We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IDEAL for St. Joseph's Hospital Patients”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Phoenix Suites
Ranked #33 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
wilmington, NC
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“IDEAL for St. Joseph's Hospital Patients”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

BEST PLACE for my husband and me to stay for 13 days of tests and surgery in this mid-city location with renowned St. Joseph’s Hospital 4-blocks away at the special rate of $89/night. Every suite, though somewhat outdated, has a bedroom with its own flat screen TV and phone and a completely separate sitting room with couch, armchair, desk, kitchen counter with another flat screen TV and phone. The kitchen counter’s small refrigerator, microwave, bar sink and coffeemaker with ceramic cups allow you to save money, taking the hotel’s free shuttle to supermarkets. Full bath with closet adjoins both rooms. Gorgeous 11-story atrium (with free iced cucumber/citrus water much appreciated on hot summer days) has plants and water features interspersed with tables that make up the in-house Great American Grill and adjoining lux bar with big sports TVs. Only Phoenix hotel with an indoor pool/hot tub with thick fluffy towels, but the columns through the pool preclude lap swimming. Typical exercise room and 2 laundry areas. Hotel staff was SUPERB, responding immediately to any request, like fixing the broken phone and replacing the feather pillows/duvet with nonallergenic foam and blanket, as well as not bothering us at all for the days we put the “do not disturb” sign on the doorknob. Housekeeping left free bottled water, real cream for coffee and USA Today daily. (Arizona Republic, Wall Street Journal, NY Times,available for purchase at desk.) You can survive without a car (parking costs) with the hotel’s free shuttle taking you up to 2 miles, including many museums and all of downtown. Light Rail ½ block away takes you to all those places and beyond--to the airport, Tempe and Mesa ($1.75 a trip, $10.50 for 3 days, $17.50 a week). Drawbacks: Room’s pod coffee machine made dishwater liquid, and since the hotel’s Atrium Market with cups of coffee closes when hotel isn’t full (most of the time in the summer), we bought a $15.00 Mr. Coffee, made our own, still saved money over buying cups at the 2 nearby delis. The hotel allows pets, and when our allergies acted up badly, we suspected our room had had animal dander in it from a previous visit (you can never vacuum it out.) “Access TV” was annoying, as it took 4 clicks to get from the promotions for $4.99 to $16.99 on-demand movies to actual TV stations—which DID NOT include FoxSports Arizona with Diamondback baseball. Internet and phone calls cost. Since the hotel’s breakfast buffet is a steep $12.00 and lunches and dinners were formulaic (suffering when events were held), we walked to the many other breakfast/lunch restaurants in the area; those nearby open for dinner are the legendary Durants, Wild Thaiger (Thai), Ichi Ban Japanese and a handful of fast food-type places (Lenny’s Burgers, Best of Philly, Honey Bears BBQ), and 3 pizza restaurants (zPizza best). All in all, we couldn’t have done better for a long hospital visit than to stay at Hilton Suites!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesthebarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    224
    107
    34
    22
See reviews for
145
114
45
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

So everything went wrong on this stay. To set the scene, I had just driven 10 hours from LA and was tired with a late arrival and early start for business meetings with a prospective client. The parking arrangement - which is expensive given the location of the hotel - is not ideal. There are limited spaces reserved for hotel guests in a public lot and no instructions on what to do if these are full. The room itself was fine until.... 1) a fire alarm at 5 something AM that went off for just enough rings to wake everyone up, then 2) someone from maintenance walking right into my room while I was in bed asleep at 6 AM caused by a water leak, then 3) the floor covered in water (now I cannot blame the hotel for this - things happen - but it was really inconvenient as I had no time to change rooms and it made me late for a meeting, and finally 4) to add insult to injury, instead of refunding the cost of the room, the hotel subsequently charged my credit card for 2 nights when I had only ever reserved for one. Shameful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a truly striking physical plant-both exterior and particular the lobby area with associated atrium. Rooms are appropriately furnished and decorated in a southwestern theme. Modern, clean and well maintained.

What makes this hotel truly stand out is its focus on customer service. The staff consistently goes above and beyond when something is requested. Courtesy van will take you anywhere within a 2-mile radius, which includes downtown area as well as an array of restaurants.

Room Tip: Because there is an atrium rising through the middle of the hotel, you'll want a room on a highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Hilton Suites Phoenix is located in the downtown area with easy accessibility to museums and restaurants. There is a free hotel shuttle service available for a two mile radius of the hotel. This is a full service hotel with an effective staff. The rooms are pleasant and roomy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during my sister's wedding in April 2012. My other sister and mother stayed in the room next door.

Both of us liked the hotel. In fairness, my sister liked it a bit more than I did. The standard rooms are a great size. They have a separate bedroom from "living area" and each has a television. The couch was very comfortable while watching TV and there was also a desk nearby. Two things for me that didn't live up to expectations: the decor seemed like it was from the early 90's and the bathroom doors were paper thin. I love my wife but I don't need to hear some of the things that occur in there.

They also have a pool, which my niece enjoyed, but was a little small. The breakfast buffet was tasty and reasonably priced.

All in all I would probably try to find somewhere a bit trendier first but I'd stay here again if I couldn't find anything reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank datreic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We arrived at the hotel late at night from San Diego because we were competing in Phoenix for a softball tournament. The front desk notified us that we would have to be moved to the Hilton Garden Inn down the street because they had a maintenance issue and were sold out. I work at a hotel and I understand this sometimes happens. Our softball manager just had the four of us sleep on their sofa beds for that night and the hotel comped OUR ENTIRE STAY for us! Wow! I wasn't expecting them to give us anything but they were so generous! The hotel is very nice and all interior so rain or shine (I'm sure it doesn't rain much in Arizona) you can enjoy the pool and the bar. It is very centrally located and close to the light rail so you can travel to nearby areas for food and clubs. The only thing I was disappointed about, which I can't complain much because I stayed for free, is that they didn't have a complimentary breakfast for their guests. If I was on business and had to pay 15 dollars for the breakfast buffet that wouldn't be helpful if I was on the go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adkin0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel is nice, but it appears that it was once an Embassy Suites -- has the open atrium design. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Soon after arriving in room -- which was very large, nice and clean (but odd smell), the fire alarm went off. I opened door (11th floor) to smoke. Went down 11 flights of stairs to find out staff had caught table clothes on fire by sternos (setting up for a banquet.)
Breakfast buffet--quick, average (but hot) food. Dinner restaurant should be avoided, very salty food, not pleasant in presentation and very expensive.
Would definitely go back there for business. (Not close to a lot.)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelbyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Encanto
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
Encanto
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Encanto
Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#20 of 174 in Phoenix
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Phoenix Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Phoenix Suites

Property: Hilton Phoenix Suites
Address: 10 E Thomas Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#25 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#31 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Phoenix Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Phoenix Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing