We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in PHX”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Ranked #27 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in PHX”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Nice hotel with very helpful staff. Great attitudes and concierge was very knowledgable and friendly. Has a nice little "store" in the hotel for any personal needs, as well as trinkets. Restaurant has great breakfast and restaurant/bar was very good also. Not a lot of shopping around downtown but plenty of great places to eat. Rooms a little smaller than other 3 star places but had everything I needed. No microwave but had a mini fridge. Fan on heating/cooling unit was a bit loud but great white noise for those that prefer that. Not too noticeable after a bit. Pool is small and not ideal for kids but was nice to cool off. Hot tub was a bit loud for some reason. Nice little gym with plenty of excellent equipment.

Room Tip: High floor had great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrummerD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    620
    329
    106
    53
See reviews for
179
221
91
1,143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Overall, just what one might expect from a Hyatt flagship location. Check in/out was a breeze, the property is beautiful and in an excellent downtown location. The hotel staff, particularly the wait staff in the restaurants was outstanding. The service in all three dining areas was great and the qualitiy of the food was tip-top, particularlry at the rooftop rotating restauant, the Compass, where one can enjoy a fine meal and a 360 degree view of downtown Phoenix. The rooms are comfortable.That being said, there is a big problem in the housekeeping area. This hotel,like many others, has a "green" policy in housekeeping. These policies do have merit as far as benefit to the environment if not pushed too far. While it is certainly OK to use towels/bed linens more than one day if one so desires, being shorted towels after some are removed or having obviously dirty glassware not replaced reflects very poorly on the competence of the housekeeping staff. It is unfortunate that poor housekeeping took the edge off of what otherwise would have been a completely enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandSally10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We found the service to be outstanding upon check in, with our bags taken up by an enthusiastic and informational bell man. For a convention or sporting event, this location is great! It is also a couple of blocks away from the light rail system where you can ride for $4 all day. We had a king with a corner balcony, so it was wonderful! Lots of amenities are available if you forget any items-more than what I've seen in other hotels. Everything was very clean in our room, and I appreciated the Green Service they provide if the guests request. Yes, there is only one drawer to put clothes, but we always hang our clothes or leave them in the suitcase, so it wasn't an issue. Great recommendations for nearby restaurants whether it was seafood or Mexican. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner king is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpolinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have stayed in many Hyatt's and am completely surprised by the lack of attention and service at the Hyatt Regency Phoenix. To start with, we arrived to find the soaps that were used by whoever occupied the room before us, both at the sink and in the shower! Next the thermostat was totally out of control and despite efforts to turn down the heater the temperature continued to rise through the night and we eventually had to just turn it off. The bartender at the bar and grill located within the hotel was one of the rudest that I have ever encountered, I realize that he was NOT an employee of the Hyatt but does represent the establishment as a whole. Lastly, there were only two towels left in our room for the second night, which was odd considering we had left all four from the previous night in the tub for replacement. I was somewhat shocked at the presumed "towel rationing" and / or lack of attention to detail. On the good side, the rate was surprisingly reasonable (maybe that should have been my first clue) and the location can't be beat if you are attending a Sun's game. This was a very non-impressive stay at a place that has had a brand reputation for outstanding service. I hope that this is not another example of a hotel chain trying to survive by cutting corners!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NM4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas suburbs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hyatt's are one chain that you can normally count on and this stay was for a convention, so the location was perfect. Checking was fine but when we got to the room (king with a balcony) it was outdated, the balcony was just stuck there (very weird), a strange layout with lots of wasted space but the worst was one drawer in the whole room and 3 coat hangers. If you are attending a convention which this hotel is set up for they should know that you are going to have day clothes and night clothes. We stayed in room 334 which unfortunately is right besides the gym and every morning at 6AM you would hear guys dropping the weights on the floor which first of all the weights only go to 50 lbs and if a guy drops 50 lb. weights he should spent a lot more time in the gym and second of all have some class when working out. We went down to Networks to have lunch and the bill for 4 was $112. As you can see from my reviews we do travel a bit and I get paying a premium but the service was horrible every time that we went to that restaurant. We tried our best to cool down the room for sleeping and was told by 4 other convention goers that they had the same issue and could not get there rooms below 73 degrees which ours would not drop below 73.5. I love the location but Hyatt needs to either rebrand this hotel or close it and remodel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 334
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallascouple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great location, great staff! This is definitely an excellent hotel to stay at for the price you pay. Yes, it could use a little updating but it is in no way dirty. I was very happy with my stay there. The bar was nice and the food was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svilnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great location and friendly staff makes this a great downtown hotel. Food in the bar was good and I didn't get upstairs to their high end restaurant. Yes, the hotel is due for a small facelift but it's in no way run down. recomended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7huskie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#5 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#18 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Central City
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#96 of 175 in Phoenix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Property: Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Address: 122 N 2nd St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2379
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#29 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#37 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#51 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Phoenix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate destination for business or pleasure in the city's dynamic downtown area. A towering 8-story atrium provides an inspiring atmosphere perfect for events of all types and sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing