We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Va
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice for one night”
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We stayed at this hotel because my fiancee could use his Hilton points. The hotel was fine. The room was nice but a little dark in terms of the color scheme. I've never been to Phoenix before, but even thought the location is listed as downtown, I felt like we were no where near downtown. We were surrounded by the hospital. And driving around on a Saturday night, we didn't encounter much of anything that was open at 8:30pm. They had a decent breakfast in the morning and free coffee/tea in the lobby (a Hampton Inn standard). The staff was OK. Nothing really impressive across the board. Overall, I would only recommend this hotel for overnight stay or business travel. Because there isn't much to say good or bad about his hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenSybase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockzy, general manager at Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
thank you for your comments. we are known as the hampton inn phoenix midtown, near the downtown area. we are 2.5 miles north of downtown phoenix, adjacent to st. josephs hospital.

our front desk offers a map of local restauarants upon request. there are several restaurants open on saturdays within a five mile radius of the hotel.

our breakfast is even better now since we added make your own waffles and a variety of hot items as well.

we appreciate your comments and hope to see you again.

cordially,

eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    166
    54
    17
    6
See reviews for
163
104
65
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn Heights
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

I agree with the reviews. Clean, next to Hospital, central location. Had a hearty breakfast of the usual 'junk' food breakfast as most other hotels, but a little better quality. The room was clean, the pool was big enough to soak a person or two. If you need a place to crash after running around all day, I recommend this place. I would return here and not stay at any other 2 star dive.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gar l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockzy, general manager at Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. we always strive to offer a clean product along with friendly service.

we hope to see you again in the near future.

cordially,

eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2008

My son and I stayed here during Super Bowl weekend. Even during this weekend, the hotel was very quiet. A few helicopters landed on roof of the hospital during our stay, but it was not a disruption. Location is a little off the beaten path, but was a good jumping off point. Breakfast was good and the room was a typical Hampton room - clean and spacious. For $143 a night in Phoenix during the Super Bowl, it was a great value.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondandblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

I stayed at the Hampton Inn while visiting my elderly parents.

The hotel is next to St. Joseph's Hospital, and it seems many people stay there because they have friends or relatives in the hospital. However, it's convenient to Park Central Shopping Center, much of the Central Corridor, and other parts of Phoenix.

It's an average Hampton Inn, which is to say basic accommodations -- nothing fancy. This hotel provides a modest hot breakfast every morning but is also convenient to a couple of decent breakfast restaurants if you want more. The Good Egg in Park Central and First Watch on Thomas Rd. are both within walking distance.

The people at the desk were great. Very helpful, pretty knowledgeable, and courteous. The facility also offers free Internet access (from the lobby computer as well as the room), free fax service, a modest fitness center, a guest laundry, an agreement with a local cleaner if you'd rather send you clothes out to be done, and outdoor pool and spa (but hey, this is Phoenix!).

The down sides come if you're a light sleeper. The air conditioner in my room had one speed for the fan: roaring loud. There is also the occasionally the sound of a helicopter landing at the hospital next door. Otherwise, this was a fine, basic establishment at which I'd stay again.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelPro_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, IL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

We stayed at this Hampton Inn one night in March. The location of the hotel is odd. It seems it is right in the parking lot of a major hospital. However it is very close to downtown, I-10, and I-17. We found it was a good jumping off point for most places we wanted to go. Check in was a bit slow, although no one was in line before me. The two clerks were pleasant enough but seemed to be off in their own world and kept fogetting to give me my keys, receipt, etc. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. We had free wireless internet access, a mini-fridge, and a full lineup of cable channels. The bathroom was also clean and in good shape. The only issue with the room was the A/C, which was very loud. It woke my wife up every time it clicked on during the night.

We asked for, and received, a late checkout time. However our keys were deactivated at noon, the regular checkout time. I had to go to the front desk to reactivate them. The continental breakfast offered more than your standard breakfast foods, but I wasn't too impressed with the quality. The free parking so close to downtown was a nice touch.

Overall, this was a decent hotel, although the price we paid seemed too high. Being spring training season, all hotels were overpriced, so I guess that just comes with the season.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A/C noise
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KJUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2007

Staying at this Hampton Inn was not a choice for us because a loved one was in the hospital across the street.

We loved the comfortable beds, pillows, bedding. Wow - very cozy. The breakfast in the morning was tasty and filling. The staff was extremely helpful.

We disliked the absence of a fan in the bathroom. When sharing with several males, it would have been very helpful. Also there isn't an airport shuttle. We also disliked the construction project across the street that started in the wee hours of the morning.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Liked — Comfortable Beds
  • Disliked — Stinky bathroom with no fan
  • Tips/Secrets — bring your own can of lysol or some essential oils
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hopeinidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 26, 2004

A generic Hampton Inn. This mid-town location appears a few years old and while plainly furnished is in general good condition. The big positive is the location. Located across the street from a hospital, it sits on a side road -- so at night, with the exception of an occassional helicopter landing at the hospital, quiet. Personnel at the hotel are quite friendly and eager to help as well.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#2 of 174 in Phoenix
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
829 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area

Property: Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
Address: 160 W Catalina Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85013-4503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#16 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#22 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just north of downtown, the Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area hotel is next door to St. Joseph's Hospital and Barrow Neurological Medical Center. The Phoenix Convention Center is just three miles away and many restaurants and shops are within walking distance. The hotel is easily accessible via the Valley Metro Light Rail system, just steps from the hotel's front door and if you are arriving via car, parking is free. While enjoying your time in Phoenix, take advantage of the amenities available at our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel including spacious guest rooms, plush bedding, ergonomic work desks, 32" HDTV, coffeemaker, and free WiFi. Additional property amenities include free hot breakfast available daily, an outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Phoenix Midtown (Downtown Area) Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing