We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need decor updates and new staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phoenix-West
Ranked #90 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Need decor updates and new staff”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I can say that I have lessen my expectations of this hotel. I have stayed here a few times and can almost tell you how I would be treated as soon as I step in to the front desk. Every single time I check in, I'll stand there waiting for someone to help me, a "Hello" maybe. Oh no, they are too busy to check me in. And when they do, personality is colder than a freezer, straight face. If there was another Holiday Inn more west on the 10 fwy, I would gladly stay there. Unfortunately, there isn't.
And with the decor, they need a much needed upgrade. I know they went through renovations a few years back but I don't see the difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yen90033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmphoenixwest, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix-West, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I apologize for your recent experience with my front desk staff. This is not what I expect from my staff. I have made a few changes and this should be corrected. Also, we did go thru renovations last year and more changes are in the plans for the upcoming year. Thank you again for your comments and bringing to my attention issues that are occuring at our hotel. Please give us another try on your next trip thru Phoenix.
Thanks, Mary Newland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    21
    12
    14
See reviews for
14
18
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tularosa, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Wanting to be on the West side of Phoenix we found this Hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff, assigned a pleasant room and found our way to the lounge. Again friendly staff and from all we met they had confidence in the in house dining. They were correct. The restraunt is worth going into even if you aren't staying there. Our steaks were very good, the garlic mashed potatoes were excellent. Nice presentation, gently steamed veggies. Afterwards the beds turned out to be so comfortable and breakfast was again way beyond typical hotel breakfast. All in all
a very nice break in our travels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Auburn, WI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The hotel is dated and the mattresses/furniture need to be replaced. I've stayed here off and on over eight years, but refused to go back because of the heavy criminal activity in the neighborhood. Watching police helicopters shine spotlights over the neighborhood does not put me in the mood for a good night's sleep. The rooms overlook a drain culvert that the homeless use to push carts around and sleep. The bar/grill onsite is so-so, but is the safest choice as you don't need to leave the hotel. Parking is tight and a hassle.
The staff is friendly and helpful, but unless you really need to exit the 10 freeway and sleep, avoid this one. There are better alternatives a few miles down the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor as the elevators are frequently out of order. Walking up four flights of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWorldTraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmphoenixwest, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix-West, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
We appreciate your comments and we have just finished renovation on our lobby, pool, complimentary guest laundry facility and working on finishing all our rooms. We have one floor complete now. The Phoenix Police Department are working on cleaning this area up and it is improving and with their presence regularly in the area it helps keep the crime down. Thanks again and we do hope you give us a chance again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phoenix hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel was going thru remodeling and that was probably why the rate was so good...it reeked of thinner or more accurate nail polish remover, almost over whelming but I am sure temporary. Decent bar, good bartender(ess) and front desk staff. Rooms are being upgraded but my room was a little on the older side but that happens. I look forward to trying it out again in 6months when they should be thru with remodeling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffdblak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmphoenixwest, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix-West, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us feedback. During your stay we were just completing the Safe Step tub renovation and tried to keep everyone away as much as possible. We working constantly on upgrading and updating our facility to better our guests. We appreciate you and do hope you will come back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is at 51st Street directly off of I-10. About a 5 minute drive to Maryvale for Spring Training...15-20 minutes for downtown, golf & other stadiums. Pretty easy to get to/from the airport from here.

Keep in mind, this is not a hotel to stay at if you like to hang out at the hotel. The rooms were nicely remodeled and were fine for sleeping. Just come with the realization that there is nothing else to do at the hotel or even within walking distance.

While the service at the front desk was excellent, the service at the hotel lounge/bar was abysmal. It took 30-45 minutes to get a drink, the bartenders did not even know how to make basic drinks and they were out of several common things (including Grey Goose, amaretto, etc!) If you wanted anything other than a basic bottle of beer, good luck. This was really too bad as the lounge looks quite nice with TVs, a pool table and a dartboard. Most hotel guests will want to hang out in the bar/lounge...so I hope the Holiday Inn will seek improvements here.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank itzMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmphoenixwest, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix-West, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. Yes we have made changes in our restaurant and bar and continue to improve on a daily basis to make our guests stay better and comfortable place to be. Please come again and see our current changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at Holiday Inn West Phoenix for 4 nights March 12-16, 2012. My son and I were in town to catch Spring training games. We booked through Hotwire. Overall, we were happy with the hotel. The room was clean, and the property seemed well cared for. I called ahead and reserved a room with 2 double beds, and they were glad to accomodate the request. Sounds like a small thing, but I've had issues with this in the past, especially if you've booked online. Location was ideal for us, close to the Highway and reasonable access to everywhere we wanted to go. My only suggestion would be to find a way to divert the flow of the A/C, it blows directly on the person who sleeps in the bed closest to the unit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isellfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmphoenixwest, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix-West, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank your for taking time out of your schedule to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay when you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed in Phoenix on the west side to save some money. I don't know if it was worth it. I consider myself a hotel snob so take my review with a grain of salt. This Holiday Inn was updated and the rooms are nice. The air conditioning is the wall-based unit versus the automatic temp control. The exercise room is pathetic. There were only 5 dumbbells that looked like someone donated them from their house. They don't have a pantry where you can buy water, treats etc. They have vending machines. There is an in house bar and small restaurant. The food was bar food. I also found the parking spaces incredibly small. At least I was driving a rental but my travel partner always had to wait for me to back out before he could get in. The service was good, the staff friendly. I would not recommend this hotel for experienced business travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimgMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix-West, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear JimgMN,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review.
I would like to offer a sincere apology that the hotel did not meet your expectations..
While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that
you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn I-10 West at 51st Ave
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix I-10 West
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Tolleson Hotel
1.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Phoenix I-10 West
12.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Goodyear
Comfort Suites Goodyear
#2 of 9 in Goodyear
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phoenix-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phoenix-West

Property: Holiday Inn Phoenix-West
Address: 1500 N 51st Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85043-1777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Phoenix-West 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Phoenix West is conveniently located at I-10 and 51st Ave just minutes away from Downtown Phoenix and the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport. The hotel is just a quick drive to the Cricket Pavilion and the Westgate City Center, where sport s fans will find the University of Phoenix Stadium, home of the Arizona Cardinals, and the Jobing Arena, home of the Phoenix Coyotes as well as restaurants, bars, and retail shopping. Business travelers visiting Pavestone, Fry s/Kroger, Manhiem s Greater Auto Auction, Vulcan Materials, AutoZone, Burlingame Industries, Consolidated Systems, and Ritchie Brothers will find the Holiday Inn Phoenix West, an excellent location to meet and work, with complimentary wireless high speed Internet in all the guest rooms, a business center, as well as meeting space that can accommodate from 1 to 300 people in meeting space totaling 3800 square feet. The Holiday Inn Phoenix West is also the perfect place for travelers looking to relax and is centrally located to Chase Field home of the Arizona Diamondbacks, US Airways Center home of the Phoenix Suns, Phoenix International Raceway, and Cabela s Foremost Outfitters. Guests will also be pleasantly happy with our covered heated pool and Jacuzzi, exercise room, restaurant, and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Phoenix-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phoenix-West Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing