We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phoenix place is the place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown
Ranked #77 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Clean great customer service an a great value amenities are well kept and the staff is fantastic. Definitely will say again. Pool is kept clean and family friendly. My room was a suite with a great air conditioning system huge bathroom and a comfy bed and I can't ask for more.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdnavyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 989 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spend 2 nights at the Phoenix Place Hotel & Suites for a event that we needed to attend and the D-backs vs Rockies baseball game at Chase Field. We really loved this hotel Why? Because it was close to Chase Field and you can take the Metro to the ballpark.

Some people stayed here because they went to go watch the Diamondbacks vs. Colorado Rockies... They were really happy that they won on Friday & Saturday Night... Right after the game a lot of people were checkin in late after the game Friday Night and there was also Fireworks Friday at the ballpark.



We were going to be on the 2nd floor and I called them back and told them "Can we get the 5th floor instead of the 2nd floor". The front desk said "That's fine". We got to the hotel right after the game was over at 10:45 15 minutes to 11pm and the girl said "Your room is READY!". Our room was Room 541 on the 5th floor. Some people stayed here for the baseball game, because it started to get completely booked.

Our room was really nice. It had a Deluxe Room with 2 beds, Microwave, Refrigator and it had a pretty huge LG Flat-Screen TV with many many channels from CBS, NBC ,ABC ,FOX and 3TV Phoenix to the TV Guide Channel which they did not have it was a fuzzy black & white picture Oh Well!!!

The breakfast buffet was really good but there's was not a lot of people on Saturday but on Sunday, A lot of people eating and watching the Wimbledon on ESPN. It had Scrambled Eggs, Sausage, Biscult & Gravy, Fruits, Orange Juice, Apple Juice, Potatoes, Milk but no Coffee Oh Well again!!!

We really loved the swimming pool because the water was warm!!! We really loved this hotel because it is close to the ballpark and you can take the Metro from Second Ave, to Jefferson St.
We are definitely going to come back again and stay here whenever we go to a Arizona Diamondbacks game. The next time when we come back where are we going to stay?
Right here at the Phoenix Place Hotel & Suites because it is just a couple of miles away to the Chase Field Ballpark... I would give this one a SUPER EXCELLENT because this is a really good hotel!!! Thank You Very Much for your hospitality!!! We will see you soon!!!

Room Tip: "Higher floors are large and sunny" "Rooms on the 5th floor are much nicer than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick31210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I am going back and forth if this is a 3 or 4 rating. I went with a 4 rating because I would definitely stay here again.
The hotel was formally a Radisson so it has some really good things going for it.
The pool is great and the grounds are nice as well. the staff was helpful and the room was clean.
There is ample parking available which is free.
the downside is that the hotel needs some TLC in areas. some of the renovations are a little cheap, but nothing terrible. The beds are the sleep by number. Mine didn't work at first and I needed maintenance to come in and fix it. It is strange if you have never used a sleep number, not sure if I liked it or not to be honest.
all in all I would stay here again on my next visit to Phoenix, the price is very fair and the room is clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaronMIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our not-for-profit organization used the Phoenix Place Hotel and Suites for our annual 3 day event. This event utilized the ballroom and meetings room, sleeping rooms, catering and we hosted a hospitality suite on the 5th floor cabana level. The hotel catering and event staff was professional and very accommodating during the planning of this important event. Our guests, who traveled from around the country enjoyed the uptown location and we got only positive comments about the accommodations and the friendly and courteous staff. After the event, our organization met and reviewed the entire weekend. We took our review to the hotel staff and had a wonderful meeting in looking at our entire experience. In our planning for our 2014 meeting, we vetted 5 hotels including the Phoenix Place Hotel and Suites. Our organization again selected the Phoenix Place Hotel and Suites based on the value and service we received.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We go to Phoenix every year around the same time and usually stay in the same hotel, but this year we decided to switch it up because of location. We wish that we had not. We'll drive a little farther next year.

While making plans to go we noticed that the hotel's mobile site still has references to this hotel as the Radisson which it used to be. That should have been our first clue that the new owners do not pay much attention to detail.

Let me start with the pros:

-This hotel was not far from the Phoenix Convention Center where we were doing business
-The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful
-Most of the restaurant/bar staff were also friendly and helpful
-The rooms are equipped with flat screen TVs, microwaves and mini refrigerators.
-There is a parking garage. Covered parking is nice in AZ. BUT, no elevator from the upper levels.
-Complimentary breakfast is always nice (but see cons below...)

Now on to the cons:

-The property all looks run-down and shabby.
-The first day we were there the pool fountains in the courtyard pool were not running. Another patron asked why. He was told they were trying to conserve water, but they were turned on shortly after that and were on every other time we were at the pool, EXCEPT that one of the fountains must be broken as it never came on.
-The lobby and hall were always hot. The A/C in the room was loud and we were unable to regulate the temperature in the room. The options were A/C blowing full blast and room icy or A/C off and room toasty - nothing in between.
-The beds were hard. Three adults were on this trip and not one of them slept well because of the beds.
-We had a room with two queen beds and yet only two towels were in the room upon our arrival (although more were delivered very promptly when we called and asked.)
-The rooms are very small. With the queen beds it is hard to navigate between the bed and the desk chair when it is pushed in and impossible to do so when someone is sitting at the desk.
-One of the elevators was scary to ride. Whenever you started up from the first floor it would jump and lurch. The first time this happened we were all scared it was about ready to fall and/or stall. Good thing we were on the 2nd floor and able to just take the stairs.
-Once while we were there the automatic doors from the restaurant/bar to the patio were unlocked and operating. The rest of the time we were unable to access the patio from the restaurant. Strange.
-The website touts two pools - one in the courtyard and one on the roof. The rooftop pool was not mentioned at check-in, though the courtyard one was. We later learned from another person staying there that the rooftop pool contained no water. They said that they had paid extra for a cabana room on the roof only to find that the pool was empty!
-Every day of our stay we had to request that our room be cleaned.
-The hot breakfast items were not that great. The last day we were there the biscuits were burnt. The eggs were always cold and rubbery and the potatoes were burnt on the first day and cold on the last day.

All in all, the stay was not that pleasant and we don't plan to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My name is Diane, my brother and his wife and myself stayed at this hotel in May 29, 2013 for 4 nights. First of all I need to mention Danny, professionalist was above average. When we had a complaint it was immediately resolved an as always with a smile. The next front desk person was alexia very professional jump on an questions or concerns me an my family had. The Bar tender Brian was a delight and he makes the best virgin strawberry pina collotas. The rooms were clean, bright, sound proof and comfortable. above all I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. ps it is also in a nice location with the light rail which only costs $4.00 for an al day pass and $2.00 one-way pass.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIANE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The staff was unfriendly from day one and we were there for three nights. The hotel itself was not very clean looking and neither were the rooms. They only left 2 towels when most hotels leave about 3 or 4. One of the rooms we had had bedbugs so we had the rooms switched and we checked those beds.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cry4me11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Encanto
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown
Ramada Phoenix Midtown
#105 of 173 in Phoenix
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Encanto
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
South Mountain
GreenTree Inn & Suites Phoenix Sky Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown

Address: 3600 N 2nd Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013-3941 (Formerly Phoenix Place Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $111 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Phoenix City Phoenix
Radisson Phoenix
Phoenix Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing