We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice, Functional Hotel (but no restaurant)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Nice, Functional Hotel (but no restaurant)”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had an overnight stopover at the Hampton Inn, on our epic drive from the Grand Canyon to San Diego. Because were just in and out, we didn't really experience much of the hotel or surrounding area. But the check-in was smooth and painless, the reception staff friendly, and the room was nice and clean. And we were provided with free water several times, which was a welcome treat.

It's a bit of a shame there's no proper restaurant facility, as the breakfast provided was functional but not that special. And there's no bar, so if you fancy a drink, you'll have to brave the outside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockzy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff and hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments and we hope to see you back as our guest in the very near future.

Cordially,

Eric Mackler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    160
    51
    14
    5
See reviews for
147
100
61
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My stay at the Hampton Inn Phoenix Midtown was extremely satisfying, from the minute we checked in and the front desk lady offered us a cookie and a bottle of water, I knew I was in good hands. The rooms were very nice and extremely clean. The comforter and the pillows were freshly laundered, which is a big deal to me. And when I woke up in the morning my hotel folio had been slipped under the door, making my check out effortless. These are some of the little things they did to make my stay extra special. I highly recommend them and will use them myself in the future for business and for personal travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockzy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We want to thank you for your comments regarding the Hampton Inn Phoenix Midtown. We are very excited to read about your positive experiences regarding our hotel and location.

We are happy to hear about your stay with us and will be sure to share them with the team.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to comment about our hotel. We hope we get the chance to serve you again in the near future.

Cordially,

Eric Mackler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here for three nights; great location beside St. Joseph's hospital; no street noise or bars nearby; within walking distance of Starbuck's, Jamba Juice, several small eating establishments; along light rail system; pool was clean and underused by hotel residents so had it to ourselves the entire visit

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank donnaw395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockzy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff and hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments and we hope to see you back as our guest in the very near future.

Cordially,

Eric Mackler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed at a Hampton Inn, Midtown. The man at the front desk was very friendly and helped me find places around the hotel. the room was clean and so was the hotel. The only downside I had was my room was right next to the maintenance room. therefore, I heard the noisiness of the door always being opened and carts moved in and out early in the morning. Otherwise, a very good experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockzy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We want to thank you for your comments regarding the Hampton Inn Phoenix Midtown. We are very excited to read about your positive experiences regarding our hotel and location.

We are happy to hear about your stay with us and will be sure to share them with the team.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to comment about our hotel. We hope we get the chance to serve you again in the near future.

Cordially,

Eric Mackler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Excellent clean hotel with a very good breakfast and walking distance of St. Joseph's Hospital. Books up fast so book early! The pool is small as well as the exercise facility. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 680nathanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockzy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you our guests again in the near future.

Eric Mackler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was traveling on business and this hotel was located very close to where I was working. It was busy and that may account for the lack of customer service and problem solving at the front desk. I travel a lot and based in my interaction at the front desk, it was not a good impression. Our room was in the 3rd of 4 floors. We could hear our neighbor above walking, and there was a lot of it, we could hear doors shutting, toilets flushing, talking in the halls, etc. it was noisy!!! Not typical of a Hampton. I asked to be moved because it was so bad but the hotel was sold out. Based on this experience and the front desk person, I would not return.

Room Tip: The hotel is older and they need to soundproof! I'm not sure there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockzy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Linda B.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We want to apologize for the noise problems you mentioned during your stay.The front desk did contact the guest above you regarding the noise. We try to anticipate any groups that could be noisy and put them together in one location when possible. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Your feedback will give us a chance to improve and we hope you will give our property a second chance if you return to the area. We would really love to have you back so we can show you what our Hamptonality is all about.

Kind Regards,

Eric Mackler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Close to St. Joseph Hospital. Excellent staff and service. A well worn Hampton and it shows. Needs to be refurbished. But the facility was clean and well run. Not the typical Hampton Inn we experience nationwide because of the aforementioned.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockzy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments about our staff and hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments and we hope to see you back as our guest in the very near future.

Cordially,

Eric Mackler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#5 of 175 in Phoenix
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Deer Valley
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix North - Happy Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area

Property: Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
Address: 160 W Catalina Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85013-4503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#16 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#22 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just north of downtown, the Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area hotel is next door to St. Joseph's Hospital and Barrow Neurological Medical Center. The Phoenix Convention Center is just three miles away and many restaurants and shops are within walking distance. The hotel is easily accessible via the Valley Metro Light Rail system, just steps from the hotel's front door and if you are arriving via car, parking is free. While enjoying your time in Phoenix, take advantage of the amenities available at our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel including spacious guest rooms, plush bedding, ergonomic work desks, 32" HDTV, coffeemaker, and free WiFi. Additional property amenities include free hot breakfast available daily, an outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Phoenix Midtown (Downtown Area) Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing