We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Ranked #27 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I am just returning from Phoenix... My stay at the Hyatt was great. Since I was out on business, I was able to walk around the city a little during the first night.
The hotel is beautiful...
I stayed on the 20th Floor... Service was great... I even had dinner at The Compass on the 24th floor. It is an elegant hotel that rotates... Very nice... Food was excellent.
Bedrooms very nice... Comfortable beds as well.
As far as the internet connection... There is a fee, but if you have your own air card, it's free of charge. I carry my air card everywhere and I was able to log on in the hotel w/ it.
The location was great...
It sits 2 blocks up from the US Airways Arena (Phx. Suns arena), directly across the street from the Convention Ctr and also a Theatre. Around the corner are small restaurants, shops and an AMC movie theatre. My grandmother flew out w/ me and she was able to enjoy the weather and walk around downtown by herself...
The price was very reasonable... I would return to this hotel the next time I visit Phoenix.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrMel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    641
    341
    112
    55
See reviews for
194
229
96
1,197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Because of the LOCATION I booked 3 nights at Hyatt. Originally I booked a $199/night -"Conventions Deal" (if I have to pay for the breakfast and internet it will end up for $241.97 + tax $29 = $270 +/night for a Conventional DEAL). Luckily, I modified my reservation after I found the AAA Business Plan for $174/night and it came with 2 free breakfast ($14.99/pp) and free internet ($12.99/day).
But for some reason the front desk checked me in with the ORIGNAL higher rate. So be careful at check in because they don't print out the register card and also they don't confirm the rate with you. Once you leave the front desk and it will take a 1/2 hour (at least) to fix the rate.
Front desk told me the hotel was recently remolded, but they left a very DIRTY pop corn ceiling. If you don't turn on more than 2 lights on, the room looks ok. Comfort bed without fitted sheet. No safe in the room, so I did not use the pool or gym. I don't feel comfortable to leave my jewelries and wallet in the room.
One of our colleagues' room did not get room service for 2 consecutive days, and they got twice unfriendly apology.
Breakfast is ok, and if you have "Gerri" - a big Latino lady to serve your table. She might ignore you, or provide with a very cold and unwelcome service. But she wills definitely bring you a bill, so you can "tip" her. The 3rd morning we got a different waitress; after she took our Breakfast coupons and politely said "you all set." without giving us the bill! I was so surprised that I did not get the bill, so I have to walk to her and tip/thank her.
When I got home I also noticed an extra surprise charged on my AMEX for $11.38. So I called their local # and they transferred me to their Accounting Dept. it rang for 15 minutes and no one answered. I e-mail them at qualityphxrp@hyatt.com on Oct 27.09 and did get any answer as 11.03.09.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ram001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

The hotel was a great deal after booking on Priceline. I'm not sure if I would have been as pleased had I paid what the hotel website was asking. The desk staff was very helpful and courteous. The room itself was decorated beautifully and the room was in great condition. We used the pool and hot tub every night we were there, even though I was there on business. They had a nice fitness room as well. They have several restaurants in the hotel. There is even a rotating restaurant/lounge in the penthouse of the hotel. The hotel has many amenities that would be expected (concierge, restaurant options, etc. ). Parking is about $12-20/night if you're traveling with a car, and the internet is paid as well, so you can expect to spend an extra $30/day or so if you require both. Overall, it was a good experience, and would definitely stay again.

The hotel is in the heart of the downtown area. It is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. It is very close to different types of public transportation.

We chose not to use the hotel wifi, and instead went downstairs to one of the restaurants that offers wifi for about 90 minutes. We split a meal and used our laptop for a bit to take care of our daily business, then enjoyed some time at the pool.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Stayed for a conference in Mid Sept, nice room on 16th floor, Platinum member so I had free Internet. Pool is sort of small and mainly people like to lounge around and stand in it etc so cant do laps easily. Work out roomis small bur well equipped. Room had comfy king bed , desk, and sort of chaise chair with otoman comfy for tv watching. Unfortunatly there is not much to do outside the hotel apart from the convention center, their food places close at 2pm in the afternoon, there is a bar grill across from hotel and a Wyndham close by but no convenience stores or anything like that

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emacconnell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I spent six nights at the Hyatt in downtown Phoenix. Although it's not a high end luxury hotel, this was probably the most pleasant stay that I have had this year (approximately 100 nights at about fifteen different hotels). This Hyatt has been renovated and most things look new. It is clean, my room was quiet, and the bed was comfortable. The rooms seemed a little larger than most other hotels and we had a nice view of the mountains. I asked about internet access and was given a code for free access.

The location is close to all the things downtown such as the convention center and the two sports arenas. I was very impressed with the staff, especially the young lady and the check in desk. I was traveling with my spouse (who has a different last name). We checked in on Sunday and stopped by the desk on Friday night to ask a question and Grace remembered both our names in addition to being very pleasant and helpful.

The Hyatt wasn't perfect in that the flat screen tv was still standard definition and some of the cardio machines in the fitness center did not work correctly. However, all things considered, it was close enough.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accidental_squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuma
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed here because we wanted to go to a ballgame ..The location is good for that but our room never got below 78....Yes we know it is Phoenix in July...But the rooms were average and parking was 27.00 dollars a night...They finally moved us to another room and even got us breakfast....We usally don`t eat breakfast so I would have rather had free parking.....Trouble is downtown Phoenix is lacking for reasonable hotels, and they know it ..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickcasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Ya know, I wish I could have gotten the chance to stay in this hotel before writing this review; however, I just wanted to let you in on th horrible customer service provided by this hotel. I had booked my stay 3 months ago, due to a conference I have there at the end of July. So...I received a confirmation 26 Apr. I just got a call today from the Hyatt stating that they had overbooked & that I was no longer able to stay there. They appologized & put me up in a different hotel & offered to provide transporation to the conference (which happens to be right next to the Hyatt)....yeah, transporation, to include a bus!! I am just completely floored! So, how come they claimed availability when I booked but now all of a sudden they have no availability. [--]!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mditcbitw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#20 of 174 in Phoenix
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
814 reviews
Central City
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#97 of 174 in Phoenix
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Property: Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Address: 122 N 2nd St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2379
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#29 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#36 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#50 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Phoenix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate destination for business or pleasure in the city's dynamic downtown area. A towering 8-story atrium provides an inspiring atmosphere perfect for events of all types and sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing