We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yikes” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Phoenix North - Bell Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Phoenix North - Bell Road
Ranked #110 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
phoenix az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“yikes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

I was inbetween apartments a few years ago and needed a place to stay for a few weeks and decided that motel 6 would be alright. It was only $200 a week and close to work. Big mistake. The lowest of the low lifes live there. Drug dealers, prostitutes and criminals were my neighbors. I have since moved into a nice place down the street and drive by it occasionaly and I must say it hasn't changed much in the last 4 years. If you need a nice secure place to stay head further east down bell road closer to scottsdale. This is a bad place

  • Liked — check out
  • Disliked — other guests
  • Stayed August 2003, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank tuttle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    5
    2
    13
See reviews for
5
5
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

I have a few general rules about traveling. One is "be flexible." Another is "never stay at a Motel 6." While I am sure there are nice Motel 6's out there, I have never had the good fortune to stay at one. So, when my husband informed me that he had booked us into a Motel 6 for a one-night stay on our recent road trip, I was pretty scared. Motel 6? Yikes! But remembering my first rule, I figured, let's get there and see what it's like. My husband sent me the website listing from Motel 6's corporate website and it looked like the hotel was fairly new, so I decided to reserve judgment.

Well, we pulled into the parking lot and at first thought we'd gotten lost. The motel looks nothing, and I mean NOTHING, like the picture on the website. The picture on the website shows a newer chain hotel with nice landscaping, etc. The actual Motel 6 we stood in front of looks more like run-down project housing than a motel. There was trash in the parking lot, numerous shady characters hanging out in the doorways of the rooms, chipped and peeling paint, in the five minutes we were there we got to hear a loud argument between hotel "guests" that was seemingly about illegal substances, etc. etc. etc. The place looks like it is serving as cheap pseudo-temporary housing for the poor instead of a hotel. We have a toddler son and took one look inside one of the rooms (it was unoccupied but conveniently, the lock was broken so we could take a peek) and said "no way." I don't really want to describe what one of the rooms looked like - and probably don't have to. Between the horrific condition of the room and the surroundings there was no way we were going to stay at this dump. We hightailed it down the road to a Comfort Inn where we had a nice stay for only slightly more money than the Motel 6 was charging.

So. If my husband had checked TripAdvisor we would never have been hoodwinked by the blatantly deceptive photograph on the Motel 6 website. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE! It is NOT the same place pictured on the Motel 6 website. By FAR. And I do not think it would be safe for anyone staying there - forget actually having an enjoyable experience.

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank newmexicomommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phoenix hotels

SoCal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2007

Half the place is being renovated and the other half should have been 10 years ago. Lots of long term welfare lodgers who shout and hang out at all hours. Was eating take out on the "desk" and had a cockroach appear from behind the desk counter. Was the first and last time here. I stay happily at 10 to 20 Motel 6's a year and this was the absolute worst. Sleep in your car!!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank bankbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwichita
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

During my stay this 59 buck hotel room was adjacent to this young guys who stayed up most of the night, played loud music on and off, (No fan of rap here), and they had company the whole night. I assume that was a drug dealer, I feared for my safety, and am glad to have survived. I just remembered the door would only unlock once, then northing. The manager showed me you had to roughly shake the door to make the lock work. Jeez. And in the parking lot, this dude tells me (I'm in a car I just picked up), that the adjacent pickup has 3 !! babies in it, and no one else. After a little discussion on how bad that is (as I clench my gym bag against me, I suggest he tells the desk clerk. He then walks to a corner and waits for awhile. He finally leaves. Surprisingly my car is there in the morning. I did check the pickup from the second floor, no babies that I could see.

  • Disliked — rap music at 2:00 in the morning
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank northwichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

You gotta be kidding me! What a DUMP. I should have found a bridge to sleep under - at least then I would have had more privacy as all of the homeless people, wino's and drug addicts were at this hotel.

  • Liked — I was able to leave quickly
  • Disliked — The criminal atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glen73540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2006

If I could give zero stars I would, rooms not made & had no search for towels, wefare families living at hotel who make noise all hours of the night, electricity broke down in middle of night so no airconditioning, and a fithy pool, and poor service. A horror show for 4 straight days!!! Avoid this one at ALL COST!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ralpharroya1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
North Mountain
Quality Inn Phoenix North I-17
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Phoenix North - Bell Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Phoenix North - Bell Road

Property: Motel 6 Phoenix North - Bell Road
Address: 2330 W Bell Rd, I-17 at Exit 212A/Bell Rd E, Phoenix, AZ 85023-3214
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Deer Valley
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Phoenix North - Bell Road 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Phoenix North - Bell Road is located 14 miles north of downtown Phoenix. Features include an outdoor heated pool and a guest laundry facility. Premium WiFi -$4.99 Basic Wifi: $2.99. All rooms have a modern look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Motel 6 Phoenix North - Bell Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Phoenix North - Bell Road Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing