We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown Convenience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Ranked #29 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Downtown Convenience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We found a good rate on Expedia to accommodate our decision to stay downtown for the Diamondback game. The room was comfortable. We had upgraded to a balcony room, which wasn't worth it to us. There was no view and sort of tacky. Junkie patio furniture and it looked like it would be fine if you were a smoker. Someone left a cigar on our patio and the patio railing next door was overflowing with cig butts. Overall the room met our purposes.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyPhoenix, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments during your recent stay at our hotel. I hope you enjoyed the Diamondback game. We appreciate some of the concerns you brought up about your balcony in the guest room and we will work quickly to remedie. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    597
    324
    104
    52
See reviews for
167
215
86
1,116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Though it was a major zoo - the Hyatt folks came through handling the massive crowds with dignity and charming control!!! The rooms are very clean - the beds are most comfortable. My only suggestion is that the put a hook on the back of the bathroom door - there was no place to hang a second towel or bathrobe!!! - We were there as guests for the ComicCon - had a good time and thank you to all involved in making our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Sorry - don't know anything about all the other rooms The Air conditioning keeps everything coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent five nights at the Regency while in town for a convention. I was rooming with someone who had broken her foot the week before the trip, so we requested an ADA-compliant room (for the bathtub safety handles). All went mostly well: the room was spotlessly cleaned every day, food in the hotel was reasonably priced and taste was above average to very good, other facilities like the gym and the pool were well-maintained and very inviting. The one big annoyance was that in the ADA-compliant rooms, there is only ONE mirror: the one in the bathroom, over the sink. Other rooms have mirrored, sliding closet doors; the ADA rooms have a plain, hinged closet door. Personally, I don't understand how someone in a wheelchair sits in front of a hinged door and opens it, but the gist of my complaint is the fact that with two women in a room, it was IMPOSSIBLE getting dressed in a timely manner without any mirror outside of the bathroom! Other than that, it was a great stay: staff, particularly front desk staff, was communicative and excellent. Special props to Julia at the front desk for her thoughtful restaurant recommendations, specifically tailored to our big city east-coast tastes. :-)

Room Tip: If you take an ADA-compliant room, be aware that they only have the one mirror inside the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjordstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, Ca.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Best location for events at Convention Center. Just a quick walk across the street. Clean, comfortable hotel with decent food. I booked directly with the hotel and they were very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee7952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was just at the Hyatt Regency Phoenix for the Phoenix Comicon convention this past weekend. Rather than being bewildered by all the freaks and geeks descending on them, they joined in. The female Front Desk staff wore Wonder Woman tiaras and many wait staff wore superhero shirts. The glass elevators had great big clings of superheroes and even the music in the lobby was stylized science fiction and fantasy tune. Nice details, Hyatt, and thanks!

The room was large and very comfortable with the usual exception of the paper goods in the bathroom - like all hotels. But the best part of the stay was the staff. From the business center employee who brought up my packages himself, to the security staff who guided us to a freight elevator when there was congestion to the cheerful front desk, food & beverage, and bell staff. All the service was top notch and everybody was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a great hotel for the convention. The hotel was also organized beyond belief for massive amounts of people for Phoenix Con. The staff was very helpful, and was great for crowd control. The breakfast buffet was great on the 2nd floor. It was a great bed, and comfy room. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet floor if you have a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raininroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wonderful hotel to stay at if you are conducting business or meetings at the neighboring convention center. Also ideal location for the sports arenas. Very helpful staff, clean, well appointed rooms.
Elevators can be hard to catch at peak times.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norsemenboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#5 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Property: Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Address: 122 N 2nd St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2379
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#29 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#37 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#51 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Phoenix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate destination for business or pleasure in the city's dynamic downtown area. A towering 8-story atrium provides an inspiring atmosphere perfect for events of all types and sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing