We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Ranked #29 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency from Wednesday 11/5 - Monday 11/10 to attend a conference at the convention center.
The bed in the room was really comfortable. The layout of the room was not bad, as stated in previous reviews. I did have to work in the room 2 days and the desk, lighting, etc. were not bad. The air conditioning was not really controllable and seemed to be stuck on a constant 73 to 71, however there was a fan adjustment and as long as the unit was set on high the room seemed to be cooler than stated.
The high cost of internet was a little extreme as I needed it everyday and buying a 5 day package was about the same as purchasing it every day.
I ordered room service at least once daily and found the room service menu to be lacking in a big way with the amount of selection they offered. I did venture out for dinner one night and was followed by the bums (or street people), all the way there and back.... enough to keep me eating in the room nightly. The bums, or veterans as I was told, were quite mean and agressive and not your typical type of bums or street people. The room service people were great though and the bed and room were comfortable. Also, it is directly across the street from the convention center and that was a huge bonus with my days beginning at 6am.

  • Liked — Location and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Room Service Selection and Internet Fees
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nickinichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    603
    325
    104
    52
See reviews for
169
216
86
1,122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

Perfectly comfortable room, with fabulous beds. Good water pressure in the shower, and a great view. We were excited to use the hot tub but there was a group of people smoking and drinking a few feet away, so we couldn't enjoy it. Reasonably quiet, though we could hear doors slamming and people talking in the hall. Parking was the biggest problem - we didn't mind paying for it, but the Hyatt's garage was full, so we had to drive around and find parking elsewhere, then drag our luggage.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dax892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoCal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

bid Priceline $39 per night plus fees. Read that there is a $16 charge for parking, parked about six blocks away near a ASU offsite building. Meters work 9am to 5pm, other times appear free. Checkin was easy, up to the room, seem to be remodeled in the last ten years. Nothing special, but nothing bad either. The pool and fitness center were next to each other. Fitness center had newer machines with video, free weights are nil except for some dumb bells. Water cooler, towels and headsets are provided, 24 hour access. I asked the desk person if there was a drugstore within walking distance, he replied no, but a Circle K was within a 10 minute walk. I would not walk in the dark for 10 minutes near downtown, I would suggest the same to you. The bagel store in the lobby was open and overpriced, but convenient. I scored another parking space on the street the next evening, three block walk. The hotel was busy with a convention going on. Bar and restaurant in the lobby and also across the street. There was a breakfast place, First Watch, about one block away towards First Street. I had a good stay.

  • Liked — 24 hr fitness center
  • Disliked — avoiding overpriced parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingChumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2008

Stayed here for business for one week. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only element of the room that was less then desirable was the manner in which the furniture was arranged. The desk faces was in an awkward postion and had poor lighting. There is also not a place to eat in the room other than the desk and if you are staying for business and needing to work and eat, this makes it difficult.

Since my stay was in the summer, many of the hotel restaurants were closed. This made it difficult to get something to eat after work, unless you are willing to walk arounf downtown Phoenix at night. The roomservice was mediocre and per usual very exspensive.

Overall, not a horrible experience but not the best. It was a wonderful hotel to work in due to it being extremely quiet/

  • Liked — It was quiet
  • Disliked — Lack of available restaurants in hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingTucsonans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

Room was very clean and comfortable but the carpet appeared worn and dated. It costs $20 to just walk into the Business Center . . . that was a first. Good conference arrangements, employees very nice. A good deal of outside noise - typical of being located downtown.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Persnickety-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Level Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

We went to Phoenix to attend to a concert, and we looked all around to book a hotel, when we finally decided to stay there, we were expecting a "Hyatt" and nothing less. The lobby is ok, but the rooms are totally outdated, this hotel is crying for a renovation!!!
This days most hotels have plasma tv's; this one doesn't. The carpet looks old and the bathrooms are totally 80's if not 70's. Besides that, the people in the front desk were rude and also the bell boy. In a moment we felt like they were being rude on purpose, as if it was a practical joke or something; but it wasn't. We didn't feel welcomed and well treated as in other hyatts. Maybe the "old" atmosphere doesn't make the people that work there feel happy and they treat the guest as mediocre as the hotel is.

  • Disliked — the outdated rooms, and the staff atitude
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank karla014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
509 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

I don't know why others had given bad reviews of this hotel, or AAA's 3 diamond rating-it is one of the best Hyatts I have stayed in. It is well-maintained and clean and is the closest to the convention center. The sportsbar, Networks, has good food, atmosphere, and beer selection. We used our Hyatt Gold Passport points for the 3-day stay and they upgraded us up to a suite in the corner of the hotel on a high floor. Maids were thorough and cleaned the rooms well. There is an Einstein Brothers Bagel Cafe that stays open until 8:00 PM and has a good selection of bagels, salads, and great coffee. We were well-treated while there and no one tried to steer us to a private car company.

  • Liked — Location downtown and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Having to pay for internet access
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#5 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#20 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Property: Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Address: 122 N 2nd St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2379
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#29 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#37 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#51 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Phoenix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate destination for business or pleasure in the city's dynamic downtown area. A towering 8-story atrium provides an inspiring atmosphere perfect for events of all types and sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing