We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport
Ranked #78 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great staff, old hotel”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during for a trip to AZ for spring training. The location is great, very close to the airport and to downtown Scottsdale, though the surrounding area is on the poorer side. The staff was wonderful, always saying hello in the halls and going above and beyond with any request. The hotel itself, however, is old and it's starting to show. The first 2 nights, the air conditioning didn't work and we roasted. As soon as we reported it, they promptly fixed the issue. The pullout couch is horribly uncomfortable and for our last 2 nights, we simply put the very thin mattress on the floor. While it wasn't the best fix, it worked. The free breakfast was great and the "happy hour" was nice as well. Overall, it wasn't a bad stay, just not the most comfortable.

Room Tip: Try the pancakes for breakfast, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johanna g, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    231
    204
    169
    130
See reviews for
300
154
72
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The good was the bartender, nice room and morning breakfast, the bad was no heat or air conditioning, and the ugly was the exterior of the hotel and location. It was way overpriced at $200 a night...sadly Embassy Suites once was always my favorite place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the airconditioning facilty and garbage dumpster. We were awakened at 6:45 a.m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjcoult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johanna g, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Quivira, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, this property is very outdated. Unlike it's name, it's not really that close to the airport, which is why I booked it. I also do not think it is safe for women business travelers. Park in back of the hotel at night and walk to your room with the door opening to the outdoors. When I entererd the room, a maintenance man was working on the thermostat and the room was hot. Also, the lock on my door is missing. On the upside, the staff is genuinely kind and helpful. It's time for Hilton to sell or rename this property. It is not up to Embassy Suites standards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johanna g, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest suite appearance is an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Was generally disappointed and wouldn't stay again. The room HVAC was terrible and the entire facility need significant updating. The staff was kind and tried to do the best with what they had. I'm a Diamond Honors member and this is one of the worst Hilton facilities I've stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johanna g, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our two-room suites. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

After having been at the Embassy Suites in Flagstaff before, this Embassy Suites was a big disappointment. The coffee was great but the mugs were tiny........... the food was a little greasy. The A/C was stuck in the On position on a very cold night. Parts of my friend's room fell off in her hand (tub handrail, sliding glass door, front door lock). The Shuttle service driver dumped two disabled women (me and my friend) two miles from our destination on a completely deserted downtown area. We had to call the hotel to call a cab for us.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johanna g, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry we let the ball drop. We have addressed your room issues with our maintenance team as well as the other issues with our transportation team. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hotel could use a renovation in the rooms, but I enjoyed my stay just fine. If you're a runner, hotel is adjacent to Canal Trail, which is handy for early morning runs. Recommended if you're into mgr's reception & cooked breakfast. Both were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johanna g, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Phoenix area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We arrived tired and waiting for friends. Jorge was extremely courteous, and took care of us and held the restaraunt door for our tired friends! Thank you Squaw Peak Cage for a wonderful experience! We could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieMar101974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johanna g, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your response. I have passed on your feedback to our staff and they greatly appreciate your comments. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Camelback East
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix Biltmore
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Camelback East
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix - Biltmore
Camelback East
Holiday Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport North
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport
Address: 2333 E Thomas Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85016-7827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two and half miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport and only two miles from Downtown Phoenix and the prestigious Biltmore Fashion Park. All of our Phoenix Airport hotel guests can take advantage of our 24-hour complimentary shuttle service to and from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Phoenix Airport At 24th Street Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing