every hour or per their request at the reception. Excellent motel to airport transportation survice. Bus stop is right out side across the motel. Affordable rooms and excellent room survice.Neat and clean rooms with free internet. Breakfast area was open right on time and it was clean. Excellent customer care at the reception area and the staff was very helpful. The train station is also nearby to go to downtown and other areas. I had to go to Phoenix every weekend for three weeks and I never thought about going to any other motel. There was an Indian gentleman and another lady at the reception who were excellent. I would recommend this motel again and again based up on my experience.

Room Tip: The rooms at this motel were excellent. My room had microwave, coffee maker, iron with iron table, f...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RShah4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place is one of the best hotels in Phoenix. They have hot breakfast every morning, free 24 hour airport service, and best of all nice, clean rooms. The customer service I received was excellent and the receptionists were very helpful and knowledgable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Phoenix area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I want to say first off staff was friendly and accomadating my room was clean and smelled like oranges I loved the restroom clean my kids had fun at breakfast with the make ur own waffles eggs and potatoes were fresh they also had cereal juice and coffee overall I would totally reccomended this hotel to everyone traveling

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandolero2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you. Go hojo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

upon arrival are room wasnt even ready as promised, it smells like death, the front door has a huge gap in it, theres stains on the carpet, the tv is out dated and dont get me started on the bathroom. As I was getting the kids ready for bed a huge cockaroach was crawling on the wall by the fridge ugh! These people will never get my money again and I have nothing nice to say about it either.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monkeylover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Our rooms are cleaned and aired out and freshened. All rooms assigned are ready and set for all our customers so that all feel comfortable during their stay with Howard Johnson. We also spray our rooms every month to avoid an bug infestations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Econo Lodge Airport
#84 of 174 in Phoenix
426 reviews
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Sleep Inn Airport
#113 of 174 in Phoenix
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area

Address: 4120 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range: $59 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Airport Downtown offers free 24 hour shuttle service to and from Sky Harbor International Airport, free 24h. shuttle to from Airport. which is less than a mile away, and is located three miles from downtown Phoenix, Tempe and Scottsdale. For your pleasure, there is an outdoor pool with relaxing lounge area. Guests can enjoy a complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast from 4:00am until 9.00am. Our wonderful breakfast consists of "Make Your Own Waffles", 3 types of Kellogg Cereal, 2 types of Minute Maid Juices, fresh fruit, Maxwell House fresh coffee, & much more......The hotel Business Center has fax and copy capabilities as well as a computer and printer, and complimentary wireless high speed internet. The hotel offers ice and vending machines, free parking, free 1-800 calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Airport Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Ramada Hotel Phoenix
Ramada Motel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing