We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed here 8/10-8/13. This was our third stay at this hotel within the last three years. It's become sort of a tradition for us to stay here and see the Diamondbacks play a couple of games each summer. The first time we stayed, we almost didn't come back. The staff was rude, unhelpful and generally unpleasant. We returned last year and found that things were a little bit better. This year we were completely surprised. This hotel has the best customer service of any I've ever been in. Everyone is eager to help, polite and just generally nice. I was greated by name by several of the employees and asked how everything was going. Very, very impressive for a hotel of this size. Simply amazing customer service. I just can't say enough good things about it.

The only complaint is a fairly minor one. Is it really necessary to charge nearly $13 per day for internet access? It just seems a little unnecessary for a hotel of this quality. If it was free, I would rate the hotel as the best I've ever stayed in. Charging that amount just comes across like a way to nickel and dime the customers.

Other than that, I would highly reccomend this hotel. My compliments to the staff for a job well done.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyPhoenix, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

We are happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your recent visit with us and are honored to be a part of your summer tradition. I would first like to apologize for the past experiences that you had and to thank you for returning to our hotel. We strive to overcome our shortcomings on a daily basis and our glad that our efforts left such a positive impression.

It is extremely gratifying to hear that our staff provided such exceptional customer service and ensured that you and your wife were well cared for during your stay. I plan to share your kind words with the hotel staff.

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments with us, we greatly appreciate the top-notch recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next summer.

Kind Regards,

Murray Burnett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,840 - 1,846 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

Step across the street to enter the convention center! Can't beat it in the heat of Phoenix! If the restaurants are too expensive for you, step out the side entrance and cross the street to enjoy a $7 full breakfast with eggs, meat and potatoes at Steve's Grill. Hotel is clean and very nice. Pool is great for relaxing, but the jacuzzi jets did not work.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyPhoenix, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as well as the close location to the Convention Center for all your conference needs.

Your comments regarding the jacuzzi jets are greatly appreciated; all the jets have recently been inspected by our Director of Engineering and are in working order.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and city in the future.

Kind Regards,

Murray Burnett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Close to the ball parks. I was able to go to a pre season suns game. Everything in the down town is within walkinb distance. Easy drive to Frank Lloyd Wrights house, and a day trip to Sedona

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyPhoenix, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you so much for your comments; we appreciate you taking the time to write about us.

It sounded like you truly enjoyed the city and its many offerings. We are pleased that you found the customer service, sleep quality and overall hotel value to your liking as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for either business or pleasure.

Kind Regards,

Murray Burnett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here while attending a baseball game. I read the hotel was recently remodeled and was interested. The last time we stayed here the rooms needed an overhaul.
PROS: valet and bellmen were quite nice. Ryan (bellman) went above and beyond when we hit a snag with receiving the wrong room. He called the front desk, had us switched, moved us to the correct room, went down and retrieved the new keys for us. Very nice, especially since I am somewhat handicapped.
CONS: we had two queen beds but only one chair (desk). We opted NOT to have room service since one of us would not have a place to sit and eat. Really...just 1 chair? Not even an ottoman or comfortable chair. Bathroom is very small. Can sit on the toilet and brush your teeth at the same time. I don't remember them being this small. May be another reason we stopped staying. Well, you already know the front desk error now on to housekeeping. We arrive and immediately notice our room had just a sliver of toilet paper (no extra roll) and 2 decaf coffee pods. We rang housekeeping and asked for more toilet paper and regular coffee (person did not speak english). Waited for a little while but no one showed up. Left room and when returned noticed 2 rolls of toilet paper but no coffee, gave us more hand towels instead. I travel with extra coffee pods thank goodness. The next day we left and upon returning the room is made up but a dirty towel (left on bed by mistake) is on the carpeting. The next morning we are ready to shower and check out. No washclothes!! Lots of towels but no washclothes. This time we called and an english speaking person answered and we received washclothes within half an hour or so. We are rewards members so found some of the service was a bit lacking. Is housekeeping really this bad with this economy? Someone good must need a job.
So, we may be trying the new Sheraton down the block the next time we stay in downtown Phoenix.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flag1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyPhoenix, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that the valet and the bellmen, especially Ryan provided such a positive experience for you. I do plan to share your kind words with them.

My sincere apologies for the frustrations that you and your husband experienced during your stay. Rest assured, these comments have been taken very seriously and will be reviewed with the appropriate managers.

We will continue to review the feedback you have provided, as we do with all guest communication, to improve the service and experience that we deliver to our valued guests. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back to the Hyatt Regency Phoenix in the future.

Kind Regards,

Murray Burnett,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Right next to the convention center. Nice big hotel. short walk to the Arizona Center. Einstein bagels in the lobby for easy breakfast. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Handicap rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmary569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyPhoenix, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel and that the central location of the hotel to the Convention Center and the Arizona Center provided additional convenience throughout your stay. Our staff strives to provide everything that a guest would need while staying in Phoenix and I am pleased to hear that your families stay was enjoyable.

We appreciate your comments and would be delighted to welcome you back to the Hyatt Regency Phoenix.

Warm Regards,

Murray Burnett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This was an excellent hotel, it was located right in downtown. Hotel is a short 5 or so min walk to both Chase Field and the Suns Arena. Parking across the st was convenient and reasonably priced. The gym and pool were both very nice. They even had a free wine tasting for hotel guests which included free hor d'oeuvres. Purchased the hotel on Hotwire and really didn't make out too bad. Overall the hotel was centrally located, clean, affordable, and the staff were all happy to help.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyPhoenix, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words regarding your past visit.

We are pleased that you found the many unique offerings of the hotel to your liking such as, the fitness center, pool and the hotels central location to the many sporting and concert venues.

We appreciate your great feedback about the hotel and especially our staff as they strive to provide exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Murray Burnett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I would recommend this hotel. My family stayed for one night while passing through to LA, and it met our needs perfectly. Location is right downtown near convention center and ballpark. The young lady who checked us in was quite helpful and courteous. The room was clean. The public spaces were clean and well-decorated. Parking is free downtown from 8 p.m. to 8 a.m., and there are PLENTY of spaces available very close to hotel. We parked right outside the side door. This might be different if the baseball team is in town. The pool is kind of small, but not bad at all. Internet is NOT FREE. I find it hard to believe that anyone pays for internet. Hyatt should provide this as a free service. Overall, a great night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpap10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyPhoenix, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit with us. We are very happy that you found everything to your liking and that the needs of your family were met while staying with us.

Your recommendation is our biggest compliment and your comments are truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Murray Burnett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#8 of 174 in Phoenix
836 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#18 of 174 in Phoenix
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Central City
Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Address: 122 N 2nd St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2379
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#29 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#36 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#50 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $130 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Phoenix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the center of this southwest cosmopolitan city, our downtown Phoenix hotel offers comfort and convenience. From spacious guestrooms to delicious dining to diverse city adventures, we invite you to stay and experience. Our hotel is only steps away from the Phoenix Convention giving you easy access to the best that Phoenix has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing